We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome View of Taal, but old rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Tagaytay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Residence Inn Tagaytay to your Saves list
Residence Inn Tagaytay
Km. 65 Barrio Neogan, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Tagaytay
Imus, Cavite, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Awesome View of Taal, but old rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

It happened that we have noisy neighbors at that time, so we decided to go some place to sleep for the night, somewhere quiet. So we decided to drive to tagaytay and look for a hotel. Unfortunately since its kinda late when we arrived there, round 8pm. Almost all our choice of hotel is fully book. We ended up at Residence Inn. I love how it is so quiet and away from the noisy bar at night in tagaytay. View in the morning is amazing, since our room is beside the mountain. We saw the sunrise and has a feel of cold morning breeze. Only con is, rooms are pretty run down and old. Air condition is also noisy. And the room smells as if it has not been slept and used for ages. I hope they do renovations and replacing of furniture soon. Since they have a great place, hope they could improve on their accommodation better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Note that this review is not considering the Hotel itself but the Restaurant only. THis Restaurant by all means should be avoided by any family with kids. One of the waiters, all of whom are rather unpleasant, hit our 14 months year old son with a plate and did not even as much as saying sorry. Stay away if you have kids, besides that, the food is bad and overpriced. The open Kitchen looked dirty and actually after the incident i did not eat the food we ordered, paid for it and left. Never again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Well, room is big enough for a family because there is a small family room where you can put extra mattress but it looked and smelled a century old. Hadn't i booked in advance we won't stay here. The zoo is small and will not take an hour to explore. we went there October 31 and they prepared a magic show for the halloween, too bad we were not able to see it. Location is great as it is overlooking the Taal volcano but we later found out that we are the only guests that night which makes it more horrible. What's worse is i booked two rooms and my kids are staying in separate room. I cant imagine staying in a hotel within a zoo with just one guard around and no other staff to help us in any way. Toilet is very small and the window inside is broken. At least there's a fridge and tv. Hope the owners can renovate it and add more personnel at night.
Value for money: its not worth it. Room rate is 3600php good for 2pax only. i had to add 360php more for the extra person with or without the extra mattress.
I must add though that the staff who welcomed us are very accommodating and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms are spacious but very old. If you can manage it, then its worth a try. All rooms had nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We wanted to bring our daughter to the zoo and when deciding whether to go to Manila Zoo or the Residence Inn Zoo in Tagaytay, we chose the latter due to all the negative reviews of Manila Zoo.  It's a very small collection; you can actually be done in less than half an hour and there are no remarkable animals around (I guess except for the collection of tarantulas..but that might be just me).  There are several shops strewn around the small place selling toys and souvenir items, and there's a small restaurant which we didnt try. There's also a zip line, which was actually the busiest area in the place. Entrance fee was 199php on a weekday; I'm not sure if the rate is the same on weekends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque, Philippines
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

My bf and I stayed at the Residence Inn Tagaytay for our pre-Valentine's Celeb. Got the accommodation from an online deal and it includes an overnight stay at the view-deck room, zipline/cable car for 2, and free entrance to the zoo. First of all, with regards to the location, it is just alongside the highway (so easy to find).
Check-in: 12 noon; check-out: 11am.

Going to the rooms, you have to go down the steep stairs (which we had a hard time doing so at night). You really have to be careful so big luggage/stroller is a no no although there is a staff readily available to carry your stuff. Our room is just in front of the zipline area and with a stunning view of the mountains. The room is indeed big but quite old. It has a large bed (comfortable but not that clean), air-conditioning unit (old, quite noisy, but working well), sofa (that is really old), sitting area/dining area for 2, TV with HD satellite/cable, bathroom with hot and cold shower (with a tissue paper, shampoo that is already open, and a small soap + 2 towels), refrigerator (working but with rust all over, and spiderwebs at the back). There were ants everywhere inside the bathroom. You can't walk barefooted inside the room because of the ants as well (and upon entering the room during the night, there was a black butterfly flying all over the room which we had difficulty getting rid of).

Anyway, this place is great if you'll just be staying for a night or so or to just retire from a whole day of adventure in Tagaytay.

They have an on-site restaurant but we weren't able to taste any of their food (quite expensive). The Wi-Fi (free) is available only in this area. The positive thing about this place is their Zoo. There were a lot of animals (and indeed, they were very much tamed). You won't hear any noise from 'em even during the night. The magic show + creepy crawlies show was fun (Sundays only)! There were a lot of souvenir shops and photo opps with the animals. They allowed us to ride a zipline one-way and cable car for the return. The view was great, quite scary because it was too high but awesome.!

We really had fun. The place was well-maintained; the room though needs some maintenance, but the size is more than enough. The view- I'm speechless. It was great. The activities- you won't get bored (also, there is a horseback riding just in front of the property- separate fee). Finally, the staff; they were okay- accommodating and not rude at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

we went to the residence inn for my daughter to see animals.. we arrived around 10 am. i was with my mom, husband, brother and daughter. my mom wants to avail the senior discount.. apparently they don't honor that instead gave her a discount because it was mother's day.. so if it was mother's day i should have a discount too, right'' but i didn't bother to argue since we only have limited time. the place was dirty or because it rained the night before.. they also have a zipline, which i thought was inclusive of the entrance fee but if u want to ride, u have to pay extra.. even the horse back riding in front of the place, they charge extra...

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011 via mobile

Not recommended... For guest traveler BIG NO NO!!! too bad :(

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Tagaytay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tagaytay

Address: Km. 65 Barrio Neogan, Tagaytay, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Cavite Province > Tagaytay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Tagaytay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Tagaytay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tagaytay Hotel Tagaytay
Tagaytay Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Tagaytay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.