We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and simple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Angelina

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Angelina to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Angelina
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Angelina
32 Diego Silang, Legaspi, Luzon 4500, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Legaspi
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cute and simple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The last time that I was in legaspi city this year June 2012 I stayed in Villa Angelina Hotel I experieced quite relaxing .Hotel Staff are friendly,easy to approach and mostly fast service food are averagely delicous such as breakfast and dinner .It is only a mile from the local airport, and few blocks from the Church and transportation service will pick you up and drop you off in your destination with arrangement.I am not expecting like 4 or 5 star hotel but this small cute decent place hotel feel me Safe and homie .with free Wi-fi cool aircon.too.you can also request for massage theraphy anytime you like.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
6
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sasebo, Japan
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I'd like to preface this review by stating that at first glance the hotel pics complete with pool, garden etc had me really pleased so I promptly booked a room there through The Agoda website. Soon thereafter I had my very first uh oh moment.....

About one hour after my receipt of my confirmatory booking/receipt I got another email from Agoda Customer service informing me of a......er problem. Aparently despite completing the booking process (and my cash) the hotel I saw on the website did NOT exist! The hotel was sold but the owner offered accomodations at another sister hotel which was also owned by him. I then negotiated free hotel transfers and the use of the purchased accomodations at yet another property.

The other hotel quite naturally lacked the pool, accesible garden, resto etc. and in fact was a bit of a disapointment in that it was basically a run down shell of a formerly quite beautiful mansion styled edifice.and my room a third story walk up. The air con was loud, the furniture well used/dated and the restroom rather antiquated. To give you an idea of the experience there was no toiletries not even soap. Great thing I always travel with an abundant amount.

In the immediate areas it was can I say a bit dull? Only restos in the area was a Jollibee and an Inasal. Nothing to see and even less to do in that area. Would I do it again? Probably not. Pay attention to the reviews folks. Many you CAN believe!

Room Tip: Stay in a bigger city, Albay is NOT a happening place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011 via mobile

Pro: decent place, walking distance to most places. They'll pick you up and bring you to the airport if you arrange it beforehand. Free wi-fi although it doesn't reach the bedrooms.

Cons: hotel is really about 15 minutes feom Legaspi. Reception desk (male) can be rude and abrupt; water in bathroom has an unpleasant smell and taste. Had to get bottled water for brushing my teeth as I was very nauseated.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

HOTEL: cute small hotel with nice decor and a small resto/bar downstairs
ROOM: big since we got the family room but it looked like it used to be a conference room turned into a bedroom. huge room with big hard beds; it was damp and seems like it's rarely occupied;
BATHROOM: The water stank BIGTIME! We wanted to wait till we check-out in the morning to take a bath. We used bottled water to brush our teeth and wash!
STAFF: helpful and professional but fake

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaAngelina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Villa Angelina, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Please be informed that this has been corrected. Water system had been improved and new source of water and water filter had been installed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

The Villa Angelina gets very noisy early in the morning as the guest eating area is right outside the room doors, so if you're not on their schedule, plan on being forced to it :( (that's at about 7 a.m.). And even before that, the local roosters will make sure you're up at first sunlight (before 6 a.m.).

The room needed a lot of work. So many things needed improvement, I made a list (first time I've ever done that), and this hotel is relatively not-so-cheap.

For starters, there are stationary bars on the window and if there was a fire blocking your door, you can count on getting toasted to death!!!

The shower was converted from central hot water to a wall-mounted "instant" heater. The new fixtures are mounted to the side of the shower area instead of replacing the original ones which still ran cold water (confusing and odd looking).

~The Air-con was unadjustable and insufficient cooling
~The floor in the bathroom was filthy -- left your foot soles black
~The paint was peeling from the walls throughout the room
~The house phone didn't work
~Several light bulbs were burned out
~The sheets had permanent stains and were patched!
~The room doors are very squeaky - loud!
~The television remote was a universal-type replacement that didn't operate most of the functions

The pool was in unusable condition.

Credit cards are not accepted for paying room charges.

Remember, this place is kinda pricey for the city that it's in.

The one shining aspect was the reception allowed us to check out after the first night (scheduled for 4 nights) without a penalty.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaAngelina, Manager at Hotel Villa Angelina, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Rooms at the second floor had been refurbished with sound proof walls. Breakfast room is now located at the ground/ first floor level. Local roosters for cockfighting are gone because of the local government regulation not allowing the local residents to take of care of roosters for cockfighting at the residential area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumaguete
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

I must take exception to the first review posted above. The property is by no means a disaster, nor is it poorly managed. We booked at the last minute as a result of the unexpected cancellation of our confirmed reservation at another hotel. This hotel salvaged what was becoming a poor experience even before our arrival in Legazpi.

It is a clean, friendly, mercifully QUIET, well located, older, middle rank sort of property. There were some shortcomings but none was severe. The staff tried to please and succeeded when anything was brought to its attention.

The current rate for our double bedded room was PP 1800/night. This was no bargain but competitive with similar properties in Legazpi.

Breakfast has limited choices. Whatever one asks for, within reason, will be prepared. We had some of our own foodstuffs which were cheerfully cooked and served. There IS indeed brewed coffee!

My wife was overjoyed to awaken to a striking view of the Mayon volcano each day. It filled our window.

As there is no elevator, patrons must be capable of navigating stairs to the rooms, which are all located on the third and fourth floors.

The swimming pool seemed well suited to the two frogs which we found sharing it - not suitable, unfortunately, for humans.

The Wi-Fi was of very low strength but matched our SmartBro signal - which also was not much.

The air conditioning was controlled by selecting the switch either ON or OFF. That seemed to work well for us. The electric water heater in the shower also required some getting used to but it worked.

We used the airport shuttle on both arrival and departure. It was prompt and convenient.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

This hotel is a complete dissaster,we stayed in the presidential suite(only the name looks great)
We ask ourselfs always how the other rooms look?
The room was average clean,dark,no hot water,sometimes no water,no bathroom amenities,restaurant en breakfastroom had no aircon,the breakfast is only filipino food,no breakfast for foreigners.
We are the only geusts in the hotel.
We do not enjoyed our stay in this hotel,it was a bad experiense.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaAngelina, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Villa Angelina, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
This happened because of change of management. They were in the process of turning over the hotel business to a new management. Management of the hotel had greatly improved. Hot water is always available and continuous supply of water with strong water pressure. Air-conditioned breakfast room is now on the ground/first floor. We only cater to Filipino breakfast and American or continental breakfast is only offered upon request. For your information, June is off peak season here in Legaspi because of school opening and it’s but normal not to have many guests. Peak season here is from April – May and then again from mid-October to end of December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Angelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Angelina

Address: 32 Diego Silang, Legaspi, Luzon 4500, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Albay Province > Legaspi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Legaspi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Angelina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Angelina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.