We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth It!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Summit Ridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Summit Ridge Hotel to your Saves list
Summit Ridge Hotel
Km. 58 Maharlika West | General Aguinaldo Highway, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Tagaytay
singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

My brother highly recommended this hotel so we went here. Checkin Sunday just for one night. Here's the pros and cons:

PROS:
1. Location is great. Hotel is front of Josephine and Gerry's Restaurant.
Hotel is beside a mini Robinsons mall that has a supermarket, starbucks and got mini bazaar and got lots of restaurants.
2. Spa is good.
3. Big spacious room with all amenities in and got free wifi.
4. Got it on lean season so its very affordable.
5. Tried the room service and the food is good.
6. Staff is helpful when my kid broke her lip and help us get an ice wrap in hand towel.
7. Saw that there was a wedding at the ballroom. Huge ballroom which I thought its a debut...hehehe coz they got dessert station....well I'm not a dessert person that's why.

CONS:
1. Spa is just a concessionaire so the spa inside the room we can pay through our credit card but the massages inside the spa itself we need to pay cash. This is a hassle for us coz we seldom bring cash coz we are tourists. Good thing we have enough cash coz we ask for a discount.
We ended up my mom having a massage inside the room with my kid.
Me and hubby in the spa coz I think they close at 10pm. We took the body scrub and massage for 2 hrs. Good choice. =)

Room Tip: room view facing the Taal Volcano and get high floor coz they have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    78
    50
    11
    4
See reviews for
72
40
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Well I could say Summit Ridge has always been our favorite hotel whenever we're having vacation in Tagaytay. The family room is really superb, you can cook your own dishes coz it got kitchen and complete utensils and cooking materials. The rooms got comfortable sheets..The Toilet got complete Toiletries and well lighted. The pool is my only concern cold freezing pool, i wish there's a heater or atleast got jacuzzi. The hotel very accessible to grocery so you can have a choice if u wanna cook or just buy liquor outside. The staff are really accomodating. All in all good hotel for family and friends :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed at their family room that includes 2 bedrooms, living room, kitchen and 1 huge bathroom. The family room was large enough to fit 5-8 persons. There's just something wrong with the hotel's room keycard everytime we stay here. The keycard wasn't recognized by the sensor so we have to go down at the hotel lobby to complain. This didn't happen once, it happened thrice in different stays! They have to fix this issue because going down (phone call was not available because I was locked outside my room) to complain is very inconvenient. Breakfast was so-so. I wasn't that impressed with the food quality especially with their food selection. Everything was just limited. It took 30mins to refill a certain dish in the buffet. There's something about Summit Ridge that's lacking. It lacks class and luxury since it was trying hard to be classified as first class hotel catering to the mid to upscale market.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel is pretty new but you can tell that the materials used in the hotel are not 5-star quality. Location is nice though and the Filipino food from C2 is excellent. Guards were nice too. But that's about it. Everything else is bad. Front desk service is poor (a front desk employee named "Angel" was a little rude and hardly smiled. Even her tone of voice towards us made it seem like she wasn't interested). Rooms could have been a lot better too with better interior decor/furnitures. Cleanliness is somewhat an issue also in the rooms. Their spa is in poor condition as well. The elevators also felt cheap. If you're looking for a place to sleep this will do. But if you're looking for great customer service or to be pampered this place surely ain't it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed here overnight and we were happy with the hotel. Although, it seems a bit run down and could use some refurbishing. The room was a good size and it had a balcony which overlooked Taal Volacano. The hotel itself is conveniently located and beside Starbucks, Robinson's Grocery and a few other restaurants. It's also very near other places to visit in Tagaytay. The bathroom is comfortable and even had some free give-aways from some shops as part of their Mother's Day promo. The bed was comfortable although the aircon kept turning off and had to be turned on again by the remote.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Room is so-so (coffee cups are dirty!). Service is meh. Food is forgettable (flies all over C2 resto). For the price, very disappointing. Will never go back. The only good thing about it is location and has a good view of the lake.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Got two adjoining rooms for a party of six adults. Great location and perfect view of Taal lake and the volcano. The rooms were large enough for 3-4 adults. It was right smack in the most accessible places you could go to - 5 minutes drive to Our Lady of Lourdes Church, Starbucks and gazillion eateries within 3-5 minutes, Skyranch and a Casino a stone throws away...and here are all the BUTs....

1. food was horrible and the service at the C2 restaurant is bad...really really bad. The waiters were in shambles and were walking like zombies left and right. My mom was asking them to clean the table and they just looked way past her several times...until I literally threw a fit! Never mind the fact that they even didn't care that it was Good Friday and that many Catholics were observing a day of abstinence, so they served an all meat (except for one fish viand) buffet breakfast. But the service was horrible. There was no more food and not even a cup for coffee. They need to fire the F&B manager of this joint.

2. No hot water for bathing between 9-10AM. It was peak hours, according to the engineer and that everyone was taking a bath. Gosh!!!

3. When my nephew was asking for an extra blanket (because all he got was a linen for the extra bed), they told us that they charge an extra P100 for the blanket. For the extra P1000 per night for the extra bed, the least they could do was provide a blanket! Did they expect us to bring our own?!?!?

4. The rooms not only looked outdated but there was no sense in the arrangements of the furnitures. It's like they threw in some old furnitures and just let the occupant figure it out!

5. We were already on the 8th floor (the hotel has 9 floors) and the view was excellent. The least they could do was to sound proof the windows! You could hear every little noise on the street.

6. Because all the rooms faced the lake, they ought to have placed darker curtains. But nope, the curtains were so bright that you knew it was dawn because the sunlight would peek through and you'd have to hide under your bedsheets to shut off the light.

7. I already paid for the extra beds. When we checked in, I had to notify their front desk and housekeeping TWICE in a span of 2 hours before anyone came up to put up the extra beds.

I've had several opportunities to speak in conferences held at this hotel. I was quite impressed with the location and of course was not expecting much because it is supposed to be a 3-4 star business hotel. But what I saw and experienced was way below par of any business hotel in the area.

With many better hotels in the area (unfortunately I had no choice because this was a last minute booking for the long holy week), I would not even recommend this on anyone's list.

The other reviewers who rated this hotel poor or terrible are to be trusted in their reviews.

I talked to the Hotel Manager and he was apologetic and sent some fruits and a cake to the room. But that wasn't the point. Even the cake and fruits would not make up for the poor experience we had.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Summit Ridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Ridge Hotel

Address: Km. 58 Maharlika West | General Aguinaldo Highway, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Ridge Hotel gives you the best view of Taal Volcano and lets you experience the coldest spot in Tagaytay City. Comfort, luxury, and convenience are with its several shopping, dining, and recreational facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Summit Ridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Summit Ridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.