We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb but threatened by real estate development” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moon Garden Tagaytay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tagaytay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moon Garden Tagaytay
Aguinaldo Hwy, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Superb but threatened by real estate development”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

A fantastic serene garden nested in Tagyatay countryside. Breakfast is awesome and includes home made jam and bread. Friendly staff and privacy. Unfortunately condominiums are being built right next door and it is not clear how the place will look like in a year or two.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Everything about the place is wonderful.

1. The room's theme is unique. The room itself is very clean and well kept. It doesn't have airconditioner but you won't need one in Tagaytay in this time of the year.

2. The location is accessible. SVD road is just across the new Starbucks cafe, before you reach Estancia on your left if you're from Aguinaldo Hway. The area itself is secluded but not at all creepy; it is private and serene.

3. The food was really good. We paid P2990 for the room; bfast is included. The free bfast was a lot but we didnt have a hard time eating all because it's so delicious. We also had dinner there w/c only cost P620 for good food for the 2 of us.

*Tell them early if u'll have dinner there. They cook only per request and food is served at 6pm.
*Tell them also were you want to eat- room or in one of the beautiful huts; we had the latter for both dinner and bfast.


4. We were not able to meet other staff aside fr Tony but I think that's the idea of it - privacy, serenity. Tony was extremely attentive and kind. He always attended to our needs including lighting up the place outside and waiting for us to arrive when we went out to Starbucks for late coffee.

We really had a wonderful time that's why I couldn't wait making this review; Im here, eating the yummy free bfast now :D

Btw, wifi is available in huts and the common area.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

quick weekend trip to tagaytay landed us at moon garden. thought of booking the place only basis reviews on tripadvisor and must i say - i was not dissapointed al all! :) bhong - the friendly manager of the place immediately charmed us with his welcoming tone even before we inquired about the availability over the phone. no pre-requisites were required in terms of booking and only a verbal commitment was good enough. we landed in tagaytay at about 1 in the afternoon and bhong was very helpful guiding us to the resort - which is not your traditional taal facing resort - but a hidden secret amidst beautifuly cared for fauna. the inital look of the entrace made us doubt our choices (don't be deceived by it - it's probably the only not-so-beautiful part of the resort -- wonder why?) but once you enter, you'll know that the place is a nature lovers paradise. However, if you're a light sleeper, easily bothered by birds and the bees - especially at night (you can hear them chirping / buzzing pretty much through the night), then maybe this is not the place for you. Food is good but there are limited menu options - which can be overlooked if you consider the 'service with a smile' points. the place is quite small (only 7 rooms) and a common dining/recreation area so if you're in an exploratory mood once there, then you'll need to head out of your lovely resort. overall - a highly recommended place for the no-fuss nature lover traveller.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Roughly a month ago was my second time to visit this place.I am obsessed with this place that my friends can attest to it (I was the the "friend" the reviewer below is referring to. Heeyah Joyce! Haha).Quaint, serene,vintage, quirky - 4 of my favorite words brandished all over the place. The people here are way beyond helpful. I remember the first time we went here, it was raining real hard and since me and my boyfriend was just commuting, we are stuck in the common pavilion waiting for the rain to stop so we can go home. Without even asking, the owner offered his car so his driver can take us to the bus station. That is beyond customer service, it was kindness. Bhong (the contact person) is easy to talk to and very helpful. The place is special in every way you just need to experience it yourself.

Note : There is no actual front desk at the resort. You have to park your car and climb the stairs toward the common area. Usually, Bhong or any of the resort personnel will approach you, confirm your booking and escort you to your room. Since its a garden, expect alot of insects so might as bring insect repellants. Do not leave your doors open even during day time as insects might come in and pay you a visit. As far as I know, you can bring your own food in the room.

More of Moon Garden at http://mystormlesssky.wordpress.com/2013/07/09/how-to-get-to-…arden-tagaytay/

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binangonan, Rizal, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Three weeks ago, my friend invited us to visit this place. True enough, we were in awe from the first time we stepped here. The caretaker was very nice and our room was very clean. There maybe insects but I guess that's given since the place was surrounded mostly by plants (make sure to bring any insect repellent). The food tasted great and the quietness gave my friends and I felt that we were in a special retreat. A must visit for all the quiet seekers :)

http://joycelynaralar.wordpress.com/2013/07/02/to-the-moon-garden-and-back/

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I booked this room blindly after researching so many other options for an overnight stay in Tagaytay. Reviews were mixed although many said it was a very peaceful and relaxing setting. Rates for Tagaytay hotels shoot up during weekends and since we were on a budget, we were only limited to a few.

The nightly rate for Moon Garden was perfect, just within our budget and sounded like just the perfect weekend hideaway. Breakfast is included in the nightly rate which was great.

This b&b is now called Lily's Pond, and easiest to find as the street is between Discovery Suites and Estancia Hotel. The street name is SVD ROAD and right across from the newest Starbucks in Tagaytay.

Driving in you will see a spacious parking lot and above, individual huts all detached from each other. We were met by trusty caretaker Bong, who assisted us with our things and also took our breakfast orders for the next day. The room was perfect! The wall facing the bed was screened off, allowing the beautiful Tagaytay breeze to enter the room. Curtains were just above. Bed was a cement slab, with king sized mattress, a featherbed and comforter, as well as what seemed to be goose down pillows. Looking around I saw 2 pairs of slippers, a pitcher of water, a towel heater, and a hanging tv. There were also three chairs and a table.

The bathroom is just behind the bed and separated by a wall and curtains. You will have to be pretty intimate with your roommate as all activities in the bathroom will be heard by any room occupant. But I really loved the stone walls and floors, made me feel like I was outdoors when I am really indoors. The curved design of the bathroom was pretty neat too. Shower consists of inclined stone flooring and shower head plus tap. No enclosure or curtains.

There was a major monsoon during that night so the wind was howling and curtains were flapping about. We did not mind though as we were dry and warm with the thick comforter and comfortable bed. I did notice that the ends of the curtains were soaking wet.

The next morning it was still raining so we were to be served breakfast in our room instead of outside. We had adobo flakes and danggit with all the trimmings - side salad, vinegar, coffee, juice, fruit - just lovely. We were also able to explore the grounds when the rain let up and it was indeed a beautiful place.

We were also allowed to stay in some more and enjoy a late checkout. Snaps to Bong and the staff.. will definitely be back.

** May I suggest more lights to be installed by the rooms, stairs, and driveway for guests who will be going out at night then coming back. It was pitch dark and we had to make use of our flashlight app on our mobile phone to get in and out of the room. Stairs are steep so you cannot run down. Not to mention the strong wind and rain so getting in the room from the car was a bit of a challenge.

** Also, since you are booking this room for its garden and lily pond setting, EXPECT BUGS! I saw one here and there in our room but no big deal. Just bring OFF lotion and you should be fine. Thanks Moon Garden!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

… but not so great if you are hoping for a full-service place with amenities like wi-fi, which was promised, or the promise of daily housekeeping. Really, the first night was great. They advised us that the Internet wasn’t working but expected it to be back on in a day or two after it was upgraded. But that “day or two” became several days, and finally we were told that it wouldn’t be working this week or probably even the week after that. Since we were in Tagaytay for business and not for a romantic getaway, this wasn’t acceptable. We were told that we would get a 20% discount on the food and beverage (we hadn’t asked for this, but it was offered to us), but when we went to pay the bill, we were given 40 pesos off a 500 peso food bill. Now, to their credit, when it was brought to their attention and the math done and explained, they did give us the full 20%, but I didn’t think that it was good customer service. It just seemed like they got tired of us after a few days. The housekeeping turned into every other day, we kept getting bugs in the room (the promised “organic” bug killer turned out to be Baygon and no, we didn’t bring food into the room), dogs were barking (ok, not the management’s fault, it wasn’t their dog, but it kept me awake during the night) and after a very brief interaction with the owner on the day that we arrived, we never saw him after that. By the 3rd night, they were keeping the gate across the driveway, which really did make us feel unwelcome! By the 4th night, they had taken the flowers out of the room and dumped them on the walkway in front of our cabin. So, it seemed as if they promised a lot but failed to deliver. We ended up cutting our time short here and found other arrangements.

I’ll add that if you’re looking for a nice bed and a romantic setting, Lily Pond (which is the name now, not Moon Garden) is very nice, and I’m sure that for a stay of just a day or two, you’ll be pretty satisfied with this place. The room was spacious, pretty garden setting and very cool bathroom. We didn’t have breakfast here, but we did have one dinner and it was quite good. But it definitely does feel isolated, the housekeeping wasn’t great or as frequent as we were promised, the Internet didn’t exist, and we just weren’t made to feel welcome there. I would not stay here again. I give it 2.5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moon Garden Tagaytay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Garden Tagaytay

Address: Aguinaldo Hwy, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty lodging in Tagaytay
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silent corner of Tagaytay tropical highlands with cottage sin a lush garden: an ultimate out-of-town-feel. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moon Garden Tagaytay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Moon Garden Tagaytay to your Saves list