We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Country Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Country Suites to your Saves list
Discovery Country Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Calamba Road | San Jose, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Tagaytay
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

It was a perfect place to hold an intimate small wedding. From the time we checked in till the day we left, the staff were consistently efficient and helpful. Kudos to Jonas,the resident manager and his staff for a job well done. Great food too. We look forward to seeing you soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Country Suites, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Cx_29,

Thank you very much for your post. It was great to have you as guests. We eagerly await your return.

Best regards,

Jonas Virrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    45
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
40
44
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antipolo City, Philippines
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Discovery Country Suites in Tagaytay is part of the Small Luxury Hotels Group (SLH), the same as the Misibis Bay Resort we've stayed at a couple of months back. The room was nice, clean and fresh scent of the mountains due to Tagaytay's location. Service was also good but not comparable to other boutiques and equally-starred hotels and accommodation. There's not a lot of selections for meals and because of a handful of rooms available, don't expect round-the-clock on top service and meals availability. To try it once is ok, but like Misibis Bay, I think that's enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Country Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Ray_0178,

Your comments about our Bed & Breakfast are very much appeciated.

We hope that you will come back as we always try to offer something new to each and every visit. Another reason to return is our restaurant Verbena, which has been shortlisted once again for inclusion in the finest Asian restaurant listing of the Miele Guide.

Warm regards,

Jonahs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila,phils
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

There are only 7 themed rooms in this lovely boutique hotel. Upon our arrival they offered welcome drinks.We stayed in Andalucia suite. Clean rooms, with safety deposit box, Lcd TV, ref., basket of fruits in our room upon check in. Attentive and courteous hotel staff.
We had wine and cheese cocktail at Verbena restaurant, what a treat for all guests. They even give warm milk and cookies for kids before bedtime. It was a wonderful & enjoyable weekend spent with my family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Country Suites, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear honeybunch,

Thank you for letting us know about your experience with us. We hope that you will return and try our award-winning restaurant, Verbena.

Warm regards,

Jonahs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Themed Rooms, efficient hotel staff and amazing restaurant (verbena) is what makes for an unforgettable vacation. The cozy, log cabbin type atmosphere of the lobby makes one want to stay a tad bit longer. A perfect place to read your book, browse through your iPad or read a paper with a cup of coffee or a glass of wine. Oh yeah, they also offer a wine and cheese buffet in the afternoon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Country Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear gardener_phil,

Thank you very much for your review. It was certainly a pleasure to be of service to you.

We look forward to seeing you again at Discovery Country Suites.

Sincerely,

Jonahs Virrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed with my family in the biggest suite "The Oxford". My kids loved the huge room and my husband was delighted to see the big bathroom. The staff were nice and we loved the free cocktails. Dinner at Verbena was great. The kids had fun roasting marshmallows in the fireplace and the enjoyed the warm milk and cookies before going to bed. Overall, it was a great place to relax and stay indoors.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Country Suites, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear petunia415,

Thank you very much for taking the time and posting your comments about Discovery Country Suites. Thank you for staying and we hope that you tell your friends about our Bed & Breakfast.
We hope to see more of you and your delightful family in the future.

Best regards.

Yours sincerely,

Jonahs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The hotel has only a few rooms so it is great for those who want to relax and have quiet time. The place is classy and elegant. Nice view of the Taal lake and volcano. Good food too!

Room Tip: I think the basement rooms offer more privacy. It is far from the dining room and the public areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Discovery Country Suites, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Hi BabyRManila,

Thank you for your post.! We look forward to your return at Discovery Country Suites. We'll have our rooms in the garden level available for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed for one night for wedding anniversary. Stayed in Oxford Suite which is a great spacious room, with huge bathroom and fantastic huge balcony overlooking the lake - great for the welcome wine and cheese. The staff are great and the whole place has a nice ambience . Only complaints is bed wasnt so comfortable(especially pillows!) and its a bit overpriced which would put us off staying there again.

Room Tip: Can highly recommend the Oxford Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Leisure_Co, Manager at Discovery Country Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear alena&steve:

Thank you for your post.

We are glad that you have taken the time to tell us about your experience.

We will review our selection of pillows, and study offering a wider selection of options as special request.

We hope that you will return to our Bed & Breakfast soon. Our weekday rates in particular offer incredible value, compared to weekends and holidays.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Country Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Country Suites

Address: 300 Calamba Road | San Jose, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Discovery Country Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discovery Country Suites offers a relaxing respite from city life. The experience begins with a scenic drive along a wide open space, lush greenery, vast flower fields and pineapple plantations. Your journey ends with a panoramic vista of a majestic lake and a volcano. Luxurious suites, delectable country cuisine from the Miele Guide rated Restaurant Verbena, exquisite wines and cheese at sundown and warm fireside chats make your Tagaytay experience simply unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Discovery Country Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Country Hotel Tagaytay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Country Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.