We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quaint hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Potter's Ridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Potter's Ridge Hotel to your Saves list
Potter's Ridge Hotel
Km 67 Aguinaldo Highway | after Mendez Market and before Splendido Golf Club, Tagatay City, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 79 Tagaytay B&B and Inns
Manila
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Nice quaint hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed 2 nights in a deluxe room. Had a Lovely view of Tall lake! Furnishings are adequate. The bathroom could use a little makeover, though. Dining hall has floor to ceiling views of Tall on all sides which makes meal times more enjoyable. Service is very good. Santi, the hotel manager was very attentive to our needs. With a price that is half the price of the bigger hotels nearby, Potter's Ridge is a good alternative. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    16
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
18
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel is ideal for those who wants serenity, meditation and chillaxation. My wife and I stayed here for our Anniversary. We had a pleasant stay here at this hotel. It's so peaceful here. Rooms: mostly of the rooms have view of the taal lake. There are only several rooms which don't have views of the lake. Rooms have basic amenities. Some rooms needs to be fix like shower handle (room 302) and heater doesn't warm at all (room 103). Because of this we were transfered into another room. Bed was comfortable. Accomodation comes with free plated breakfast with barako coffee. It was good breakfast. Dining area has the best view of the lake. They have a lot of DVDs that you can borrow since all rooms have dvd players. They have also lots of magazines and books to choose for reading. They have wifi internet too. Staffs were courteous. They were good attending us. Specially staffs Raymund and Jelly. We met one of the partner-owner Mr. Santi. He was accomodating and hospitable. He even baked us an ice cream pie since he knew it's our anniversary for free. By the way he's also a good chef. Thank you again Mr. Santi! Location, this hotel is a little bit far from the main attractions, but it is just along the main highway. You can just hop on a jeep or bus in front of the hotel to go anywhere. From Olivares rotonda, you ride jeep going to Nasugbo or Boundary or bus with Nasugbo signage, this will pass by in front of the hotel. Over all rating we are happy with our stay in this hotel. It's really a getaway from the bustling Manila.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My husband and I always go to Tagaytay after Christmas season and we are open to discover new hotel accommodation. Booked this hotel via agoda based on the reviews I've read and the price of the room (USD 100-106) overnight stay with free breakfast.
LOCATION-they said its better because its quieter and far from the busy Tagaytay restos and attractions. id say, consider the traffic jam you have to encounter before you reach this place especially if you are going on a weekend. leaving tagaytay rotonda @ 2pm, we reached potter's ridge hotel @ 7pm.
STAFF-they are all nice
HOTEL ROOM-the manager or the owner (we are not sure) was kind enough to show us first our 2 choices. 1st room is at the 1st floor with view of taal lake not the taal volcano but view is only when you go out of your room on the terrace that is not private (common terrace for all guests on the same floor). old furnishings and very tiny room.
2nd room is at the 3rd floor no view inner room but newer furnishings and bigger room.
We chose the inner room and we are happy about it!
FACILITIES-common terraces with taal lake view (not taal volcano), a big and beautiful restaurant at the topmost floor with free wi-fi and overlooking taal lake tables and chairs. Hotel is offering a free entrance to the nearby golf course (Splendido), its worth visiting!!!
OUR ROOM-new, comfortable, flat screen tv, no mini ref, washroom no bath tub
We loved the hotel furnishings and the staircase.
FOOD- free breakfast is just ok, there's still a big room for improvement. we are surprised when I requested for a hot chocolate drink instead of a coffee. server said yes to this, but returned after a few minutes and informed us of the separate charge for the hot chocolate so I told her just serve coffee instead of the hot choco, but then she said, the hot chocolate has already been prepared. We did not made a big deal about it but after our breakfast and we are just enjoying the early morning sun in our table, the hotel manager or owner asked us on how was our stay, we answered him that everything went well except for the hot choco incident, he just said yes there is a charge for that. By the way, the hot choco is not a special drink as well.

For us, this is just an ok accommodation. We can get better facilities and better food for the same price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Potter's Ridge was ideal for us to stay in because it was situated closer to a more quiet stretch of the Tagaytay strip in the Aguinaldo highway.

Attending a wedding at the Chapel-on-the-Hill in Batulao with the wedding reception at Sonya's Garden, Potter's Ridge was just perfect for us to unwind after partying.

Fortunately, we were able to check-in early before heading off to the wedding. The GM was kind enough to get us a room with a marvelous view of the lake and the canyon. The four-poster bed facing a splendid view took our breath away.

The reception was very friendly and accommodating. The GM was very friendly and helpful with a lot of information regarding points of interest like Taal lake trips, cuisines etc. Makes me want to go back for more of Tagaytay area. Wi-fi connection was excellent especially at the dining area and the lobby.

We were told that we get free (!!) access to Splendido Taal Country Club but unfortunately we didn't bring any bathing suits (maybe next time).

Having drinks at the dining hall balcony in the evening was just divine, relaxing and an experience itself.

Potter's Ridge was just excellent. We are already planning our next stay there.

Room Tip: corner rooms facing the lake is to "die for" but do wear sleep mask just in case it gets t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters R, General Manager at Potter's Ridge Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Chef Jocen,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the very kind remarks you have written here on Tripadvisor.

Yes, many of our guests feel that our hotel is romantic matched by breathtaking views from east, west, north and south. We have a good vantage point of the Taal volcano from our topmost floor which is also our restaurant. Most of our rooms, about 90% of them, have beautiful views of the lake, the canyon, the greenery, the nearby golf courses, a five star country club, the Batangas and the Laguna provinces and the mountain top views. All I can say is that most of our guests do come back to explore more of the place, and of course, experience more of our hospitality services.

We try to give our guests a lot of helpful tips as the area we are situated in have many invaluable facets that are not commonly featured in the guide books that are sold commercially,

We are all very happy that you have validated us with a perfect score as the time of the year that you stayed in was quite busy, to say the least. More importantly, I am glad to hear that you are planning your next visit with us. We shall wait for your return and promise to give you not only a romantic service but a memorable one indeed.

Thank you so much for visiting us and for the perfect score that we received from you.

All the best for the coming New Year.

Sincerely yours,
Santi Macutay
General Manager and C O O
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Well the hotel is clean, foods are tasty & yet affordable, we love their coffee ... But most importantly they allowed pets... we stay 3 days there.. they also baby sit our baby pet because almost vet clinic is halfday coz its christmas time...the staff is friendly..time to time we check out tru text & call our baby pet how he is doing....

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters R, General Manager at Potter's Ridge Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are so happy that your stay with us was satisfying because you felt that we took good care of your pet. Well, we not only take good care of our guests' pets, but, it is of paramount importance to us that we take good care of our guests needs and preferences as well so that the end result is that everyone is happy.

We have a strict pet policy which guests with pets have to adhere to. I thank you for your understanding and for following our pet regulations in the hotel as we do have designated rooms for guests with pets only. We understand that pets are like family and sometimes, we can't be without them.

Thank you for saying that our hotel is clean and that our food is good and reasonably priced. We try hard to keep up with what our guests needs and we hope that each time, we are able to deliver the quality of service that you expect and deserve.

All the best for the coming New Year. We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely yours,
Santi Macutay
General Manager and C O O

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We made a reservation just a day before and it was hassle-free. Since it's not our first time in Tagaytay this hotel was just perfect for a quick staycation. Checking-in was a breeze and the owner, Mrs. Potter who was very accommodating and "machika" was the one who took care of us. We were even delighted when she gave us 20% discount with free breakfast. She even showed us their suite room. What good with this hotel is their homey ambiance, it feels like your visiting your grandma's house. But what i love the most is their location. It offers unobstructed view of Taal Lake, lush greens all over coupled with breezy and chilly weather of Tagaytay. The next morning free breakfast was served in their restaurant located at the top floor overlooking Taal Lake and Taal volcano. One more thing after breakfast Mrs Potter gave us an endorsement letter so we can access Splendido Taal Country Club. Without a doubt we went to Splendido and hubby enjoyed swimming in their gorgeous swimming pool while me just lounging by the pool while enjoying beautiful sceneries around me. Thank you Mrs. Potter for the wonderful experience and to all the friendly staff of Potter's Ridge Hotel. We will come back for sure!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Taal lake for the amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters R, Owner at Potter's Ridge Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Jenne S,

I hope all is well with you. I really love what I do and find all of our visitors interesting that's why I try to get to know them well.

Through our interaction with all of our customers, we get a lot of helpful and insightful tips on how to improve on our services. Thank you for taking the time to review us and for giving us a good score. It inspires us to do better and my staff feel positively validated by your kind review.

We hope to see you again next time and would like to find out more about your vacation style and preferences.

All the best.

Sincerely yours,
Marissa Potter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Very friendly staff, gave us 20% discount on De Luxe Room. The room is very homey with a wide view, (fronting the bedroom) of Taal Lake and a forest view to the right side of the room. The dining area is one of our favorite spots of the hotel, clean, elegant and ver relaxing.

Plated breakfast is okay. Parking space is just enough to accommodate all the guests in the hotel.

I love the interior of the hotel and the room...will definitely go back!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters R, Owner at Potter's Ridge Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Marlon G,

I hope all is well with you and our family.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the wonderful remarks your wrote about us. It's is truly helpful and insightful. I'm sure many of our readers will find your comments helpful.

And thank you that you felt at home with us. That's what we truly want to achieve with every customer experience. So the next time you visit us again, we hope to give you the best of our hospitality services.

All the best to you.

Sincerely yours,
Marissa Potter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Potter's Ridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potter's Ridge Hotel

Address: Km 67 Aguinaldo Highway | after Mendez Market and before Splendido Golf Club, Tagatay City, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Potter's Ridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Potter's Ridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.