We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful garden and fresh salad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonya's Garden B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tagaytay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sonya's Garden B&B
Save
You added Sonya's Garden B&B to your Saves list
Barangay Buck Estate | Alfonso, Cavite, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 83 Tagaytay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, CO
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“beautiful garden and fresh salad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We arrived here at night to a twinkling, garden-lit place. The staff was only too happy to get all our bags. We had a cottage and it was huge-3 queen size beds in the main area and 1 master bedroom, 2 huge bathrooms. The showers had stones for the 'floor' with slippers and wonderful soaps and shampoos made from the garden. We actually met Sonya and she was very enthusiastic. We only stayed one night and wish we could've stayed another. The dalandan juice and tarragon tea were good. The salads were excellent. The chocolate cake was very rich. The only problem we had were ants in the bathrooms.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    54
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
50
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We visited Sonya's upon the recommendation of friends who told us it was a lovely and romantic place for a getaway. Sadly, this is not the case. Sonya's feels commercialized and the romance disappears when you realize that the B&B is open to day guests as well as those staying overnight. Our 'romantic' suite was overwhelmed with noise because the suite below was having some sort of party and there were kids screaming and playing and a group of ladies gossiping outside our bedroom window.

The food is the same every day. The same cold and sometimes reheated portions of pasta and bread. The salad was the only highlight.

The garden itself is gorgeous, but the decor of the place would appeal to a very small group of people...mainly grandmothers. Flowery motifs, lace, creaky old furniture and doilies abound. It gets quite cold in Tagaytay and the supposedly hot shower was not hot at all. We spent one night there and left the very next day for a more habitable place to stay.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This place is very special. Like others have mentioned, the gardens, the fragrance of the flowers, Sonya herself is very welcoming! We had a lovely room and without aircon was no problem due to the fan and the cool temperatures. There is nice nature to be explored at the Taal volcano and some of the water sports on the lake. The rest of the time we spent relaxing, reading and enjoying lovely tarragon tea.

People come from all around to go to the main restaurant which is quite busy but as an overnight guest you have a different more quiet open-air restaurant near to the guest rooms. The meals are delicious and they make everything on-site. We brought home a lot of fresh tomatoes, salad dressing, and herbs for planting.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

The food. The room. The gardens. The spa. The fragrance. The birds. And Sonya herself. This place is amazing. We have finally discovered a place lies than two hours from manila where the sounds and smells of pure nature just surround you. We will go again. Our room, Rosemary, was perched on the edge of the forest.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

My wife and I travelled back to PH to visit friends and family. On our last full day, which was a Sunday, she really wanted to come to Sonya's Garden and Spa to experience it after hearing good things from her friends. I, on the the other hand, wasn't so excited about a garden and spa. Nor was I happy about not being able to find the place (you keep going on the Tagaytay-Nagsugbu highway until you see the sign for Sonya's) or the very bad traffic on the other side of the road (took us 2hours to get back to Binan, Laguna).
But when we got there, it was so peaceful and relaxing. We wanted to eat at the restaurent but they had 2 seperate weddings happening at the same time so understandably, they were busy. They took down our cell number and would call when a table was ready. The place was full of plants and beautiful flowers which helped pass the time. When our table was ready, we were escorted to a villa at the bottom of the road, away from the busy part reception/spa area. Food was delicious - had Salad for starters, pasta for main course. Both had all the ingredients, all fresh and grown locally, served seperately so we could make what we wanted to eat. This was finished off with dessert and green tea. This was probably the healthiest I have eaten in the Phlippines!
Once we had finished lunch, we had a massage booked (prob not a good thing after a delicious meal). Cost about 1500peso for an hour for the two of us. Really relaxing massage finished off with some more green tea. We also had a shower before and after.
I really enjoyed the visit and would definately go back.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

My friends just wanted a break from the stress, hectic life and pollution of city living. Sonya's Garden was a perfect choice. It was only a short 1 1/2 drive from the city and the surroundings was peaceful, quiet and rustic. We were a party of 6 and we booked the house with the 3 bedrooms. It was a vey spacious airy house, nicely decoratead and furnishead with large bathrooms, a large dining area and a sala where we could sit and just chat. We all arranged for a massage in the spa which was very relaxing. We also had the lunch buffet and the breakfast which came with the price that we booked. The food was delicious and healthy... We especially loved the breakfast. The staff were also helpful and friendly but at the same time respected the need of guests for privacy. The owner who was around is also very gracious and nice to chat with. If you are looking for a place for relaxation not far from the city, this is a good place. The place however may not be ideal for kids

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We went there last October 8-9, 2011 for vacation. We had 1 1/2 hour trip going there from Sta. Rosa, Laguna. The place was quite far, but easy to find. The signage were complete and you will not get lost going to there place.

When we entered the place, the parking area was not cemented, but no worries for us because we brought a medium-sized SUV.

When we went down of our car, we were guided by one of their staff going to the reception area, while on our way to check-in, they had lots of flowers and plants,(that is why they were called Sonya's Garden) and you will expect lots of falling leaves, but I was wrong. I was impressed of their maintenance team, who keeps their surroundings clean, no cluttered leaves.

When we reached the reception area, it was just a simple room, with one small table and a computer. They're doing a manual check-in, but still a smooth check-in process. She explained to me everything,the dinner and breakfast time. She also asked if we want a massage , because we can already book through them. So because its our first we tried it and booked for tonight session.

When we reached our room, it was really a big room, too big for the 2 of us. No air-con, just a ceiling fan, but no problem because luckily it's already a cold season for Tagaytay for that month. The bed was big, 2 queen sized bed, dresser with mirror, one sofa at the corner, windows are not made of typical glass, but was made of capiz, that you need to push or pull if you want to close or open it. The unique part was the bathroom. I love the bathroom, on the other corner was the toilet bowl with small table on the side with tissue holder, and at the other side was the shower, hot and cold, but the flooring was not made of tiles, but made of pebbles.

When it comes to food, it was really great even we had only salad,pasta during dinner(part of our package) we still got fulled, While eating, we were serenaded by an old staff,singing old songs.romantic! <3

When we had our massage, we requested for a couple room, the massage is very relaxing, I even fell asleep. Their staff was all nice , they even lend to us their umbrellas because it was raining when we got finished, and our room was at the other side of the garden.

During breakfast, we had fried rice and I think 3 different foods, it is also unlimited. I also love their hot chocolate.

It was really a perfect, romantic, vacation. Even just for overnight, we really had a great time. All of their staff were nice, and easy to approach with.

Hope to visit their place again..

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonya's Garden B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonya's Garden B&B

Address: Barangay Buck Estate | Alfonso, Cavite, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Tagaytay
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Sonya`s Garden Hotel Tagaytay
Sonya`s Garden Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonya's Garden B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.