We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so accomodations and amenities” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Alicia Hotel

Alicia Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alicia Hotel to your Saves list
Alicia Hotel
Capt. F. Aquende Dr, Albay, Legaspi, Luzon 4500, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Legaspi
Zamboanga City, Philippines
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“So-so accomodations and amenities”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Took a connecting flight to Legazpi. Stayed for 3 nights with hubby. We checked in after lunch and was taken to our room. Apparently, they let us in but preparations were not done. Had to call housekeeping twice and they called back the third time to ask if I needed towels?!?!?

Called room service for coffee. Fell asleep and woke up with still no coffee...they got the room number wrong and had to wait for me to call again. By this time, they were out of brewed coffee. Breakfast is a choice of american, continental, and filipino. They are out of some of the breakfast choices and you would have to settle for what is available. Only 32 rooms with the 12 across the street. With a small pool with slightly dirty, oily water.

Be careful while taking a shower because the hot water doesn't work well. You have episodes of scorching water. Hahaha. If not for the staff who tries to be accomodating and friendly, I would give this one star. Room is okay. Provides basic toiletries.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
4
5
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Most review here are negative. It baffles me since when I and my friends stayed there, we enjoyed our stayed. Everyday we need to go to La Piazza and on our free time, we get to visit tourist sites like the Lingnon Hill and Cagsawa Ruins. The place is near a road so tricycles and jeepneys pass by. The location of the hotel is near to the airport and free shuttle is available.

Our slept well during our stay. Maybe because we're a group of friends that why things that bothered other couples pass through our senses. We got a room with 2 single bed and 1 matriarch bed. Beddings are clean and so is the room. There's a TV and a small fridge. Hair dryer is also available through request. The CR is clean enough. Hot and cold water is available.

The food is okay.There's an option between hot chocolate and coffee. Both continental and Filipino breakfast is available. However, service is quite slow especially in providing the drinks given that the drinks are not brewed.

An outside pool is available for guests to use. However, it was rainy on our stay there and we didn't get to enjoy the pool much.

My friends previously stayed at Sampaguita Inn and Alicia is several notch better.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Alicia is an OK hotel, but basic accomodation. I stayed in an executive suite. By comparison to other rooms at the hotel, it is better (larger flat screen TV), but, by comparison to other hotels, its not even close. It's just larger. Hotel needs a financial investment. Bathrooms are old and need updating. Water in the shower was a trickle... Even so water is all over the floor as the curtains don't restrain the water. AC was great in my room, but I know others were weak on cooling. Overall the hotel was clean. The breakfasts are but buffet, but, very good PI breakfasts, Americano not so.... The hotel is very close to the airport, and shuttle is free and on time. The staff were excellent in every way. I was part a celebration at the conference center-across the street, It was perfect and the food excellent. Expect a short trike ride or Jeepnee if you want to go downtown. Mayon is spectacular. I had a barking dog living right outside my window... it woke me up in the morning, 5:00 am, and often barked at night as well. Patience! Many family members visited without any issues. All in all I would return, in part because I am familiar with the surroundings there and I like the staff.

Room Tip: #5 had the barking dog. the room next door appears to have a direct view of Mayon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stay here in August 27-28 2011. I booked the hotel accommodation online August 5 but after careful reading and browsing in the internet I found out that the reviews are negative hence when i would like to cancel my reservation, I was advised to try and cancel my reservation online, but I will be charged 100% of the total reservation if I opt to cancel.

Pros:
1. Near the airport
2. WIFI connection
3. Airport pick up vehicle was sooo good

Cons
1. Old Room
2. Expensive Food
3. No water heater
4. Requested for Tour package where I expect all travel costs will be included, but what they gave me is rental of their van for 4,500 8 hours Albay tour excluding entrance, lunch, food etc..

If you are travelling to Legaspi City, canvass first and be careful in case you will book your accommodation in this hotel. If they will trim down their prices then probably it will be okay for the value of our money.. but with their current amenities, this is really not work of our budget..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antipolo City, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I stayed here for business and stayed in the jacuzzi room. The room is fancy with the bed located in a platform and the jacuzzi at the side with glass wall.

I tried to use the jacuzzi but it seems not well maintained ans cleaned because the water smelled foul and I just went on using the shower.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

this used to be a neat and reasonably priced hotel several years back. through the years it has increased its rates without upgrading its services, i.e. linens, plumbing, aircon noise. except for the availability of a wi-fi, nothing has really improved in this hotel.
UPSIDE: safe parking, wi-fi, resto
DOWNSIDE: price, old linen, noisy aircon units, defective plumbing
but if they lower down their room rates by at least 40%, then these downsides can be taken in stride.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

The Alicia seems to be one of those hotels that was once a nice place to stay many years ago, but is now a worn-out version of its former self. The first room we were given had poor lighting, antiquated room fixtures, old bedding, and too much noise from the street. I went to the reception for a refund and they offered a free upgrade to their junior suite to keep us there. The replacement room was nicer with an LCD television and newer, upgraded bedding. Still there were signs of an old establishment ready for a complete make-over and NO hot water in a place that charges over $50US/night! (the junior suite is priced at $60), expensive for a hotel in this city. The breakfast was pretty good, but the staff made an issue out of taking it back to my room where my girl still was :( .

There are several pension-style lodgings nearby that are newer and a lot cheaper, but they were sold out -- so the lesson is to book in advance for Legazpi!

At the very least, Alicia should have MUCH discounted prices to compensate for the current condition and start working on improvements or they could soon be out-of-business. My ratings would be even lower if I had to rate this place based on staying in the first room we were assigned,

--And to top it off, the check-out time is strictly enforced; not sure why as there is plenty of vacancy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alicia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alicia Hotel

Address: Capt. F. Aquende Dr, Albay, Legaspi, Luzon 4500, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Albay Province > Legaspi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Legaspi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alicia Hotel in Bicol Region's Legazpi City, in the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Alicia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alicia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.