We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place like home with quite surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tagaytay Wingate Manor

Save Saved
You added Tagaytay Wingate Manor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Agoda.com
and 1 more site!
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Magallanes Drive, Maitim II West, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in Tagaytay
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A place like home with quite surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

It was a pleasant stay at this hotel. Check in procedure take about 10 mins, and the place is very clean and have quite surroundings. This place is quite far from main road, so the interesting places and outside restaurants are not accessible by walk. Breakfast was average. Have tour desk, but charge bit high premium than outside local tour operators. The room is nice, but nothing special to say that its a honeymoon room. I still wonder why its been called honeymoon room, when all looks just normal as other standard room. We got free 1 hour spa as a complimentary, which is very delightful. Those who do not have own vehicles, must have to ride with taxi or tricycle to get around, as this hotel is little far from all the main attractions.

Room Tip: This place quite far from all the main listed attractions., but good to relax and enjoy your times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    28
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
26
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Deurle, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

after a 2 hour trip with a 1500 peso negociated taxiride from naia airport,manila (driver always complaint about the agreed price is to low) we experienced a mediocore saty at wingate. We paid 2600 peso for the double room including breakfast an 1 hour massage for two. The massage was ok, breafast poor, with corn beef from a can for example. 2600 peso is the online' book more than one week in advance rate' but dont worry this rate you can have also when you walk in so no need to pay in advance(no refund!). Standard room had good bedding but was very smal.No free uprgate to a bigger delux evendough there were only 2 other guests. Quality of food is ok but to expensive(80peso for a mango and small banana for example) for the quantity you get.Wanted to charge me for a small burst in the towel.Except from that friendly staff.To me even the 40 percent discounted rate of 2600 peso per night is overpriced.Generally you pay to much for accomodation in the Phills for the comfort you get comparing to other asian countries

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Whenever I go on an out-of-town trip, I don't usually choose a luxurious hotel simply because I know I will be staying out of it most of the time. I just need a simple room just as long as it is clean. I say that again, CLEAN. Tagaytay Wingate Manor perfectly fits my requirement.

The hotel is not along the main road but it is very accessible. You will pass by residential areas before reaching it.

Checking-in was a breeze because the staff is very knowledgeable and helpful. We just needed to fill-up a form and they gave us the key after. They even assisted us with our bags on the way to our respective rooms.

Our bed is big and comfortably sturdy. I adore the lovely smell of fresh, crisp linen! We entered the room and a very strong aromatic scent greeted us. I am quite sensitive to such so I ended up sneezing. Thankfully, the incense died out after several minutes.

By the way, our accommodation package includes a one-hour massage. I opted for a foot massage instead of a whole body massage. I just felt that my feet needed more attention. And yes, the massage was rejuvenating!

The bathroom is fairly basic but spotless. Just how I want it. I am more attracted to a simple but sanitary bathroom than a fancy but poorly-maintained one.

I definitely recommend Wingate Manor if you are as OC as I am. It is spotless and well-kept. The reception staff is very attentive and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Ok, booked this hotel instead of One Tagaytay where I usually check-in because of the reviews here.

Booked for a honeymoon room which at all doesn't have any honeymoon motif to it. The room was super small. Water heater isn't working that well. Sheets are comfortable though. Wifi is weak since there is only one router in the whole hotel which is located in the small restaurant.

Breakfast is set where you get to choose what plated breakfast you prefer upon checking-in.

And yes they do call you up at 12nn to remind you to checkout that very instant.

There is a free massage for 2 per room until 10pm..

The only thing I do not like about this hotel is its location. It is exactly 2kms from the main highway (Magallanes complex with 7-11). If you do not have your own car this will be a disaster since you will be traveling via tricycle from this hotel. No decent view. You're just stuck in the room. Pool was ok didn't use it though.

Staff were friendly. Food was ok even if it is plated and not buffet. :)

Room Tip: look for other hotels near the main highway if you do not have your own private vehicle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TagaytayWingateManor, Guest Relations Manager at Tagaytay Wingate Manor, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Mr. Valued Guest,

Thank you for your constructive review of our hotel. We have noticed that a lot of guests take the names of our hotel rooms literally so we have decided to change the name of our Honeymoon room to something more generic. Updated room name will be announced on our website sometime this August.

We would like to apologize for the bad experience you had on our water heater. The hotel, however, always ensures all its rooms and essentials in it are functioning properly. In your case, the water heater is functioning properly and the heater was consistent in giving the desired temperature. You could have requested for assistance from our more than willing and happy to serve housekeeping in configuring the heater to your needs.

Please note that our hotel is equipped with 3 WIFI routers which are located at the lobby, 2nd floor balcony, and at the cafe which are all functioning properly. Again, we apologize if you did not have a good WIFI signal inside your room. This is mainly because we prioritized in giving our rooms thick walls that will keep noise from coming in.

We would like to apologize for calling you at exactly 12nn and not minutes before 12nn like other hotels so you can maximize your experience at our hotel. Please note that you also have to give way to the next occupant of your room. And in order for us to please them, we would require ample time to clean your room before we let them in.

As for the location of our hotel, we believe that we are in the best place where we can provide the peace and quiet that our guests are longing for. The hotel is away from the noise and pollution of the main highway where the racket produced by speeding buses and trucks only get worse as the hour gets later. You would then state in your review that you weren’t able to sleep because of the noise coming from the main highway.

Sincerely,
Your Guest Relations Manager
Tagaytay Wingate Manor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were looking for a last summer getaway hotel in Tagaytay and we found this ranked among the top 10. We stayed here on a Friday last May, which was good since the following day, many guests started arriving.

We're not really particular in general about the physical appearance of hotels, but this one deserves more credit.

What we really like about this place are:
1. Hotel
- Quiet
- It has a secured gate and adequate parking spaces
- Has a medium sized swimming pool , 1 for kids and 1 for adults
- Friendly staff
- Not too far from main road

2. Room
- Very clean.
- Not big, but not too small to accommodate 2 persons
- Has a mini ref
- bathroom has glass sliding doors
- very comfy bed with 4 pillows
- Feels like a 4 star hotel room

3. Others
- Breakfast is included (your usual silogs etc)
- Has free WiFi but only at the lobby (which is OK, who wants to FB all day anyway?)
- Free Swedish massage for 2
- The owner was even supervising the staff himself

We want to go back here again soon!

Room Tip: Choose a room near the cafeteria since it is nearer the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The following are the things I loved about the hotel:

1. Staff were very friendly and attentive to your every need.
2. The hotel and rooms were very clean.
3. Our toilet, was also very clean. free of any nasty toilet stain smell.
4. The massages were so good that I forgot that they were complimentary. The ache on my back from all the stress from work disappeared.
5. I've stayed with hotels along the main highway and the noise from trucks and buses passing by made it very hard to sleep. This hotel being away from the main highway, but still close enough to points of interest was perfect if you really want to get a good nights sleep. Apart from that, the rooms are built to be almost sound proof.
6. Food selection was okay. Taste and portioning was okay as well.
7. Huge parking lot with 24/7 security guard. FREE parking for in-house guests! :)

Points for improvements:
1. WIFI speed was decent however it could be improved.
2. The place was not that hard to find though more signage could be added for convenience of other guests who have difficulty in finding places.

Ive stayed at Tagaytay Wingate Manor hotel ever since it opened. I stay at this hotel whenever I am in town and the quality of service has not changed. For a tip, always visit their website at www.wingatemanor.ph for packages and promos! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I was initially eyeing on taal vista as a place to stay after attending a wedding in tagaytay. the hotel, however, was fully booked on my intended stay. after consulting tripadvisor, i came across wingate and was convinced that it was the place to stay. although we arrived late, we were still greeted with warmth and friendliness. we didn't have to wait long for our room because they were prepared. the papers we need to sign, the remote as well as the key were neatly packed in plastic waiting for us. the receptionist was very attentive. she was able to ask what we wanted for breakfast and the time we wanted for our massage in less than 2 minutes. upon reaching our room, i checked the bed. it was so soft and fresh smelling that i hated getting up to take a shower. the massage that came with our package likewise was so good. i was disappointed though with our breakfast. i had to order additional french toast because i was still feeling hungry after consuming my plate. but i couldn't complain. for half the original price of a room, i think it was still value for money. all in all, i think my experience at wingate is relaxing. thanks to their very friendly staff, i had a great weekend getaway!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tagaytay Wingate Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tagaytay Wingate Manor

Also Known As:
Tagaytay Wingate Manor Hotel Tagaytay
Tagaytay Wingate Manor Hotel
Address: Magallanes Drive, Maitim II West, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tagaytay Wingate Manor 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda and Fastbooking so you can book your Tagaytay Wingate Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tagaytay Wingate Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.