We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oriental Legazpi

Save Saved
You added The Oriental Legazpi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Oriental Legazpi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Taysan Hill, Sto. Nino Village, Legaspi, Luzon 4500, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Legaspi
Tabaco City, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Rooms:
* Clean and average size.
* White
* Terrace
* No lock comfort room (which is very oriental in style)
* Comfy BEDS!!!

Amenities:
Infinity pool with a Jacuzzi pool.
Kiddie Pool by the side.

Transportation:
It's quite far from the main transportation. You have to walk down the hill for about 2km to get jeepneys from the main road. But, there are tricycles passing by the hotel but still it will cost you a special fare.

BUT, overall. This Hotel is a must place to stay when in Legaspi if you WANT a GOOD VIEW of the city.

Room Tip: If you want a cheaper room but still a good view of Mayon Volcano. Book for a City view room. :) It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    82
    38
    14
    14
See reviews for
63
38
3
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Luzon, Philippines
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

When it come to view and beauty of the legazpi this is the best place to be with the perfect position with the mayon volcano,but when it comes to service,food and cleanliness im not really pump to it,legazpi food is one of the best foods i ever tasted but this hotel sadly doesnt serve good food,and the rooms are average,i wont absolutly recommend it

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legaspi, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Me And My Sister And Her Boyfriend Stayed At This Two Times Already And Were Only Locals. Anyways, The Hotel Has Friendly Staff The Rooms Were Clean And The Pool Was Awesome! The Only Problem Is, The Food At The Jasmine Restaurant (located at the ground floor of the oriental near the lobby) is not good, not even worth your money so better buy some take out!!
But All In All Great :)

Room Tip: Choose A Room With The Mayon's View. Definitely Worth It!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

My hubby & I stayed here to attend a family reunion in Cagsawa last May 25-27 of this year. It might be quite far from our venue but it was well worth it. My mornings were filled with a hot cup of coffee and the spectacular view of Mt. Mayon and the city. We enjoyed our stay here with friendly and accommodating hotel staff. Food might not be superb but the service was good.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legaspi, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The 3rd Regional HRMPs Convention was held here. I'm happy, I was been part of the event. From the convention hall, I was able to capture a panoramic view of the city including the majestic Mayon Volcano, so relaxing... But on the contrary, I did not appreciate much the spacious lobby, devoid of anything that will catch my attention. I think the painting is boring in some sense, minimalist and not captivating. I hate the restaurant where a rostrum of some kind is welcoming the diners (or rather blocking them).

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marikina, Philippines
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We also had the opportunity to do some shows here. What I really like was the first class treatment of the staff here even if they knew we we're performers and will not be checking in the hotel. There was no bias on the service and it was equal to everyone there. They quickly showed us are place backstage and served things we needed which I really appreciate. What excites me here was the view of the Mayon Volcano and the fact that this hotel is all white which makes it more relaxing and clean. I would want to go back there to experience checking in.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legaspi, Philippines
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Iam a local resident of Legaspi City and have known this hotel from the very start it operated in November of 2011.

I have attended functions and a couple of business meetings in this hotel. But it was only last May 22, 2013 that me and my family were able to check-in at the hotel itself (celebrating mom's 71st birthday!). We reserved three-deluxe rooms (mountain side) and we enjoyed a very good corporate rate (thanks to my sister, Tin who had several functions held at the Orental -- having to avail relative good discounts).

The hotel was fully renovated from the time it was bought from the previous owners and they did a perfect job in transforming the hotel into one of the most admired hotels in the Region.

Friendly, kind and accommodating hotel staff -- ready to help in every possible way.
The rooms are well-appointed with clean , neat and white linens.

But I would say, not all is perfect in every way -- the carpet inside the rooms were not properly cleaned showing signs of stains and dirt. Try walking barefoot on the carpets and check your soles!! Our room (503) -- the shower door has broken hinges and would be dangerous if totally misaligned from the main frame.

Food ??? hmmmmmm -- a bit pricey as compared to the its quality. Breakfast buffet was consists of : cereal station, egg station, bread/butter/jam station, coffe/tea station / fruit and local dessert station , and menu for the day (like: chicken tocino , garlic fried rice, steam rice, ampalaya con carne , salted fish (daing), adobo, scrambled eggs).

The best of it all (in my opinion) is the PERFECT VIEW of the Mayon Volcano from the pool area!! One should not miss going to the 2nd floor -- pool area of the hotel to get a glimpse of the majestic Mayon Volcano. Perfect in every way!!! Plus take a chance to gaze upon the beautiful city of Legaspi in bird's eye view from the pool area too.

In general, I would say, we had a great time for even an overnight stay with my family.

Iam also hoping that you too will have a great time here.
We welcome you to come and enjoy our beautiful city of Legaspi.

Maogmang Pag-abot! (translation: Welcome)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Oriental Legazpi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oriental Legazpi

Address: Taysan Hill, Sto. Nino Village, Legaspi, Luzon 4500, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Albay Province > Legaspi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Legaspi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oriental Legazpi 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental Legazpi is the only luxury hotel in Legazpi City, Albay. Situated on Taysan Hill overlooking the vast cityscape of Legazpi, it boasts of its wonderful view of the majestic Mayon Volcano and the refreshing waters of the Gulf of Albay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Oriental Legazpi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oriental Legazpi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.