We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skip the brands, go to the real ones” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mahogany Market Eateries

Mahogany Market Eateries
Mahogany Market | Mahogany Ave., Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 80 Restaurants in Tagaytay
Cuisines: Filipino
Restaurant details
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Skip the brands, go to the real ones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I was kind of hesitant to go here because Ive never heard of it before but if youd ask local people from Tagaytay they would all agree that the best beef shank soup is not offered in those famous branded restos in Tagaytay but it's actually near the market where all restos get their share of shanks - mahogany market eateries.

It's cheap, they serve quick, and the beef shank soup requires no corn or potato or other ornaments to make the taste fancy. Just the shank plus one green veggie and thats it! Beef shank from heaven.

Im sure all those eateries offer almost the same beef shank soup but go to Alegre's and look for Leni. This lady knows what shes doin!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    7
    8
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Stopover Before Going to Batangas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

It's a market. So don't expect to see a nice place with great ambiance and exquisite food.

I like it here though. It's a simple place yet, it contributes to making you really feel that you're on vacation. This is the only market in Tagaytay so vacation goers usually frequent this place. Plus, it's along the way going to Batangas so it's convenient to buy your meat here before heading for your destination. That's what my family does because we usually spend our vacation in Batangas. So despite the place being smelly and crowded, I still like it. You know you're on vacation if you're here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bulalo and Tawilis at Mahogany Market”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Its our first time at Mahogany Market Eatery and it did not quite meet our expectation. When ordering Bulalo DO NOT ask for the sliced ones - while the price appears reasonable, what they'll give you are mostly beef ligaments or "litid" in tagalog. The bulalo soup could be better... it only tasted good because of the patis (fish sauce) and calamansi which we had to prepare on our own... The fried Tawilis (a kind of fish) was good. In terms of atmosphere ... what else do you expect if its within the "market". Overall though the experience was satisfactory.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cheap Bulalo, crowded place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We decided to try eating bulalo here because our friends recommended it. The bulalo displayed in their food table is not really what we got when we ordered. The one that we got is already sliced into pieces the the big bone was placed in the soup. Price is 350 pesos per order. Cheaper than the other restos but I still would prefer to eat somewhere else. They offer free bananas(señorita) and kapeng barako thoug. The place is always crowded. Just beware of the beggars roaming around because they will wait for you to finish and would get your left over food after. The place is not really ideal if you're the type of person who is meticulous and doesn't want to be in a crowded place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calamba, Philippines
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Bulalo at Mahogany Market Eateries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Before going to TICC for the SFC Regional conference, we wne to Mahonay Market Eateries, settled with Betchay and Vic Canteen and tried three dishes: Piping hot Bulalo, Gotong Batangas and sizzling Sisig. Our order came with free sliced sweet pineapple, eat-all-you-can ripe bananas and kapeng barako. The Bulalo and Goto’s meat are tender it seems to melt in the mouth that I ate more portion meat than my usual. It was made more sulit with the refillable broth. Pi and Bernard seem to be experts in getting the marrows. Kasarap kumain. Are we still to be blamed for those extra rice?

It was a simple meal made more enjoyable by the very accommodating and all-smiles. Thank you to Betchay and Vic Canteen for a gratifying dining experience. Its a five rating for the food, value and service. :) A highly recommended eatery. Remember to dine here when you visit Tagaytay.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahogany Market Eateries also viewed

Tagaytay, Cavite Province
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
 
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
 

Been to Mahogany Market Eateries? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahogany Market Eateries, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.