We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dominique

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Dominique to your Saves list
Hotel Dominique
Km. 55 Aguinaldo Hi-way | Brgy. Maitim II East, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Tagaytay
Makati
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never Again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

My husband and I were surprised that we couldn't check into our Superior Room earlier, at 12:00 pm, on a Thursday, since the place was practically deserted. Our room was miniscule. To get hot water, the shower had to be kept running for 10-15 minutes. After 5 minutes, the shower area was already flooded because the drainage wasn't working properly. The shampoo and soap dispenser was almost empty. The bathroom window was stuck, therefore, no exhaust. They charge for verything extra: soap, towel, etc. "Free" breakfast consisted of assorted (3 pieces) bread, butter, marmalade, a banana, coffe or hot choco. They call it "Continental Breakfast".

We were impressed by how the place looked as the compound looked like a townhouse. However, we were turned off once we stepped into our room. We are not going back.

Room Tip: It might be a better idea to get one of the casitas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDTagaytay, General Manager at Hotel Dominique, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Dear “Oyoy”,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Please accept our apologies for some expectations that were not met during your stay. We’ll surely consider your feedback as we continuously improve our facilities and services.
We do hope we can regain your confidence and looking forward to serving you again in one of our Casitas.

Warm Regards!


General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    44
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
39
27
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Ok, i'll try to be completely truthful here.
So my mom & i decided to go for a drive sometime last year (can't remember exctly when), we decided to spend the night in tagaytay. I checked tripadvisor for hotel recommendations and i saw hotel dominique's good reviews. Dunno if we just set our expectations too high, but we were really disappointed. I mean, judging from the reviews here, i expected much more. Since everything was just really spontaneous and we're just staying for a night, we booked the standard room. Believe me when i say that it's the smallest hotel room i've seen in my whole life. Ok, so maybe it's not really much of an issue to some since it's in tagaytay and yeah, it's a standard room. BUT, what added to my disappointment was the malfunctioning water heater and the bed bugs. I didn't get to sleep that night due to the itch from their sheets.
On the positive, yes, the ambiance was nice but not spectacularly nice. Food was just ok.
So if you plan to stay here, maybe you'd have a better experience if u stay in one of the bigger rooms or cabanas.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Good food, great service, superb architecture, wonderful ambiance!

Room Tip: Snuggle up with your loved ones on a cold day! Bring a jacket.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We checked in last Friday (Sept.30) for one night in this place. The facade looks small but once you get in, you'll be surprised that this is such a big place. They have a pool but the water is so cold, I suggest to install some heater in their pool considering the location of the hotel is in Tagaytay and the weather is cold.

The standard room is good. A queen size bed with a mini Sala. They have personal refrigirator and a small tv. The bathroom is normal, with hot and cold and shower... Although, they can improve their shower since it is only small and only small amount water is going out in the hose.

For the food, they offer the so called free american breakfast. It consists of a basket of breads (1 pc muffin, 2 slices of pesto bread, 2 sliced of banana bread), a choice of juice (Mango flavor taste like Tang Mango juice) or a plate of seasonal fruits (5 small slices of watermelon) and a choice of coffee, tea or hot choco (i love their hot choco!). I was expecting that the free breakfast is buffet so i am somewhat disappointed and I ordered extra food... Corned beef with garlic rice, champorado and scrambled eggs and it cost Php 245 :) For the corned beef, it is not that yummy... I still prefer the corned beef of jollibee :) but it a quite a big serving... For the champorado, it's good... they used cocoa I think or real chocolate powder... It's not the typical ready to mix champorado, so I love it! For the scrambled eggs, it's normal nothing special.

Overall, the place is a great place to stay in Tagaytay and a perfect place to escape and relax :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarlac, Philippines
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I really feel at home and i want to live there for a long time after I got the experience of staying . The place was so great!. Love the warm welcome of the hotel Staff.Overall I would classify my stay at Hotel Dominique as very pleasant, quiet and comfortable. Definitely going back when we plan again at tagaytay :)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

Last Sunday, me and my friends went to Hotel Dominique to be away in a city that is full of nosie to relax and recharge our body and minds. This place is so beautiful and ideal place to rest and enjoy vacations, Facilities are good. The staffs are so friendly and approachable, I really Enjoyed my stay in your Hotel :) Thank you so much.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

The facade of the hotel looks so small from the outside but when my boyfriend and I went inside the facilities, we were surprised. It was huge, there were house-type rooms that can accommodate families. Since we were just a couple checking in, we got the deluxe type room. For the price and for the location, it was perfect for us. The swimming pool looked so cold but we actually tried swimming at night, it wasn't freezing!! The staff were always smiling and courteous. The food was cheap. Overall, the experience was a true delight. We will definitely go back again. Thanks for the great holiday. :-)

Room Tip: No need for an a/c at night. The weather was cold. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dominique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dominique

Address: Km. 55 Aguinaldo Hi-way | Brgy. Maitim II East, Tagaytay, Luzon 4120, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dominique offers comfortable rooms, first-rate facilities, and affordable hotel rates in Tagaytay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dominique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dominique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.