We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's just like a haven of comfort away from the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Potter's Ridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Potter's Ridge Hotel to your Saves list
Potter's Ridge Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Km 67 Aguinaldo Highway | after Mendez Market and before Splendido Golf Club, Tagatay City, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 83 Tagaytay B&B and Inns
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's just like a haven of comfort away from the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

It was past 12 noon and we're looking for a quality hotel to stay in tagaytay, then out of nowehere we accidentally drop-off in the middle of unexpected serene and tranquil place that we have no idea in the first place. OMG! that's the first word I've ushered immediately right after we entered the hotel. as we got in we've seen the eccentric decorations and fascinating interiors along the hallway. A quality picturesque as its best! A combination of natural and world class amenities that brings outstanding view of the top of the metro and most especially the vivid and colorful images of untouched nature within view. Can you ever imagine the scenic fog that crossed and lay over our faces on early morning. As we entered the room It was totally clean and organized. The linens are soft that couldn't resist to sleep the whole day. The Food? wow! its Brilliant! Aside from the superb array of choices of mouth watering dishes with fresh herbs that come's from their own garden, A creation of well-applauded Alaska Cake is sinfully great! (You should try this cause you'll be missing half of your life.) Whoa! Its really nerve wracking and soooo Delicious! plus their drinking water so pure and refreshing taste. The Service and the management is excellent! They were really nice! In fact, Miss Marissa Potter the owner of the hotel was so great and we had a chance to have a long chit chat with her. She even told us stories behind those beautiful crafts and paintings, figurines and other memorabilia. She's a down to earth and very interesting person. So guys, time to pack your backpacks and surely enjoy 100% of your time on your stay in this hotel. I will definitely comeback to Potter's Ridge. I feels like home An instant heaven within reach
PS. Thanks for a refreshing tarragon tea.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottersridge, Owner at Potter's Ridge Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Good morning! I hope all is well with you.

We are grateful to you for describing your experiences with us. Your positive comments are inspiring.

May I say that I equally enjoyed your company because I got to know you better. It made me so happy to know that you appreciate art and the mementos I hold dear, plus the services of my dedicated staff. The conversations and interactions with all of our guests are important to us. The synergy gives us valuable lessons in guest care.

Thank you so much for making the effort to type your thoughts on Tripadvisor.

With best regards.

Sincerely yours,

Marissa Potter
President and C E O
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    17
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
20
24
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

You don't have a balcony, but you may choose to have a room with a huge window overlooking the mountains. Problem is, that huge window has a common balcony right in front, so anyone can walk passed your room anytime and see you inside. Bad judgment on the owner's part. At the very least, they could have had the windows tinted to make sure ppl don't see inside the interior of the rooms and guests can still enjoy the scenery. Or a separator would also be an option.

The tv didn't have access to channels as well. So they lend you DVDs. Super weird. Maling pagtitipid.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottersridge, Manager at Potter's Ridge Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are sorry you felt that you did not have privacy during your stay. We were just wondering why you had to endure this experience to yourself during your stay when you could have communicated it to us. We have portable dividers that we put in there upon guest request. As for the TV, we do have local channels and a DVD library where guest could choose their movies. Our property is described on our website and on our online travel partners.

Rest assured that we are listening and that we do continue to improve on our amenities and services always. We track down what is urgent and what's is most sought after by our customers.

Beat regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Back in nov 2012, my friends and i combed the aguinaldo highway to look for place to stay while on an impromptu escape from the metro. And we stumbled on this place called potter's ridge, but we were not able to stay for the night due to the hotel is full.

When we decided to go back to tagaytay in May, potter's ridge was the first hotel that comes into our mind and we were not disappointed. The staff were very accomodating and surprisingly the hotel owner who greeted us in the front desk with a smile and warm welcome. Suprisingly, she upgraded us to one of the best rooms in the building. The veranda in their resto was the was the best spot to view the fog-laden creases of the land. Even though the taak volcano is hidden from this location, the view is enough to rejuvinate a tired soul.

Overall, the view is great, the rooms are small but very cozy and relaxing (talk about viewing the ridges in a panoramic window while lying in a very comfortable bed). I could not say more about their hospitality. It is more than a hotel welocome, its a warm home welcome after a tiring journey. We went here for a "retreat" and found the peace of mind in this cozy and very welcoming place. We'll definite love to stay here again should we dicided to go back to tagaytay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottersridge, Owner at Potter's Ridge Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

You have warmed our hearts with your very positive review.

First of all, our sincere gratitude to you for finding our place homey, our service good and more importantly, you experienced the peace and relaxation that you came for.

Your kind comments have infused a great deal of inspiration to us. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience.

With our best regards.

Sincerely yours,
Marissa Potter
C E O
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My fiancé (now wife) & I were looking for a hotel for our guests and ourselves to check in and prepare for the wedding the following day. We found couple of places already and then my fiancé saw the signage for Potter's Ridge by the bend. We quickly pulled in and ask to see some rooms and inquire about pricing. The front desk clerk (John) was very accommodating and immediately gave us a grand tour and explained clearly which rooms are which and what prices. We were very impressed with the setting of the place because it is not a cliche or a typical hotel. It was more serene, calming, peaceful, a friendlier environment and a "perfect place to escape from reality". We arranged to meet with the owner to discuss booking multiple rooms and wedding packages. We then met up with Miss Marissa Potter, owner/operator/manager of the place and she was very welcoming, hospitable and a lovely person to discuss pricing on rooms and packages for booking the hotel for photographers, videographers etc. We then came to an agreement and we were not disappointed when the day came when we all checked in and hid from the world.

The day of the wedding came and Miss Potter made sure that we are well taken care of and she is very hands on. You won't see a lot of hotel these days where the owner gets involve with the work literally and that shows great service and passion. We all left with a very satisfied feeling that we found the perfect little hotel in Tagaytay. This place feels like home with its' native setting, it has a great view, the best staff to assist you in your needs and the fairest price in the area. I came from Canada and I know good deals and service when I see one and Potter's Ridge is one of them. Peaceful, reasonable, fine dining complimentary breakfast with fresh ingredients that you can actually taste, excellent service & great hospitality from the owner. We already planned our next trip to Philippines and Potter's Ridge in the itinerary. See you soon.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms by the balcony for the best view. If you want to treat yourself, ask for the Junio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters R, Owner at Potter's Ridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Vataga,

I hope you and your spouse are now happily settled in Canada after taking the long journey to the Philippines for your wedding date.

That serendipitous pit stop at our hotel not only culminated into finalizing your wedding-day-preparations and stay with us, but more importantly, we learned that you are a wonderful and valuable guest of ours. While we may have provided you with good service during your stay, it goes without saying that your cooperation during the planning stages and actual preparation was indeed a perfect synergy. You were a pleasure to be with.

We feel the joy in this review and that makes all the hard work and team effort worthwhile and valuable.

Our heartfelt gratitude to you for taking the time to review us. We look forward to your next visit to the Philippines. Mabuhay!

Sincerely yours,
Marissa Potter
C E O
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We will be back again and again to this hotel. It feels like you're home and a great way to escape from a busy working schedule. Miss Potter the owner of the hotel is extremely generous and hospitable. They welcome us and tour around. How sweet she is when she gave us a complimentary tarragon tea before we sleep, a great way to digest our dinner and made our mind relax able to sleep well. Our breakfast is not a conventional buffet but a fine dining! The food is awesome! You can even taste the fresh herbs they put in. Our desserts? Oh my! You can only find it from a 7 star luxury hotel. The best desserts we ever had the Alaska cake! It's a must to taste it when you visit this hotel. We will surely love to come back because it feels like the extension of our home. Services is Excellent!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters R, Owner at Potter's Ridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
It is equally our pleasure to have served you well during your stay with us. Thank you so very much.

Your review surely brings about the best in everyone of us at Potter's Ridge Hotel. It is indeed a wonderful feeling to be appreciated for all of our efforts after a hard days work. Chef Silver has been inspired by your review and has been more flamboyant in his dessert creations, and its a good thing. I'm glad you enjoyed our fresh Tarragon tea straight from our garden pots in front of our hotel kitchen. We enjoy planting various herbs, flowering plants and fruit trees at the foot of our hotel down by the steep ridge.

We hope that when you do come to visit us again, you could try our fresh chocolate mint variety.

Once again, thank you for your patronage and we look forward to your visit soon.

Sincerely yours,
Marissa Potter
C E O
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked an overnight stay here because we were attending a wedding in Tagaytay the next day. The rooms look very different from the ones in the photos. The TV is TINY! Maybe around 14"? There's no cable too (at that time) Aside from the beautiful views from their balcony, there's nothing really special about this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters R, General Manager at Potter's Ridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We thank our guest for taking the time to review us and give us their insights. However, we would like to know the room category they stayed in at our hotel. We have a detailed description of our rooms in our online travel agency's portal. For example, our Junior suites and Deluxe rooms have 32 inch LCD flat screen television sets, the Superior rooms have 22 inch LED TV's and our standard rooms still have the old flat screen box type TV's . All of the rooms are equipped with DVD players and our guests may choose any movie they want from our collection of over 400 movies. It is described in all of our OTA's (online travel agencies) that we do not have cable TV in the rooms but we do have cable TV in the restaurant.

We have already refurbished 15 of our rooms since late last year with new mahogany furnishings, four poster beds in certain rooms, new comfort plus bed matresses and new television sets. We hope to refurbish more rooms before the end of this year.

We wish our guest all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We got a deal from online store since the offer was very attractive. 2K+++ for an overnight stay with breakfast and massage for 2.

However, when we get there, we had to upgrade to another room so we can see taal view. Weekend additional pay + room upgrade? We could have stayed to a much better hotel. Location was not good.

Massage - they only have one therapist sow e ahve no choice but to wait for the availability.

Rooms are quite old. Not safe window lock. Can be opened easily.

CRs are not good. Smells like an old place.

telephone is not working.

Food is just an ordinary.

Thanks anyways for the giveaway.

Room Tip: Do not get a room with Taal view. I feel that windows lock are not safe. Also, no privacy since anyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potters R, General Manager at Potter's Ridge Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
We thank our guest for taking the time to review us.

We do thank him for bringing to our attention the broken window lock and the old smell in the CR's, including the telephone that did not work in his room. rest assured that we have addressed those problems and may we add that we do regular maintenance work as our maintenance personnel is on site everyday. As for the massage, we only have one on-call masseuse but we could arrange to have another masseuse to come and massage two people simultaneously but we will need at least an hour and a half notice to get another on-call masseuse to come. As for the room the guest took, we believe that he has availed of our promotional discount with one of our online travel agents, but, we were wondering if he ever read the room category descriptions that we publish there. As for the "location not being good", we believe that it is relative. We are situated along the picturesque Tagayatay ridge overlooking the Taal lake and volcano and the green canyons of Batangas. We are away from the busy area of Tagaytay, hence, our hotel is in a very quiet and peaceful area.

We take all of our guests comments seriously as they give us valuable insights into our services. We hope to keep on improving so that each guest stay is comfortable and memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Potter's Ridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potter's Ridge Hotel

Address: Km 67 Aguinaldo Highway | after Mendez Market and before Splendido Golf Club, Tagatay City, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Potter's Ridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Potter's Ridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Potter's Ridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.