We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally good, with noise potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pepperland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pepperland Hotel to your Saves list
Pepperland Hotel
Airport Road, Washington Drive, Legaspi, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Legaspi
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Generally good, with noise potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed for several nights in June 2012 in a double room towards the front of the hotel. The cost was around 2000P a night, minus a 15% discount. I think the price is a little on the high side and probably not representative of the facilities. Work paid for my stay and if it was my own money I would have looked for a better value place.

The room was large and clean, but very dark with no overhead lights in the main part of the room. There was hot water, clean towels, complimentary water and a small selection of soft drinks in the mini-bar. Wifi worked well in the room, and there were lots of TV channels to choose from. The decor was a little faded, but not unpleasant. The air-con worked well. There was no room safe. The hotel has a generator which was useful when the power was out for a day.

The complementary breakfast was OK, with a selection of American style or Filipino options, along with fresh fruit and coffee. The dinner menu varied, a dish of panko crumbed prawns was good, but the Bicol Express wasn't very enjoyable with very fatty port, too mild chili and a soupy sauce. I haven't eaten it elsewhere so I don't know if it's the hotel's fault or the dish! Room service was prompt and all the staff were very friendly.

For me the drawback of the hotel is the bar and nightclub downstairs, which was room shaking loud on Thurs - Sat nights. I would suggest asking for a room away from the nightclub if you plan to sleep rather than party. The location away from the city could be a bonus or an inconvenience, depending on what you plan on doing. There are three bar/restaurants next to Pepperland (Brent's, Mr Crab and a quite tasty grill place) so you don't have to go into the city for dinner/drinks.

A 'special ride' in a tricycle to the various malls of Legazpi will cost anything from 30P to 100P, depending on how much the driver thinks you are worth! Best to ask the hotel staff how much the fare will be and see if the driver complains. Remember tricycle drivers earn very little (usually max of 200P a day) so don't begrudge them asking an out-of-towner for a little extra, so long as they are not completely ripping you off.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
3
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

last may 2012 me and my friends stayed there for almost 4 days..rooms are good..we listen to some bands at the bar they called south road..my friends used to hang up in some bars in manila ..we noticed that one of your bands has a lousy female singers..and also the male lead singer sounds like kermit the frog ..they dance good but there voice is not good..particularly the 2 front singers..of the band if i remember it is the ROCK and play or rocknplay whatsoever..but in fairness you have a amazing band that we admire so much ..i forgot the name of the band but the male lead singer was sporting a curly long hair.. they are supervb..approved.. i enjoy staying at legapi city...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011 via mobile

Stayed for 10 days. Close to the main city and airport but it was so noisy. On the lower ground they have the disco club that close until 3am i think and this was on friday and saturday night as i remember.

The staffs are okay tho.

We ate a couple of times in the restauranr and food is fine kindda busy most of the time as they usually held convention or meetings there i believe.

The room is very basic and the towels as well the pillow( i usually check it in all the hotels we usually stay), is very old and disgusting, seems that it has been used for 10 years and they never replace it;( the towel which was white when they got it is already brownish and i do not understand why they still used this for the guest.so bring your own towel if you plan to stay in Pepperland.

However,Legazpi has very few decent hotel so we got left no choice that time that can fit our budget.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lipa City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I travelled to Legazpi City recently and my host booked me at Pepperland Hotel. First thing that struck me was the appropriate name since the Bicol Region is known for its peppery hot foods. It is less than 3 minutes drive from the airport or maybe less than 10 minutes walk. The room assigned to me has a veranda that has a good view of the famous Mayon Volcano, albeit hidden by clouds during my 3-day stay. The room and its amenities are just well what you need after a long day's tour. Room is big enough and had lots of walking space.

It was quiet even if my room was beside the road. The breakfast offered at their restaurant is simple yet satisfying. The staff is also commendable especially when I asked for something that is different from what is in the buffet table, they simply granted my request at no extra cost or question.

There was a souvenir vendor that regularly visits the hotel so guests don't have to worry about last minute shopping for souvenirs, just like me. I found out that the price is also reasonable and even cheaper than the ones near the airport.

For those who are looking for night life, there is a bar in the hotel but there is also another bar across the road. When I visited Legazpi, a new Sea Food Bar of some sort was about to open in three days and it is just beside the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms with a good view of the Mayon Volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I didn’t expect much from a one-night stay at a budget hotel near the Legazpi airport … just a simple, affordable and decent place to spend the night. However, Pepperland failed to clear even this low hurdle.

First the good points:
--- Lots of walking space in the room (a standard single), with a big enough queen-size bed.
--- A good bathroom (a bit dimly lighted, though) with spacious shower stall.
--- Tasty “laing” (my favorite Bicolano dish) at the Picante coffee shop, perfect with ice-cold beer.
--- Strives for a homelike family feeling, with traditional wooden staircase (no elevators, this is a hotel with only two floors).
--- Good selection of TV cable channels, putting some five-star hotels to shame.
--- Clotheshangers are fully detachable … that’s much appreciated.

But here come the bad points:
--- Room was not well cleaned. There was dust on the cloth headboard, grime in the aircon outlet, and ... lo and behold … I found the remains of a dead and slightly mangled cockroach (a big one) on the floor. My theory is that the roach has long been dead and hidden under the standing lamp. When I moved the lamp from the corner to the middle of the room, I dislodged and exposed the ex-insect. (That’s a twist … my previous encounters with roaches in hotel rooms in Siem Reap and Sydney involved live ones.) I had to bear the lingering smell of insecticide and Lysol all night long after the housekeeping staff did a belated clean-up. And I never received an apology.
--- Maintenance was very much sub-par. Two cabinet doors and one closet door had missing handles …. there were golden-brown spots on the rim of the bathroom sink …. the mirrored wall in the second floor corridor had unsightly stains and spots …. one bed lamp was unplugged ….the concrete walls showed signs of recent repair (wide strips of unpainted concrete) …. scratches, scuff marks and signs of wear and tear are everywhere …. the room telephone was plagued by static.
--- Directly outside my room window were big electric transformers and wires (not sure if I describe them correctly) that look a little threatening, but you get used to that after a while. However, road noise was tolerable even though my room was overlooking the Legazpi airport road.
--- The room is dark at night. The two bedside lamps and the standing lamp give insufficient illumination.
--- I actually saw a man (who seemed to be in his fifties) escorting a young “lady of the night” to his room, in full view of the front desk staff. OK, so much for the “family feeling”.
--- No in-room safe for laptops and valuables.
--- No writing desk or dresser table. Had to use a small round wooden table instead.
--- Doors are locked using old-fashioned keys, which have the room number displayed prominently on the attached plastic tag. So much for security! Beware … closing the door does not automatically lock it, you still have to turn the key to engage the lock.

You can walk to the airport (maybe five to seven minutes walk), so that’s good. But otherwise, this hotel does not do justice to the wonders of the lovely Bicol region.

Room Tip: Ask staff for help on how to lock the doors properly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antipolo City, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

This hotel is just a walk from Legaspi airport. I rate this as 3 star because it really dos not have amenities. No pool, no other recreation aside from the bar at night.

The room is basic and carpeted though the hotel smells old already.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M/V The World
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

the people who work in the hotel are realy nice from the front desk to the waiters and doorman,they make the difference.
i had a standard room i guess for 7 nights in dec/jan.
the room was exteme basic, it looks a bit old, but they chatge new prices! there is much more value in legaspi for almost 3000P per night!!
especialy the headboard of the bed is lose from the bed, sitting up watching tv is impossible.
one day nobody cleaned the room when we came back after the whole day out, I called down and they did it right away.
internet did almost never work in the room, it did downstairs in the lobby and restaurant.
in 7 nights we only had 1x buffet for breakfast, I guess it was not that busy in the hotel, all other days the a la carte breakfast was good!.
one thing not one hotel in the philippines does as far as I have seen and that is that nobody refils the minibar ever!!
a hotel could make good extra income by refilling the minibar on a daily basis, if it is in there, I surley will use it, but if they dont refil.. well I`m not gonna bring them the money on a silver tray if you know what I mean.
tomorrow Im going to legaspi again and I will stay at la rocca veranda suites for 2400P a night, much more value and quality.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pepperland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepperland Hotel

Address: Airport Road, Washington Drive, Legaspi, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Albay Province > Legaspi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Legaspi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 345
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Pepperland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepperland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.