We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms and view, avoid the restaurant and eat at the mall beside it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Ridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Summit Ridge Hotel to your Saves list
Summit Ridge Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km. 58 Maharlika West | General Aguinaldo Highway, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Tagaytay
Makati
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Great rooms and view, avoid the restaurant and eat at the mall beside it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

I brought the family over for a weekend stay. We had a 2 bedroom suite and the kids enjoyed it. The rooms were comfortable with a large LCD TV in the living room. There was a stove, microwave oven and complete kitchen utensils. The beds were soft but firm and the rooms were clean. However the 1 bathroom got quite loaded. It would have been nice to have a separate entrance for the shower and the toilet. Also in typical Gokongwei (the owner) there was only one roll of toilet paper and rationed toilet supplies so we ran out.
The restaurant is run by C2 that's why the breakfast was a surprise. There was cold continental cuisine (cereal, variety of breads, pastries, jams) but the warm food was only Filipino. I was surprised to find adobo (stewed marinated pork and chicken) for breakfast. the faux ham with pineapple was depressing. Egg station was good. Waiters still have to learn a bit since they only gave fork and spoons, but no knives. Also slow serving coffee and water. I would give the restaurant a miss and eat at Starbuck's next door and go to Pepper Steak for dinner. Even Gilligan's is better. Also the pool is not heated so with Tagaytay's 23C weather brrrr.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    81
    54
    13
    4
See reviews for
76
41
1
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

We did an overnighter to take advantage of a near 50% discount in their 2-bedroom suite. Very nice accommodations! Comfortable environment, good facilities (yes, wifi was present, but we didn't test it as we left our gadgets at home), and fabulous view of Taal lake, from a nice and high vantage point. Each room had its own airconditioning controls. The master's bedroom had its own wall-hung LCD TV, just like the living room outside.

Location wise, you're within a stone's throw from well-known Filipino restaurant Josephine's across the street. Just beside the hotel is its co-located Robinson's outdoor mall. A Starbucks is also a few meters down (useful as you will want to take their coffee there, as you will later learn). A short drive away is Taal Vista Hotel, the Pagcor Casino (if that's you're kind of entertainment form) and McDonald's. In the other direction is the Cliffhouse/Firelake complex and other fastfood favorites like Yellow Cab, Pancake House, Tokyo Tokyo, and so on.

With regard to their service, one cannot complain. The staff were very courteous and helpful.

The hotel's restaurant is C2, which is run by the Cravings group. It's supposed to be a well rated restaurant. While a noontime room service order was sizeable, so was the price. And this, we found to be the rule of thumb, as breakfast at the restaurant was a hefty P600 per pax, despite the fact that its meager buffet offerings would be easily overshadowed by the much better offerings of Josephine's restaurant just across the street, at just half the price. Coffee, which any self-respecting coffeeshop in this day and age should be able to prepare well, was poor. Not a good way to start the day.

One last matter is that this hotel does not seem like it will maintain its nice looks for long. Already, one can see the poor workmanship in the putting together of the tiles, the choice of materials for the panels, the fixtures in the pool area, and other tell-tale signs of poor choice of materials and signs of neglect. This, from a relatively new place.

Sleeping in the room nearest the street is a problem as ambient sound (whether it's the whirring traffic below or the rocking nightlife nearby) made it very difficult. Again, the choice of materials and design economy shows.

So my recommendation is that you get to try out this place for a very decent Tagaytay stay. You don't have to eat there as there are many options nearby. But go to Summit Ridge now, because the way it was made and the way it's being maintained, it may not last beyond a decade. I hope I'm wrong, though, because it's a very good potential of a hotel, one that's well poised to take on the ever-heating competition in Tagaytay.

On the other hand, the guys in Robinson's can't sit on their laurels too long. SM is soon the force to reckon with in that area!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

My family and I were scheduled to attend a party in Tagaytay on one Sunday morning in July 2010. While we live an hour-drive away from Tagaytay, we decided to go for a quick weekend getaway and stay overnight in the Saturday preceeding the scheduled event. It was a spur of the moment decision driven by a desire to give hubby a time for R&R as he was so tired from work, working long hours and full of business trips. We have, in the past, stayed in various Tagaytay hotels but this time we wanted to try something new but without hurting our pockets. A colleague of mine, who frequents Tagaytay, recommended Summit Ridge and I was glad to have taken her advise.

Making reservation was easy despite the fact that I called late Friday afternoon. I just provided my name and contact number. I was surprised they didnt require me to make a downpayment or provide credit card details to secure my reservation. I guess this is because it is a lean season as rainy days are here. Checking in was hassle free as well. There were no long queues and all the staff were very warm, helpful and efficient.

I particularly like to location of Summit Ridge. It is conveniently located in the center of Tagaytay. When you step out of the hotel, you would find yourself at the Summit Ridge Promenade where you can find numerous food establishments, a supermarket and a small arcade. It is near places of interest such as strips of restaurants, casino and the site for horse back riding.

We availed of the no-frills package special offer prevailing at the time. The no-frills package is an overnight stay in a twin classic room without breakfast for a bargain price of only Php3250 net. The published rate for this room is Php6000+ but includes buffet breakfast. Non-inclusion of breakfast is not a big deal for us as we are scheduled to attend a feast. While we had breakfast (a la carte) at the hotel restaurant, other breakfast options would be the coffe shops (ie Starbucks, Coffee Beanery, Sanctuario) at the Summit Ridge Promenade.

Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The room is equipped with flat screen tv offering a wide selection of cable tv programs. There is wifi in the room (which we were not able to take advantage as we have intentionally left our laptops at home). Coffee/tea facilities, refrigerator and safety deposit box are likewise available.

Overall, we had a great experience and my toddlers have been requesting that we go back. Maybe next time we can try out the hotel pool and gym facilities.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We'll be attending a wedding event this afternoon so we decided to check in yesterday
so as not to stress the kids travelling all the way from Manila,

We didn't sleep well because the hotel is so close to the main road that we can hear all the noise.

No precaution signs on wet floors and poor lighting going to our room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

One very good thing about this hotel is its good location. It has a nice view of the Taal volcano. When you wake up and look through its glass window, you will see the magnificent view of the volcano. A very relaxing view. The rooms is well-appointed and spacious. It has a ref, LCD TV, balcony and WIFI - you can surf anytime you want-unlimited. At the balcony, you will also enjoy peoply watching, the cool breeze of air and watching different types of vehicles passing by. The hotel is also located beside a mall-promenade - it has restaurants, cafes, arcade, atms and supermarket for your needs.

It was our third time to stay at the hotel since it opened and we are enjoying it more and more everytime we stay there. Since its soft opening, we see lots of improvements on their services and amenities. They also have great buffet breakfast too.

The staff is also very accomodating. Our reservation was made by just communicating thru emails to their marketing communication officer who readily accomodated our request as we are still out of the country when we made our booking. And, we had no problem checking in at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

The 32sqm King Classic room looked bigger than its actual size. The room is suitably equipped with 32-inch LCD TV with cable including a channel guide, in-room coffee and tea facilities, a safety box, a spacious shower, telephone, personal fridge, and split-type AC! Best of all, which is really a come-on for folks like me who want to be connected online or do some work on the side, Summit Ridge hotel has in-room Wi-Fi Internet access! And connection is gooooood. *nods*

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yap
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

The hotel rooms are fairly new, clean and well mainteined. Our room has a decent size flat TV mounted on the wall , cable ready. every room has wifi signal and its fairly fast. Staff of the hotel are very friendly and hospitable. Right next to the hotel is Robinson's place. It is near the nightlife are where you can dine and have fun with your family or friends.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Summit Ridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Ridge Hotel

Address: Km. 58 Maharlika West | General Aguinaldo Highway, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Summit Ridge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Ridge Hotel gives you the best view of Taal Volcano and lets you experience the coldest spot in Tagaytay City. Comfort, luxury, and convenience are with its several shopping, dining, and recreational facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Summit Ridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Ridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.