We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Filipino food. Food is cooked and ready to dish. Very clean restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Geewan

Geewan
P. Burgos Street, Naga, Luzon, Philippines
63 54 472 3888
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 35 Restaurants in Naga
Cuisines: Filipino
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Filipino food. Food is cooked and ready to dish. Very clean restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Great Filipino food. Food is cooked and ready to dish. Very clean restaurant. I went with girlfriend and 2 kids. Service was great. We ordered 4 different dishes and shared. Filled all of us up! Ice tea is bottomless, most other drinks are not. Steamed Siopao is amazing.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    12
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good food but average restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

A visit to Geewan everytime I'm in Naga has become a routine thus I did not thought of writing a review - until my last visit.

Yes, the food are great especially that they are known for serving Bicolano dishes. No doubt about that. But what caught my attention during my last visit was that it seemed they are going expensive not by increasing the prices but by reducing the quantity being served. If we actually compare Geewan to other restaurants in the area, they are a bit on top (average cost for 3 people is around P600 - that's 3 cups of expensive rice, 2 viands, some dessert, and 3 glasses of juice).

I ordered beef stew which was a hundred-something and we got a big piece of bone with few meat with it. So we had to focus on the stock and a big chunk of cabbage. I also ordered lechon kawali (fried pork) for another hundred pesos and we were given a small serving of few small slices of pork slabs. It was even weighed. But believe me, I gave up the gastric temptation and have it replaced by a fish instead. For PHP110, that was not totally worth it.

So there, food is still great and tasty. Interiors are good except that the place goes noisy during rush hour. It is only the quantity vs price which bugs me.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
760 reviews 760 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 257 cities Reviews in 257 cities
1,795 helpful votes 1,795 helpful votes
“Great Place to Try Bicolano Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

The restaurant is located in the centre of Naga. It is self-service, but not really fast food.

Filipino food isn't generally rated very highly by foreigners, however for me, the food from the Bicol region (Southern Luzon) is a great exception. The food at Geewan is very tasty and inexpensive. Also, as it is all served from a bainmarie it is to see what looks good and what doesn't.

All in all, Geewan is a great way to add some local flavour to your visit to Naga.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binãn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bicolano Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Servers were accommodating they entertained our questions regarding the serving size and ingredients of the viand we were curious about, at first I thought it was a casual restaurant because it's airconditioned, has nice interior but it's not, it's like a fastfood/cafeteria. We only tried their Bicolano Specialties since it's the main reason why we went there, and we really liked their Dinuguan.Everything else (laing, tilmok etc.) tasted average also served to us cold. =/

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldau
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Good and cheap food. Fast service, nice interior design - everybody was satisfied with everything although the temperature inside was quite cold after sitting there for some time.
I cannot recommend the shakes there, though - very artificial and I didn't like the gelatine-cubes added to it. The fresh water tasted strongly like chlorine and also cannot be recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geewan also viewed

 
Naga, Albay Province
Naga, Albay Province
 

Been to Geewan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geewan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.