We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taal Vista Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Taal Vista Hotel to your Saves list
Taal Vista Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aguinaldo Highway, Km 60, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Tagaytay
Limerick, Ireland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Remarkable location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The Taal Vista Hotel is a long established hotel located in Tagaytay in the Philippines. The hotel is split into two wings, East and West, with the latter being the older section. The two sections are joined at the lobby which has a lounge and restaurant area. The Executive room in the East week had a balcony and a view of the volcano which was very nice. Room has normal requirements - A/C, work desk, fridge, wifi, good shower. Room is tiled rather than carpeted but was quite comfortable.
The restaurant has an adequate menu and is fine if you just want a meal after a busy day. There was a good selection of fruits, breads, juices and hot food items at the breakfast including cooked to order omelettes. Restuarant is open tjroughout the day. Bar is okay but the 10:00PM closing time (Mon - Thurs) was awkward especially for western travellers looking for a night cap before retiring.
There are a lot of restaurant close by but you need to have a car or use the hotel shuttle as walking is not an option. There is a shopping center in the area (Robinson's) but once again you need transport.
Hotel has very pleasant staff and I found them quite helpful. Overall a good experience and recommened especially if you are working in the area and want a good hotel without the commute time to Manila. The location boast great views of the lake and volcano and is worth staying there just for that treat.

Room Tip: Stay in the East wing for the best grade rooms and ensure you get a room with a view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    206
    97
    29
    16
See reviews for
175
120
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

If you are looking for a great place to unwind, this is one such place. Just about an hour drive from Manila, I usually come here for the lunch buffets and the great view - overlooking the famous Taal Volcano. The place improved a lot under the new management. The hotel staff are all very professional & well-groomed. The musicians (trio) from the restaurant are very talented, gifted and entertaining! The rooms are very clean and the banquet rooms very spacious. A good place to hold memorable events such as weddings and birthdays.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Went here with my family last feb 2012. Got a good deal from deal grocer on their newer wing at half the price. The room was really nice with a view of taal volcano. The weather was still cool when we stayed here. Loved th clean and spacious bathroom. Service was really professional and the breakfast buffet was good , with a wide array of choices.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Romantic view from our room with the view of the Taal Volcano. Elegant, Clean and spacious room. Excellent foods and FREE Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

aside from it's romantic and very famous view deck overlooking picturesque taal volcano, the hotel offers very little compared with new properties and hotels within the area.

even after the facelift and make-over, its value-for-money rating scores very poorly with me. it offers no added value and motivation to stay more than a night. Unless of course, you're enjoying a lucky streak gambling at the dilapidated casino hall just across the street.

Room Tip: don't stay at the pool-view annex rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Stayed with my family and we had loads of fun! My kids had a lot of fun running and rolling around the gardens, and we learned a lot from the historical mural near the lobby. The room we got was in the new East Wing, so everything was clean and working perfectly. We only had the breakfast buffet at Cafe on the Ridge, but the food (while not as fancy) was well-cooked and delicious. Pool was located on the West Wing (the other side of where we stayed -- a LONG walk!), so a golf cart was provided to bring us there. Location was central to most Tagaytay tourist spots and restaurants when we went out to explore. Best of all, the staff were friendly and helpful. They made our stay easy and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Get a room at the new East Wing, especially one with a view. It's still a breathtaking sight! Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

Had a wonderful time in Taal vista hotel. I was greeted by very friendly staff upon check-in. Requested for an extra bed & by the time I got to my room, housekeeping was already setting it up. Talk about efficiency & responsiveness! Room was clean, food was great, and service was simply delightful! Taal vista is always my hotel of choice in tagaytay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taal Vista Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taal Vista Hotel

Address: Aguinaldo Highway, Km 60, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Taal Vista Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking views, crisp cool mountain air, lush flora and quaint nooks all come together at the new Taal Vista Hotel, Tagaytay City - the country's favorite destination. Taal Vista Hotel, is perched on a 700 meter high ridge that has the best view of the majestic Taal Volcano and its surrounding Taal Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Taal Vista Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taal Vista Hotel Tagaytay
Hotel Taal Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taal Vista Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.