We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greeky!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Estancia Resort

Save Saved
You added Estancia Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Estancia Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Zone 2, Bgy. San Jose Tagaytay City,, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 20 hotels in Tagaytay
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Greeky!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I've decided to make this review easy to grasp, so here it goes...
ROOM and DATE OCCUPIED: De Luxe, April 27-28 2013
RATE: Php3,800++ inclusive of tax via Agoda (published rates at Php5,100)
STAFF: Very accomodating
PRO's: Nice view, average room comfortability (get Santorini if u want R and R), nice pool, nice Sauna, Nice food (breakfast and room service), wonderful lobby, with its amenities (2 pools, sauna, jacuzzi, game room) its like a resort of its own.
CON's: jacuzzi is too small, availability of sauna, jacuzzi and game room is very limited during weekends (jacuzzi and sauna needs to be reserved 2 hours before use, provided schedule is not full), access to de luxe rooms from lobby entails a lot of stairs, access to executive and santorini rooms needs golf carts.

Room Tip: Compare their website published room rates against agoda/booking.com first so you can get good rates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    41
    34
    16
    9
See reviews for
19
20
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My friend and I decided to see the sights of Tagaytay but did not book a hotel room in advance. After looking at another hotel that was awful, we happened upon the Estancia. It's built on a hillside with lots and lots of steps. It's a bit of a hassle getting to and from the rooms, but the great view of the lake makes it worth it. Our room was a 'casita', a free-standing bamboo type bungalow with a big balcony and a very hot shower.(nice to have in the cool weather here) The rack rate seemed high to me but they quickly discounted the room 20%. We also looked at the 'executive suite' room which was beautiful but a bit dear at 6500 pesos.
The staff were quite friendly and helpful. Overall a very nice place to stay in Tagaytay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Estancia resort was recommended to me by a friend. So when my friends coming from Davao, Mindanao visited Manila for vacation, I came with them to go to the city of Tagaytay. Most of the time, I bring friends to Tagayay city to show them the great view of the "Taal Lake & Volcano". I have so many trips to Tagaytay, but most of them are "day trip" only. Since my friends planned an overnight stay in Tagaytay city that time, we decided to stay at Estancia Resort. This is my first time to stay an overnight in Tagaytay city proper, & also to Estancia Resort. Going to the hotel entrance was a bit scary due to very steep & sharp curve portion going down to the parking area, (but it doesn't matter as long as you're a pro driver). The hotel lobby / reception was simple, nice & clean. The hotel staff were very friendly, guiding us on our room which is located little far away from the lobby. You have to walk downhill passing by the pool area & the playground, maybe 5-10mins. away, yet it depends on you. While moving towards to our room, there is a free transport / service for the inconvenience, using their "Golf Cart" which is very much appreciated, but we rather choose to walk co'z it's a good exercise. The room / beds are very clean as well as the bathroom. At the terrace, you can have a nice view of the "Taal Lake & Volcano". The swimming pool & steam/sauna was also nice & clean, in which in this area, designed a small bridge to crossover the pool area, with a good combination of landscaping. The restaurant was pleasant, great food & good service, definitely perfect breakfast while viewing the "Taal Lake & Volcano". Absolutely it's a good choice for "Estancia Resort", with a very cool, so relaxing & nice location. We really enjoyed our overnight stay here in "Estancia Resort". Truly a nice place to stay in Tagaytay city & surely want to comeback. Likewise, I will highly recommend this hotel / resort.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was to urgently drive a friend to a Rotary event in Tagaytay and thought I could have the trip more enjoyable by bringing along my mom and son. Estancia was booked online at another site and it was well within my budget. I booked a casitas that came with free breakfast.

Parking was located at the lower ground, farther from the main entrance which only served as drop off point. The ground level lobby didnt serve much purpose other than access to the lower ground level where the actual checking in took place.

It took us awhile to get ourselves checked in but staff were generally friendly and quick to respond. There are several room choices (havent seen others to compare) but our casitas served us well. The casitas were separate accommodations in huts. Each casitas had a good spaced bathroom, a cozy sleeping area with two double sized beds, a coffee table, an old tv with cable, room phones, cabinets, refrigerator and its own terrace that had the view of Taal.

The room was generally clean but had mosquitoes (this is expected at a room surrounded by trees) so I asked a hotel staff to address it or transfer us to another room. They sprayed on an odorless mosquito/insect spray while we were out to the mosquito thing was addressed right away. Aircon was cool and the bathroom was spacious and very clean.

Food at breakfast were okay and could be better. Room service was quick and food was also okay.

The hotel had a swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi, billiard hall and playground. There were other swimming pools elsewhere. I saw them but wasnt really inclined to use any except the big pool which was clean--my son enjoyed the swimming pool.

Forget the jacuzzi, it reeked of soapy smell and itchy--had to get out of it right away. I didnt use the sauna but saw people coming in and out. The playground was small but appear to be not regularly cleaned.

Overall, the stay was pleasant and served our purpose. Not all amenities are satisfactory. Fairly a good choice for our budget.

PROS-well sized casitas, clean bathrooms, strong shower water (hot and normal), quick and friendly staff, private parking, good location (easy to find)

CONS-mosquitoes in the room (this was quickly addressed), dirty jacuzzi, so-so food

Room Tip: The Casitas (hut) is cozy and comfortable with very clean bathroom. Good choice for a budget friendl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Despite of so many other resorts in Tagaytay nearer to its usual center of activities, I opted to book at Estancia Resort Hotel mainly because this is, i believe, the only resort in the area which has cottages nestled amidst trees and afford a good view of Taal lake and volcano. We wanted something more close to nature, for a change.

The lobby/reception area was spacious with floor to ceiling glass windows providing natural light. It is adjacent to the restaurant that overlooks the entire hotel property, the ridge and beyond. Check-in was done promptly and efficiently by the friendly staff at the Reception. We were escorted to one of the Casitas, our room for the night, which was about 5 mins walk downhill from the main building or parking. Walking to the rooms is no sweat, but walking back uphill may be too tiring for some.

Our room was s sizable single detached airconditioned bamboo cottage with a veranda and a view of the ridge and part of the lake. View of the volcano was obstructed by trees, but, it didnt matter to us. It has two double beds (like all the other Casitas), a mini ref with soda and juice and assorted chips which are all for sale. Even the bottled water. Nothing is complimentary.

The bathroom is big enough. Clean. But the toilet's trip lever was a bit loose so flushing requires extra care. Im sure this is an isolated case. Towels provided to us were clean and smells fresh.

The room rate of P3000 came with set breakfast for two, chosen from a selection of Filipino or continental fare. We went for room service at an additional cost of P100 per person. With Tagaytay's cool and fresh air, rustling of leaves, warmth of the morning sun and a wonderful view of the hills and lake, we savored our breakfast at the veranda.

Estancia Resort Hotel is ideal for families. It has a swimming pool and playground for kids. It also has meetings rooms for functions, workshops and conferences. For me and hubby, we enjoyed our stay in the Casitas. It was one of the most relaxing and refreshing out-of-town weekend we ever had in a long time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Was a bit wary of staying in this hotel due to the mixed reviews on trip advisor. However, since we went to Tagaytay without a booking, we eventually took a chance and did not regret it. I think it depends on the room you stay in. They initially showed us the family suite and executive suite, but we were afraid it would be hard to get to the family suite once it gets dark. We ended up in 2 deluxe rooms in and near the main building.

- reception and restaurant area had a nice, greek theme.
- rooms were big, though the bathroom was small (the bathroom in the room in the main building was much bigger and looked newer). Amenities were basic - soap, shampoo, toothbrush. No free bottled water nor hair dryer. Towels looked well-worn. Water heater was spotty. Wi-fi has to be paid separately.
- beds were ok and we were able to sleep well even without opening the aircon since it was already cold.
- service was good, staff were enthusiastic for the most part. The plastic for wet clothes I asked for was immediately taken to our room.
- The resort has a pool, playground for small kids, billiards / table tennis / function room that looked new. Pool area had a guy who was always cleaning, though jacuzzi and sauna were not functioning 100% (not hot, just warm).
- The big breakfast had big servings though some items were a bit bland. Blueberry pancakes was good. Just had a problem with one of our orders which took a long time to be served. Snacks at the poolside also took some time to be served.
- Great view from the lawn, pool area, and viewing deck.

I liked that the rooms were set below street level and at the back so that you really feel you're in Tagaytay and breathing fresh air. We would stay there again if only because there's more to do in this resort than at other places.

Room Tip: rooms in the main building are good as it would not mean a long walk to the front desk / restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at Santorini. It's a bit far from the main building and there's a very slight uphill walk so it's a bit tiring to go back and forth to the restaurant/pool. BUT the view is amazing! since the location is on the higher part of the resort, the view is really amazing! and you can feel more the Tagaytay breeze. it has a very small balcony but it's okay because when you wake up early in the morning, you'll see the very beautiful view and feel the oh-so-chilly Tagaytay breeze.

Also, their food was great! i loved their breakfast especially. i loved the blueberry pancakes, the grilled cheese french toast, and the mexican omelette!!!! their dinner was also good and the servings were huge!

HOWEVER, the swimming pool is not very well maintained. but the worst part is their poor maintenance of their products. i ordered milk chocolate during breakfast - and they are serving a tetra pack chocolate milk that are bought from supermarkets. the milk chocolate served to me was spoiled!!! yuck! i even had my dad taste it to be sure, and it was really spoiled! yuck! they ended up using the "hot chocolate" from their machine and added ice to it, which is so much different! that was NOT milk chocolate. and because they added ice to the "hot chocolate" to make it a "cold milk chocolate", it didn't have any taste! it was like water with a little bit of chocolate. what's more, my mom's officemate who was in another room saw an expired Coke inside the refrigerator of his room! he was about to drink the Coke but saw the expiration date. yuck! next time, they should check the expiration dates of their products. yuck!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Estancia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia Resort

Address: Zone 2, Bgy. San Jose Tagaytay City,, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 20 hotels in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Estancia Resort 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Estancia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estancia Hotel Tagaytay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estancia Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.