We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely first class i will return no problems at all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taal Vista Hotel

Save Saved
You added Taal Vista Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taal Vista Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aguinaldo Highway, Km 60, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Tagaytay
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“absolutely first class i will return no problems at all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

what can i say very beautiful hotel the views of taal volcano is breath taking,,,food very very good,,,rooms really nice ,bathrooms very large,,,had my first massage here,,yes depends where your room is it can be long walks to go to the pool this just shows how big the place is ,,,i have a heart condition and was not feeling very well on two of the nights we where here,,just to let everyone know,,,this hotel have their own nurses,,on duty free of charge ,,the nurse came to our room at 2 am to check me over and then came back again the next morning ,,,,i salute you for thinking of peoples health while they stay at your hotel,,thank you very much john and karen moore northern ireland

Room Tip: ifr a room with a balconey at the rear of the hotel your views will take your breath away
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    102
    172
    87
    28
    15
See reviews for
147
105
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I've been to Taal many times and stayed in different places each time. Mother was visiting for the first time in PHL so splurged and booked a room here. The grounds are simply great. they have done a wonderful job maintaining and keeping them just perfect. The rooms are just okay and for the price you pay, there are a lot of other places to choose from.

Room Tip: as always, get a room the looks over the lake, no reason to go to Taal unless you have this view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

BBBIIIGGG hotel stretched along lengthwise overlooking the breathtaking Taal crater. Depending on where you're located, walks can be long to get to the pool, for example. But this is minor in a modern, comfortable hotel with a great location. Close by Sky Park if you've an urge to ride a big ferris wheel with another stunning view.

Room Tip: Pick location by activity, closer to pool if that's important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

One word to describe Taal Vista is 'Grand'. Like most SM hotels, it has that kind of appeal. Taal Vista has been around for many years and is quite a memorable place. My parents celebrated their after-wedding party there 48 years ago. The most talked about renovation of the place was remarkable. Rooms that extended to all corners means its going to be a long walk back to the restaurant and main lobby. Tagaytay for me is a place of serenity and I used to avoid big hotels in the area. But for this place, I'd make an exception. We booked the Premiere Lake Room that has a veranda and a great view of Taal Volcano/Lake. During out stay, the lights in the foyer were busted and the veranda door was misaligned. The staff worked on it non-stop and were very apologetic about the inconvenience. But who cares, the room was huge. It had an unusually wide bathroom as well. However underneath the rubber mat on the tub were minor cracks covered with white cement. For that kind of bathroom I would expect a nice shower glass-enclosed area instead of a tub with a small shower curtain.

Wifi connection is available in the rooms, restaurants and lobby area. The lobby cafe is a great place to hang out.

It's a nice place to stay with your kids. The vast garden is a haven for kids to run around without worrying about having to break anything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Hi,

Tagaytay is renound for being expensive - but to be honest the price I paid for my stay here was worth it. The quality of the room was comfortable, modern facilities, internet that worked a few that was great and checkout that service that was good.

Only bad parts I can think of:
- I stayed in a superior room, which fronted onto the highway - there was alot of noise.

- The housekeeping service left an amount to be desired. I dropped a room service plate it took them over an hour and three phone calls for them to come through an assist in the cleanup.

Room Tip: - Dont get a room facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed there one night, was very impressed. Great room,staff, facilities, restaurant, view, all top notch.

One reason I stayed there was that I wanted to have a pleasant tour of the volcano nearby.

I realize that the hotel does not directly employ the tour operators, but for the price I paid through them for the tour, I expect them to exert control of it- I paid more than 7000 PHP for the 3 of us for a 2 or 3 hour tour.

My past experience that I wanted to avoid: I had visited the volcano before and had been beset by people hawking fees and services, having to negotiate, not knowing what was a legitimate charge or not. You negotiate a vehicle to the landing. A boat to get there. A landing fee and a park fee from an un-uniformed person. A horse to the top. People tell you that you NEED a face mask and gloves and a hat and rent them to you.

I paid hotel staff for a tour that "Included everything" They delineated all the BS fees included.

And it mostly worked, honestly. Except for the damn facemask/gloves/hat lady. Who told us we NEEDED those things. I angrily told her no, and she went to my wife and child behind my back and still got a sale. And we did not need those things, and in fact I would say that the ride would have been worse with them.

The hotel needs to control these tours so that they are as good as the hotel itself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a very nice looking hotel as you walk into the main lobby and bar area. Excellent views across lake taal. Rooms are decent but walls are very thin!! We could hear the people in the room next door talking very clearly. The pool area is nice. Overall a reasonable hotel with clean rooms and niceviews. I would say it is over priced and they didnt even include breakfast in the room rate

Room Tip: Upgrade to a lake view, very impressive
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Taal Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taal Vista Hotel

Address: Aguinaldo Highway, Km 60, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 hotels in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taal Vista Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views, crisp cool mountain air, lush flora and quaint nooks all come together at the new Taal Vista Hotel, Tagaytay City - the country's favorite destination. Taal Vista Hotel, is perched on a 700 meter high ridge that has the best view of the majestic Taal Volcano and its surrounding Taal Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Taal Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taal Vista Hotel Tagaytay
Hotel Taal Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taal Vista Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.