We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home and Away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel St. Ellis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel St. Ellis to your Saves list
Hotel St. Ellis
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rizal St., cor Gov Forbes St., Legaspi, Luzon 4500, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Legaspi
Balgowlah, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Home and Away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our room is supposed to have a view of Mount Mayon but since one of our best buddies decided to tag along, they provided us adjoining ones that overlook the street, which was good enough.
The rooms with its cream-and-white design are spacious. More so, we kept the door dividing us open, and that makes them even massive. This set up created an atmosphere of a suite.
The hotel is centrally located that everything is right under your nose. However, if you’re not up to walking, they provide a free shuttle that takes you to and from Embarcadero de Legazpi.
The staffs are at our beck and call. They assisted us on our every whim, like booking tours, arranging spa massages and everything in-between including dinner deliveries.
Breakfast, which is included with the stay, offers an array of culinary delights. Each morning, something is different. On the second and third day, the server already knew what we need and provided us everything without requesting. Impressive!
We also had a go of the Mongolian dinner feast. It’s comparable to each morning’s fare, which is gratifying. And topping it all, the buffet comes with a remarkable band that sang the songs that we requested. Awesome!!
Every day, after doing all what we can in the region, particularly shopping, we got heaps of pleasure coming back to the hotel. It provided this feeling you could only experience when going home.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    45
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
35
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Like most have said, the location is good, right down town near malls. We were just spending the night there waiting for our flight the next morning, so we never left once we checked in. We had dinner there as well as the free buffet breakfast which was pretty good. Not a lot of selections, but adequate. The room was very nice and the king bed was outstanding. Great water pressure in the shower and there was both a rain shower head and a separate hand held. Air conditioner was very effective and not too noisy. Since it's the only hotel we ever stayed at in Lagaspi, I can't say how it compares to others. Compared to similar priced hotels we've stayed in around the Philippines, I felt it was over priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
271 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Centrally located, Hotel St. Ellis is the best base for exploring Legaspi City and its environs. Walking distance to Embarcadero Mall (there's even a free shuttle), and a short tricycle ride to Pacific Mall, and destination restaurants like Sibid-Sibid, Small Talk and Waway's.

Lobby is modern, fresh and airy with strong air-conditioning, an oasis in the sweltering heat. The rooms are comfortable, with generous sizes able to accommodate 4 single beds with room to spare. Service is excellent, the staff are friendly and professional. We had no problems checking in or out. Plus there's a complimentary airport shuttle service.

Don't miss the Pili Nut Cheesecake at their coffee shop.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I very much enjoyed my stay here. The hotel is conveniently located near several malls. The breakfast (included free) was good. I also used the restaurant at times for lunch and dinner. Also they offer free airport shuttle.
I had no problems with the elevator (there's just one) during my 4 night stay.
I stayed in a quiet room, 414, facing a wall, which suited me. I expect that the rooms on the street could be noisy. I did experience the guest in 514 doing some radical furniture rearranging at odd times. There is no carpeting, so you really hear stufff like that. It's a trade off: less dust, but more noise. I thought about moving to the 5th floor, but there are lots of meetings and conventions on the 6th floor.
Some tourists might feel inconvenienced by the extra people in the hotel due to these conferences, but I found that it was an opportunity to meet with professional people from Legaspi and the surrounding region: doctors, nurses, teachers, etc.

Room Tip: I like rooms far from the elevator and quiet. 414 was a good choice for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Me and my wife stayed here for just one night this April 2013. We booked them through their reservations department and through them, we were able to book the most affordable legazpi city tour (halfday only). I booked the Jr. Suite but they gave me the 1-up room which is the Executive suite for less than a $100! The bed is elegant. We had a good night's sleep in it. The bathroom is HUGE but with plain features (no bath tub). Toiletries are ordinary just like a 3 star below hotel. The staff are really accomodating. The downside will be the Crossroads cafe being slow in their service. Their food is excellent, specially the Laing and Bicol Express! Cheesecakes and muffin also as expected. Overall, we had no problems staying here and will be recommending this hotel to our relatives and friends.

Room Tip: Request for a room with larger windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Our first week in the Philippines was spent at mostly 2 star hotels, so we were quite looking forward to our stay at St. Ellis. We were welcomed with drinks when we arrived in the grand lobby, not a bad start. Our room was large, the AC worked (maybe a bit noisy, but no trouble sleeping). The bed was comfortable. The bathroom and shower were very nice and clean. Our room was on the backside of the hotel and we only had 1 very small window which faced a wall a few inches away. The staff was friendly and attentive.
The restuarant is ok. The philinut cheesecake is excellent, but the other food (international and local) was average. Breakfast buffet is basic and they kept running out of food. Service was pretty poor at the restaurant in general. At breakfast it took 20 min to get a slice of bread. At lunch when we were the only ones there it was also quite slow.
The hotel offers a free shuttle to the airport and the Embarcedero.
Overall we enjoyed our stay and would return to St. Ellis if back in Legazpi.

Room Tip: Request a room with a Mayon Volcano view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We just stayed here for overnight.The room are good except for the aircon it did not cooled that much.Service is very good,all friendly and attentive.During our stay the elevator is not functioning for the reason that there is no regular electricity and the elevator is not working if they are using generator.I asked the room boy,he says it's always like that.Too bad for us our room is on the 4th floor..And lastly,there's a shortage of food during breakfast.Though,the server in the dining are attentive maybe the problem is with the kitchen,they don't supply enough food.But still recommendable.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel St. Ellis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Ellis

Address: Rizal St., cor Gov Forbes St., Legaspi, Luzon 4500, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Albay Province > Legaspi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Legaspi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Ellis 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel St. Ellis is superbly situated along Rizal St., it is a short 3 kilometer drive from the airport. It offers rooms completely furnished with a 32-inch LCD television set with satellite cable TV connection, high-speed internet access, NDD/IDD telephone, in-room safe, and an electronic door lock system. Some of its amenities includes Essences Spa, Salon Mye, a fitness centre, and a kiddie activity room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel St. Ellis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel St. Ellis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.