We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love everything I ordered” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pamana Restaurant

Pamana Restaurant
1315 Aguinaldo Highway, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines
(63 46) 413-2461, (63 922) 859-2707
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 77 Restaurants in Tagaytay
Cuisines: Filipino
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Antipolo City, Philippines
2 reviews
“I love everything I ordered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

It is a great place for family, the cold weather with a hot soup is great. Will definitely come back and order the bag net and bulalo again.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    35
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lake taal's PaMaMia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Over the weekend, after visiting Museo Orlina, world renowned glass sculptor Ramon Orlina and his very lovely wife, Lay Ann hosted a group of us art enthusiasts to a most memorable and delightful lunch at Pamana restaurant. As there were some dietary constraints, we just had seafood and vegetable.

We had the view of the Lake Taal and air was refreshing.

We started with a fried fish, similar to bigger sized whitings, but only found in the lake taal. The fish taste wonderful and Ramon told us that the taste of the fish comes from the high sulphur from the water in the lake. We had a really refreshing iced pandan leaf drink with the fish.

We were served a tamarind prawn soup next. The punchiness of the soup was subtle although taste remains in the mouth for a while as we had the clear broth. Local vegetable came next with my favorite fish, Bangus, which I just discovered on this trip. The vegetable was boiled and it complemented the Bangus, which we were then served a strongly spiced prawns. Very nice.

We were finally served another fish; "This is the most expensive fish in Philippines," Ramon said to me, "they can grow to several kilos and it is the sulphuric water from the Lake which makes it taste the way it does". We had a small size one as Ramon said a fully grown one would not taste as good. I plan to research more on this fish for sure!

We all ordered our green mango drink; I asked for no sugar and was pleasantly surprised by the very pleasant and refreshing taste.

We ended with four local dessert, made mostly from rice cake. Simple and tasty. The dessert has a fusion twist as it was served in a chocolate fondue.

I would definitely return. Need to sample their beef specialities as well as the beef knuckle soup, which every other table seemed to have ordered.

Pamamia

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So so food..Terrible service..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Food was good. Not something to rave about and come back for more of. Service was poor, did not seat us properly, attendants were either lazy or did not care because we dont look rich. Toilet was dirty. Needs to update and renovate the place badly

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Filthy toilet, lazy staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

It stank so bad you can smell it from the dining area. The glass wall facing the street is also dirty, with marks and stains days old distracting me from my average food. Quite un-hygienic, place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavite City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“PINOY Food made perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Pamana has good Filipino Food line up. The cost is just right, the 3way adobo, Crispy Pata, Kare Kare are just some of the food you would want to miss ordering here. Filipino favorites made to perfection. You will also enjoy looking at old pictures of celebrities and personalities who've been there to dine. Cozy place but don't forget to bring your Jacket if you want to eat in the porch. :) it gets cold

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pamana Restaurant also viewed

Tagaytay, Cavite Province
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
 
Tagaytay, Cavite Province
 

Been to Pamana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pamana Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.