We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice big rooms, the volcano view is amazing, the breakfast needs serious improvement.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taal Vista Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Taal Vista Hotel to your Saves list
Taal Vista Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aguinaldo Highway, Km 60, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Tagaytay
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice big rooms, the volcano view is amazing, the breakfast needs serious improvement.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights for a friends wedding. Here is what we like about the hotel
-The lobby bar is very nice with volcano view
-the deluxe room we stayed at the new wing is big, bathroom is also decent size, with only average quality of amenities though.
- the restaurant at the ground floor has outdoor seating facing the lake/volcano, the view is just amazing
-very friendly Staff and provides very helpful suggestions-with directions etc. Also I forgot something in the room after check out and was able to locate it very quickly n have the front desk staff helping me give it to other wedding guests that still stayed at hotel to keep it for me.

Okay here is what we think they can do better
- the breakfast.the quality of the breakfast is not matching the hotels standard, it has all the standard items like congee, pastry, hot main etc but the taste is just not good, the two days we stayed there it was packed every morning with mostly local guests, obviously it's popular, they really should do a better job.

- the shower head needs an update, it's one of those fixed on the wall you can't even touch it, I hate those kind....it's just very inconvenient, plus the one in our bathroom, water came out in so many different angles, it's impossible to shower with out getting the hair wet.

-the curtains in the room can't close properly, so it's hard to sleep in. At least for where our room locates, 443- btw it also facing the road, no view at all.

- the location of the hotel is abit off, there is another casino cross the street of it, a McDonald, and a horse ridding course, then there is almost nothing else to walk around with. However, there is a David's salon with walking distance-oddly, so it's perfect for wedding guest to get hair done. 475 for hair do and 153 for wash n blow dry, very reasonable price but u might want to confirm the style n price first, just in case of any confusion. Here is the details

Address : 5950 Gen. E. Aguinaldo Hi-way, Kaybagal, South Tagaytay City, Cavite
Tel. No. : 046-413 0763
Fax No. : 046-860 2822

The 7-11 and a save-more local supermarket is 10 minutes drive away in the busy area, u can get there with the kcal bus by paying 5 pesos each person, or a tricycle bike ride of 50 pesos.

We paid 6800 pesos per night with breakfast- and that's consider the discount price, it's def not cheap. We hope it will do better in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    207
    97
    31
    17
See reviews for
180
121
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent one night at the Taal Vista Hotel - It's a really great hotel with great food and really nice rooms. The view down to the volcano is amazing! The hotel is a bit pricey so I would not recommend booking directly with them (which I did) but to book it via a hotel booking platform (turned out to be much more inexpensive).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

OVERPRICED, as all the other persons who wrote the review said. You could not use the bath tub and the shower is also horrible. The safety deposit box also did not work and the cabinets have loose hinges. To top it all up, the room also smelled of laundry done wrong.

I expect the food to be better, or at least I did. I never had such a bad breakfast in a hotel. My mom even complained that the coffee was bland. She asked for a second cup but it was worse than the first. The Danish I got tasted just like a jam sandwich.

I think all we paid for in that hotel was the scenic view of the Taal Volcano, nothing more, nothing less.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Very disorganized service - missed my car booking (to airport) TWICE on same day, housecleaning made my room at 5.15pm, morning calls were basically 3 rings and then hung up, when I passed to staff a set of keys left in safe by previous guest the staff took it without even asking me which room, when I asked concierge to help me call up a spa he asked me to pay for it as an external call (I was like, "seriously? Are you kidding me??!" So he didn't charge me and tried to help...... Food was horrible and overpriced, even my fresh coconut arrived 30 mins after order and was warm and sour.
My bed linen has some blood stains. Shower was really crap (suddenly there was no water halfway), air vent next to aircon was noisy and cold (it wasn't part of aircon, could not turn off). Already I was in new wing.
Only great thing was that outside restaurant there is nice view of volcano.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

A great two night stay at the beginning of our trip started well with an early check in (7am in fact ) with no extra charge. The location and the grounds - lovely lawn dand balcony overlooking the lake and volcano - are definitely the selling point of this hotel. Went room only and although pricey, we were well looked after and really able to relax. Ate dinner at the restaurant which was okay, used the gym - small but a fair bit of equipment, however too cold to go in the pool and didn't take up their overpriced tours or transport. The staff were very helpful once they realised we didn't want to pay for tours but do it independently. The shower was needin attention, hot water but pressure and focus bad, flooded a little and the room could have had better heating rather than ac - minor points compared to the positives....would return again if we were back in the area.

Room Tip: Lake View would have been nice but pricey - don't be confused by lake wing - doesn't get you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed in Taal Vista for one night to attend a wedding of a friend. It's a beautiful hotel but lacking a salon and valet services. When asked to wait for our room, we were given welcome drinks and Santa entertained my toddler. The room was good (lake wing) but you can hear everything going on outside and upstairs! The bathroom has no door so you can hear the other person taking a bath, etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dasmarinas City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I love this hotel very much ... once in a while we came here with my husband to have a weekend date... its so nice to stay in there lobby while having coffee or just indulge in their very sweet chocolate cake... whats best in this hotel sometimes they have a promo , if you are an SM Advantage Card holder you can have a 10% discount in food and beverage. If you want a full view of Taal Volcano ... this is the place where you can get a picture perfect shot!!!! ... the service is superb ... the breakfast is so good... the amenities is excellent ...When heading to Tagaytay .... Taal Vista Hotel is the place to be!!!

Room Tip: Get a room in there new renovated wing ... its more spacious and modern !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taal Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taal Vista Hotel

Address: Aguinaldo Highway, Km 60, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taal Vista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views, crisp cool mountain air, lush flora and quaint nooks all come together at the new Taal Vista Hotel, Tagaytay City - the country's favorite destination. Taal Vista Hotel, is perched on a 700 meter high ridge that has the best view of the majestic Taal Volcano and its surrounding Taal Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Taal Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taal Vista Hotel Tagaytay
Hotel Taal Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taal Vista Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.