We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“safe haven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taal Vista Hotel

Save Saved
You added Taal Vista Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Taal Vista Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aguinaldo Highway, Km 60, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Tagaytay
Manila, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“safe haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The wind howled like super typhoon Milenyo outside but we felt well-buffered and safe inside our room on the top floor, so secure that we were able to finish reports then sleep soundly - assured of staying dry and warm. Away from lakeside, our room afforded a view of the highlands darkened green from the weekend's downpours, now and then veiled by fog. It was on the farthest end from the main lobby - good for our at-least-5000-steps daily regime. We took the diametrical path across the gardens or the long loop indoors depending on the weather.
Everything functioned well in the room except the TV. Front desk and housekeepers were courteous and promptly helpful. Breakfast and lunch offerings were tasty and abundant.

Room Tip: Check room location from hotel lay-out before booking - the place is sprawling. Make your choice mat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    178
    88
    28
    16
See reviews for
153
110
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We took the premiere lake wing view room. This room is with balcony and the view is the taal volcano. Room is big, clean and comfy.
*just had a problem with the bathroom. The sink of the bathtub is broken.

TIP: If you want to stay near the pool, get the mountain view room instead.

Service is perfect. Fast and very friendly staff.

Breakfast is good as well.

When we checked in, they have prepared flower petals and a cake with a message "happy wedding anniversary". It's so sweet. :)

The hotel is near mcdo, sky ranch and robinsons. We tried walking going to robinsons. It's a 15 minute walk. But you can ride a jeepney that costs 8 pesos.

Overall, had so much fun and enjoyed our 2 night stay at taal vista tagaytay :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baguio city
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

It was last week of August that my husband asked me if we can go out of town.. I've always wanted to go to Tagaytay but the trip really makes me exhausted.. Unexpectedly, mu hubby brought me there..Though trip was long but the journey was so worth it.. Upon arrival, a classic and comfortable ambiance met us there..
The new wing which we stayed in was fitted with modern amenities and had a balcony with a breath-taking view of Taal volcano and the lake.A very magnificent view indeed! The main restaurant is superb! There is even entertainment like local traditional dances- which you rarely see anymore. The view, the hotel and the staff gave us a grand taste of heaven! We will surely see you the soonest!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The location of the hotel and the views from SOME of the Premier Lakeview hotel rooms are breathtaking. The downside is you definitely pay for it! For a King-size Premier Lakeview room, it cost $175/night. This is pretty expensive considering the rooms are very basic and overall the hotel seems a bit dated and leaves a vacant feeling (not cozy or high-end at all) I would consider this a 3+ or 4 star, definitely not a 5 star.

My mother stayed in a Mountain room which has a view of the oudoor concrete courtyard. She still paid too much for this basic room at $141/night.

The other big issue I have is the best Premier Rooms are located on the 4th floor of the new Lakewing, which unfortunately happens to be a Smoking Floor. The highest non-smoking rooms are located on the 3rd floor but the King size rooms have blocked views due to the landscaping and trees situated directly in front of the balconies. This completely blocks your view of the Taal volcano. Why would anyone pay a premium rate with a balcony view to look at trees?

I expressed my dissatisfaction of my 3rd floor room to the hotel staff. Unfortunately, there wasn't anything they could do unless I opted for a smoking floor room. Because it was mid-day, the hotel was pretty empty, so we took the risk and moved to a 4th floor room, hoping no one would stay adjacent to us. The front desk staff were efficient and professional. The bellhops were great. The hotel is huge and the Lakewing is a good distance away from the lobby.

We just came to relax and enjoy some R&R. Unfortunately, we didn't get much peace and quiet because the landscaper was trimming the grass with an electric handheld mower/trimmer. It would have been acceptable for a short time, but he cut the grass for over 2+ hours, right outside the Lakewing Rooms, directly below our balcony. The fumes from the gas powered trimmer actually started to get to me and made me feel nauseous.

Wi-fi has a really bad connection. It always cuts out and you have to re-log into the hotel account/password.

Best part of our stay was the buffet breakfast. The variety of food was great and the service was impeccable.

Next time, I would just drive up in the morning to Tagaytay and visit Taal Vista Resort. I would enjoy their buffet and then take a stroll outside to to take in the stunning view of Taal. Then you don't have to worry about booking a room at an expensive price. Same stunning view for a fraction of the cost!

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my friends/family. The value just isn't there. I'd recommend the restaurant and resort location for a day trip instead.

Room Tip: If you can afford the higher priced "Premier Lake View" Room, go ahead book it instead of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here twice. The rooms I stayed in was fairly basic and the wifi in the rooms was very slow, but its free... In the dining area and lobby café it is however quite good.

The lobby café is quite nice with grand piano player and later a singer most nights. Well stocked bar, but it closes around 10.

The view is the main thing though, which is really sumptuous. Beautiful, huge volcanic lake with central island with several cones and its own mini lake.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here last June for some quiet weekend that is just an hour drive from manila. We visited Tagaytay many times already but I can say that this is the best so far in terms of location and has the best view of Taal volcano. Room is spacious and clean enough, including the bathroom. Our room is very near the pool area, although small, which can be a bit crowded especially during weekends. We enjoyed the wide choice of food for our buffet breakfast. We promised to stay here everytime we visit Tagaytay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We went here for our strategic planning sessions for my current company. Our stay was just for one night and we were allowed to share the room with our loved ones as approved by our good management team. It was a FOGGY morning and we drove through all THE MIST. Room was clean and the complimentary fruits was OK. The only bad thing was the toilet bowl was not flushed! Anyway, I'm not much affected by it. Breakfast was good but could be better given it has a 5 star rating. Had a problem with their Kani salad during lunch time, my stomach did not liked it much. Restaurant prices for ala carte were too high and it's not much of a 5 star quality either. Overall, did enjoyed the conference rooms and hotel accomodations. If they have a promo, I will try it out again with my wife and kid.

Room Tip: Choose a room with view of the Taal Volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taal Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taal Vista Hotel

Address: Aguinaldo Highway, Km 60, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taal Vista Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views, crisp cool mountain air, lush flora and quaint nooks all come together at the new Taal Vista Hotel, Tagaytay City - the country's favorite destination. Taal Vista Hotel, is perched on a 700 meter high ridge that has the best view of the majestic Taal Volcano and its surrounding Taal Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Taal Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taal Vista Hotel Tagaytay
Hotel Taal Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taal Vista Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.