We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel, staff not that friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casablanca Hotel

Casablanca Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casablanca Hotel to your Saves list
Casablanca Hotel
Penaranda Street, Legaspi, Luzon 4500, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Legaspi
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Ok hotel, staff not that friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We arrived ere at six in the morning looking for a room. The manager charged us for the night before because we were there early. He was pompous and rude. We had been on a twelve hour bus ride and not in the mood for that. The rooms are small, no lift, and a bit outdated. Still it was clean and a decent location. I would not stay here again because of the manager but everything else was fine. You would think that they would have a deck facing the volcano, but it almost seems like they go out of their way not to show it.
I have more info on Legazpi on my blog.
http://michaelbencik.org/2012/10/15/legazpi/

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
2
5
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Good breakfast. Free shuttle service to and from the airport. Friendly and helpful staff. Free wifi on all floors.

The hotel is old so do not expect a lot of luxury. I got the cheapest room so I did not expect much from it.

No elevator.

If you want a newer hotel, there is the Casablanca Suites.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

This hotel has very good location. Walking distance to downtown proper. Along the main road, so public transportation is very accessible. The breakfast is not buffet type and limited in choices. We took our dinner at their small restaurant and their foods are just so so. Staff are very friendly and courteous. We chose a room with a view of the Mayon volcano. Sadly, there was heavy cloud throughout our stay there of rains. Be sure to go there on a dry season. Rooms are relatively clean and spacious. But along the corridor, it looks creepy. We had the unfortunate time to be there because of heavy rains and flood really goes inside the hotel lobby knee deep. If not for the rains and flood, this place is quite acceptable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

My mom, sister and brother stayed here when we visited Naga City and decided that we visit Legaspi City as well.

When we arrived in this hotel, I found the following elements that are important for a guest to consider:


This hotel is conveniently located near the EMBARCADERO, the mall just beside the pier of Legaspi City. However, it is not possible that you walk the distance; one should still take the tricycle which would cost 30-40 pesos one way.

We were charged of less than 2,000 pesos per night for a room of twin sharing with complimentary breakfast. It seems cheap but actually, this is overpriced.

The rooms are a little smelly and the mattresses are itchy when you lie down. The comfort rooms are clean but outdated. As I estimated the hotel was established around the early 80’s since their tiles are a lot like the fad during this era.

When we used the facilities, we were a lot disappointed as the water pressure is low. Not enough to flush away all that should be flushed. The surroundings of the hotel are noisy that you want to just close the windows. Doors are the outdated wood and are hard to open and close. They have around five (5) floors but there are no elevators. The lights in the hotel are dim that makes the feel of this hotel creepy.

Before we went to bed I sighted a line of ants that did not please me. When we were already sleeping, I heard rats walking inside the room. Unfortunately, my sister did not get enough sleep because of this.

The staffs, especially the housekeeping are courteous and kind.

But I will definitely not come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Good Value for money and your room rate includes pick up and drop off to airport. Everything is fine with this hotel, rooms are big with hot water, AC and very handy for walking to city shopping centres and food places.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

Casablanca Hotel is easy walking distance to the local shopping malls, restaurants, internet, etc. It is in the busy, busy area of the City of Legaspi. The hotel has simple rooms which are standard for Philippines. It has a very good restaurant and sitting area to play cards or just watch people. Staff very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2008

The photos on the hotel website flatter !

This is a basic, cheap, bottom-end hotel, on the main road, in the centre of Legaspi. Road-side rooms should be avoided due to the noise.

You do get what you pay for, so don't expect too much. The
rooms are noisy, old & not that clean. Unless you specifically ask, you don't get room service - so towels & sheets are not changed !

On the positive side, the staff are great & there's a free airport pick-up & drop-off. They do have WiFi, which I found to work
very well (you have to buy pre-paid cards, which are cheap).

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legaspi hotels
0.5 mi away
Casablanca Suites
Casablanca Suites
#2 of 11 in Legaspi
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Piazza Hotel & Convention Center
210.5 mi away
Legazpi Tourist Inn
Legazpi Tourist Inn
#9 of 11 in Legaspi
3.0 of 5 stars 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Venezia
Hotel Venezia
#3 of 11 in Legaspi
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel St. Ellis
Hotel St. Ellis
#5 of 11 in Legaspi
3.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Angelina
Hotel Villa Angelina
#8 of 11 in Legaspi
3.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casablanca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casablanca Hotel

Address: Penaranda Street, Legaspi, Luzon 4500, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Albay Province > Legaspi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Legaspi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Casablanca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casablanca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.