We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mayon Volcano - TOURRIFIC!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mayon Volcano

Mayon Volcano
Albay, Legaspi, Luzon 666, Philippines
6085923853
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Legaspi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manila
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Mayon Volcano - TOURRIFIC!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Legazpi City, the place of majestic Mayon Volcano, welcomed us with good weather last Oct. 20. We were lucky to have booked our tour with Tourific Tours. We were met at the hotel by Luis Loyola, one of their tour guides. He inquired whether the room given us was adequate.
When we told him we wanted to go to the city for dinner, he immediately offered to bring us there, even if the tour we booked was for the next day yet. He gave us a running commentary along the way about where to go, what to eat, etc.
Not contented with that, he brought us to Embarcadero, the newest “IN” place and toured us around the place. Then, he drove to a place where we were given a welcome treat of a clear view of majestic MAYON VOLCANO! Of course, “picture, picture” immediately. They say that some tourists arrive and leave Legazpi without seeing a clear view of Mayon…but we – the lucky ones – got a very good view on our first 2 hours of stay.
The following day was TOUR PROPER. We were brought around the city, which included sites such as the Headless Monument, St. Raphael Church, Shrine of Our Lady of Guadalupe…then on to Daraga Church.
The best part of the tour was our visit of the ruins of Cagsawa where only the bell tower of a church could be seen. The rest of the church was buried in lava many years ago. The tour guide there made some camera tricks with us looking like giants. (see pics) That was fun! He made it so easy!
Then on to Lignon Hill where we were shown the best view of Mayon. Unfortunately, large fluffy clouds hid Mayon from view.
It was time for lunch and we were brought to Sibid-sibid Food Park. We enjoyed the fresh seafoods cooked the Bicolano way.
As the last part of our tour, Luis brought us to the local handicrafts and native foods store. The prices were dirt-cheap, but the quality was above par. Thanks, Luis.
Then back to the hotel and we said THANK YOU to our very capable driver and tour guide.
Do you want to know where to eat the best halo-halo (ice mix creation) in town?
Or the best seafoods restos in the city? ASK LUIS!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank maryval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Very few words can describe the awe of this natural wonder of nature. Still showing the signs of the relatively recent erruption and lava flow ( there are tours on Quad-bikes self-drive to the now set-larva flow). As you look up to the Volacano during the day there is always a different view. Covered partly by cloud, with the sun catching the top, or glistening in the early morning sun or glowing at sunset. Fly to Legaspi, get a aft ( left) side window seat on the flight leaving, as the plane will turn left past Mayon on its departure, with the Volcano above you! A final look at what will have been featured in pretty much all of your Legaspi pictures!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank S_J_Whitworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Mayon: Magnificent & Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

As we landed at Legaspi city, Mayon volcano watches over the town. You can't escape it's dominion. I was speechless and found myself staring for a while. You really should not miss this, if you have the opportunity to go, please do.

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank LimeCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Magnificent Mayon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

This is the most sought after location in Legazpi.
It can be seen from hotel rooms, from the roads, from Lignon Hill... and even thru the windows of the Legazpi Airport.

However, if you really want to have a picture taken with the WHOLE Mayon Volcano, with the peak visible in the picture, you should be up at 6AM-8AM :)

That's the best time to have a picture taken with Mt. Mayon :)
http://jotan23.blogspot.com/2010/11/legazpi-for-day.html

Helpful?
1 Thank jotan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiwi
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

The volcano is breath taking. I own a home near there, we once drove up the mountain to the hotel 1/3 of the way up and had a nice lunch overlooking tobaco with two native kids. If your in this area try to find a guide to the ruins of the spanish mission at Cagsawa and then take a trip to the Hyu-Hyuapan caves. The caves were great and so cool (means blow-blow) can also look into a trip to Misibis beach resort, little pricey for overnight tho.

Helpful?
1 Thank tomrein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mayon Volcano also viewed

Banaue, Ifugao Province
Legaspi, Albay Province
 

Been to Mayon Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing