We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could use some updating, but nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amazing Bagan Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amazing Bagan Resort to your Saves list
Amazing Bagan Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nyaung Oo Township, Mandalay Division, Bagan, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York, NY
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Could use some updating, but nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The rooms could use a little updating, but overall a comfortable hotel in a lush setting. The pool is a nice place to relax, and feels like you are in a garden. We got massages at the hotel also, which was very nice. You cannot walk anywhere from the hotel as the road out of the hotel entryway is VERY long so you will need taxis or a driver. Great hotel to stay at when you are in Bagan!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    215
    46
    12
    6
See reviews for
62
230
49
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Firstly I should start by saying was very sick 3 of my 4 nights here so my memories of Amazing Bagan may be a little jaded as a result. That said, if I was going to be sick anywhere I am glad it was here and not the smaller Guest Houses I stayed.

Pros:
- With the exception of some of the front desk staff (when they are on the front desk),everyone is very sweet and extremely efficient. Any time I had a query someone was dispatched to my room immediately.
- The food I had - not a lot - was fine (although the piped Christmas Carols soon became old!)
- The pool is really lovely and has plenty of shade in nice gardens. It's a major selling point.
- The room (main building) was spacious, had nice furnishings, TV and a good bathroom
- The location is quiet and peaceful
- It's visually appealing resort
- Free Business Centre with email that (mostly) was a decent speed
- Free WIFI, although it was a bit intermittent

Cons:
- When I arrived I was greeted by a front desk person who walked me in but didn't say a word and looked a bit surly. Eventually, the first thing he said was "I need your passport", quite abruptly. That person seemed to disappear after 2 days and the others were better, but overall they appeared a bit rigid; helpful but not personable.Simply put it felt like a bit impersonal and as such, I felt less as though I was in Myanmar than at any other time.
- The dinner menu is limited and not terribly appealing (too western). This is a challenge if you are solo was you don't really want to fork out for taxis to other places.
- People say how great the bikes were. To be honest, I'd rather pay 1000KYAT (like in Inle Lake) for a bike that is the right height and has pumped up tyres, than have something "free" that is unsuitable. The staff member kept trying to give me a bike that was the right height but had soft tyres, as they nearly all did. He had no intention of pumping it up; it was as if I should be grateful it's free.
- It's hard to explain why, but the place doesn't have a buzz to it. There is something missing but I am not sure what. Maybe it stems from the front desk and having someone that appears to be a Manager around. I think if I'd been travelling in a group I'd have noticed less
- Biking would be a little easier if the road was paved properly

Despite these issues there are not huge and as I say, I was sick and this meant I couldn't fully appreciate the pool, one of the selling points. I did however appreciate the sanctuary it provided and how responsive people were.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is a lovely place to stay if you want to get away and relax after temple-hopping. Garden landscaping is spectacular. We stayed in the bungalow suite which was big enough for 3 people and had breakfast included. The rooms are clean and they even had a Thanakha log and stone for you to use! The only thing was that the towels were a bit old.

The breakfast spread is good enough though it's the same everyday (except for one or two things being different). Ate dinner at the restaurant too on one night and it was good enough. Nyaung-U is only 10 minutes walk from the hotel if you want a bigger spread of food.

The thing I liked is that they have free bicycles for guests to use. The downside is that it is a bit far out from Old Bagan if you want to go temple hopping (20 minute bike ride before you hit Ananda Payo). Nevertheless that didn't stop me and a lot of guests from using it and going out for a day trip.

The golf course should be missed. It is rundown and if you do go, bring your own golf balls as they charge K1,500 for used ones!

Room Tip: Suite Bungalow is spacious and great for 3 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Amazing Bagan Resort is a great oasis to relax after long day of walking around the temples and Pagodas. The rooms are spacious and very clean and very nicely lacquer decorated. Flowers and fresh fruits in the room upon arrival was a very nice touch.

Staff are very friendly. I was bit confused when a staff showed up at the door with an emergency flashlight and candies in the evening -- service lost in translation! At first, I thought someone was trying to sell me something.

Free Breakfast buffet was very adequate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

A peaceful location at the end of a long private road, near the golf club. Our room was a bungalow in the grounds, near the pool, and was spacious and comfortable.

Breakfast was poor, compared with the quality of the rest of the hotel. We did not use the dining room, but it was a rather depressing space.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We loved Amazing Bagan Resort! It was so refreshing to dive into the pool after a hot day biking around the temples. The kids especially loved that! The staff are super friendly and helpful. The rooms are huge, very clean, and nicely decorated. Great value for money. We stayed in the regular superior rooms. The individual bungalows would be a good choice too as they are right next to the pool. We chose the superior rooms as we needed two rooms, so this was the cheaper option rather than two bungalows. In hindsight, we could have all fitted in one room (2 adults and 2 kids), but by the time we pay for an extra foldaway it is not much difference than getting two rooms which is fare more comfortable. Getting to/from the hotel is easy. It's a 10 minute bicycle ride along a treed road to Nyaung U. We paid no extra for taxis ordered by the hotel, compared to getting one on the street in Nyaung U. Initially, we used the complimentary, rickety bicycles at the hotel but once in Nyaung U, we realised there were better ones on to rent to visit the Bagan temples. This is recommended as the bikes that the hotel have are really bad. Uncomfortable seats and bad brakes. We had one of our kids on the back of the bikes. The bikes in Nyaung U have a padded passenger seat over the rear wheel where as the ones at Amazing Bagan just have a metal rung. Both of our kids (9 & 7) could have ridden around Bagan but trying to find a kid's size bike was next to impossible. We only managed to find one. We told the hotel they should invest in better bikes to which the staff agreed but this seems to fall on deaf ears higher up in Managment/Hotel Owner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was the highlight of our trip to Myanmar. We stayed in 1 of the bungalows set in the gardens away from the main building. Our bungalow was spacious, clean, very quiet with a comfortable bed. The staff were all so genuinely friendly. The breakfast was delicious. After lunch each day our guide would return us here so we could have a swim and a rest before we continued our sight seeing into sunset. Bikes were freely available but we walked each evening to the nearby large selection of cafes, restaurants and shops. Would love to return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amazing Bagan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amazing Bagan Resort

Address: Nyaung Oo Township, Mandalay Division, Bagan, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bagan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bagan
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amazing Bagan Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amazing Bagan Resort is located adjacent to the Bagan Nyaung Oo Golf Club. 10 minutes away from Old Bagan and most of the sightseeing points. Only 5 minutes from the Bagan Nyaung Oo Airport.The Amazing Bagan Resort promises each guest with unsurpassed ambiance and personalized service altered to the individual's needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Amazing Bagan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amazing Bagan Hotel Bagan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amazing Bagan Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.