We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming discovery, best view of Taal Lake!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joaquin's Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Joaquin's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Joaquin's Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Km. 58 Aquinaldo Highway, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 79 Tagaytay B&B and Inns
Manila
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Charming discovery, best view of Taal Lake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I've already stayed for a night in Nurture Spa, The Boutique Hotel, T House, Tagaytay Highlands, and Discovery Country Suites. I decided to try Joaquin's based on the reviews and pictures. What won me over was it clearly had the best view of Taal Lake, the rooms looked clean enough, it was right on the highway, and very near all the restaurants.

They also gave us the best room, which is the purple room with a mini-garden. The downside to our entire stay were 2 things: the smell of old wood that greets you when you enter the room, and the uneven floors which I kept tripping on at some point. But these things were manageable. The smell dissipated after a few minutes too. But the uneven flooring could be due to a tree root? I guess they got the same feedback that's why the second time we went there (after a month), they had an oil burner on already, which filled the room with a citrus-y scent.

Anyway, the room was big, the bed was divine, and the furnishings were really quaint. But the best part comes in the morning when you wake up, part the curtains next to the bed, to take in the best view of Taal Lake! This is what separates Joaquin’s among all of the places I’ve stayed in Tagaytay.

We spent hours in the mini-garden having a good bottle of red wine before heading out to dinner, and having breakfast (no complaints about food - breakfast arrived on the dot), both while taking in the most romantic ambiance that only the lake, the stars, the sun, and a mini-garden can create. We enjoyed our first stay in Joaquin's that we went back a month after...and we loved every minute we were there. I think I’ve finally found my go-to place when in Tagaytay!

Room Tip: Go for the purple room with mini-garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    43
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
45
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at this accommodation for 2 nights. I don’t remember the room number, but we were in a gardenview room with an incredible view of the lake and volcano and islands. In fact, we could enjoy this view, not only from the garden, but when we were lying in the four posted canopy bed. The room was large, decorated in a peaceful and attractive fashion; the bed incredibly comfortable; the bathroom small, but functional with plenty of hot water. The staff was helpful and friendly. The included breakfast was good.

The downsides: the room did have a musty smell. It rained several times while we were here and the mornings were mist shrouded, so I am sure that damp caused the mustiness. Wifi was only available in the restaurant.

The upside: The INCREDIBLE VIEW !! The best on the ridge.

Room Tip: get a garden view room. Best view of the Volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

pro's - rooms very cute, clean, homey, high ceilings... great location.. awesome view of the volcano... quiet, slept to crickets and woke up to birds chirping... you can sit all day on the patio or garden

con's - some upkeep points - mini-garden area plants trimming and landscaping (for those rooms with mini-gardens)... room sheets were clean and comfy but felt washed a few times too many (need to be changed).. i wish mini-garden areas were separated a bit more (they are interconnected, good thing i didn't have any neighbors when i stayed)

overall - awesome view makes up for the cons

Room Tip: request for room with mini-garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here last july. The place was great. Nice people and very accomodating. Actually there was a storm that time but still we enjoyed everything. Food, rooms, ambience... It was a memorable stay. We'll be back for sure, hopefully this coming november.... Keep it up!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Piñas, Philippines
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Beautiful and elegant! I really love how it was designed. The garden near each room should be given attention, though. It has to be cleaned and trimmed regularly. It looks scary at night. Also, they have to make sure that no insects should be found inside each bedroom. In our case, a huge spider and a beetle were found inside the bathroom. Nonetheless, I would still love to visit the place! Great wifi connection inside the resto, by the way.

Room Tip: Book the purple room with the king-sized bed. It's perfect (except for the garden).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The rooms are located in a separate building, which makes them very homey. In my opinion, too homey that it feels like I'm in my own room. This is perfect if you are constantly traveling and misses the coziness of your home. And if you want quiet and peace. Emphasis on "quiet." But if your idea of "staycation" is escaping your usual routine and lounging in a hotel room, this is not it. The amenities are very simple - an LCD TV, a comfortable four poster bed, a shower (heater is really hard to control), soap, shampoo, and dental kits; which we still need to request. No bathrobes, bathtubs, slippers. The floor near the entrance to the mini-garden was uneven that I can't fully open the door. I also found a few ants on the bed!
The breakfast was just a filler, nothing special. One thing worth noting though is they serve their food on dainty porcelain which is kind of cute.

The only saving grace of this hotel was the mini-garden and the view which is just perfect. Might be a bit awkward to hang around the garden if there are occupants in the adjacent rooms since you only have a low wall as a divider. Good thing we checked in on a weekday.

Location wise, Joaquin's a good place to stay if you want to go on a food trip as it's walking distance to Summit Ridge, Cliffhouse, and Magallanes Square. Easy to get to as well.

Room Tip: Get the room with a mini-garden. The view from the balcony rooms is obstructed by a roof. Make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toyama, Japan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We booked a room for three for my family on the lower ground with garden and arrived at 7 pm so it was dark and have not much to appreciate yet except the fast check-in and the warm smile of the receptionist.. The place has only 8 beautiful suites and we love the beautiful room setting with all the complete amenities. At daytime, we were able to appreciate the perfect scenic view of Taal volcano with all its splendor. yummy filipino breakfast was served hot and so appetizingly delicious. I will definitely go back with my family to stay at this petite hotel!

Room Tip: If you're with kids, the lower floor is absolutely great with the mini-garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Joaquin's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joaquin's Bed and Breakfast

Address: Km. 58 Aquinaldo Highway, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Joaquin's Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Joaquin's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joaquin`s b&b
Joaquin`s Hotel Tagaytay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joaquin's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.