We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for the view” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Popa Mountain Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Popa Mountain Resort to your Saves list
Popa Mountain Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mt. Popa, Kyaukpadaung Township, Bagan, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Bagan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Only for the view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

If it wasn't for its location nothing great with this hotel : Below average rooms (our door didn't even close proerly), a management that does nothing to help when something is wrong (wanted to charge again an extra bed for the kids that had been paid for at the agency, didn't make any effort to check and finaly refused to bring it), overal not a good souvenir. To be avoided.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    85
    21
    9
    5
See reviews for
17
95
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Germany
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

The glance at first: Location and view are stunning and spectacular. Somewhere deep in the woods halfway to Mount Popa’s peak you’re overlooking beautiful scenery, ca. 800 meters above sea level the huge valley and of course the famous golden Taungkalat, as the resort is isolated located slightly above that golden miracle. But: Standard rooms, strung side by side, are scruffy and run down, ‘view’ straight into thick bushes growing into the balcony. After effective bargaining we’d decided to rent the Deluxe Taungkalat view. Taking into account that this category is normally not a snap. These great Bungalows are made of dark tropical woods, have an extensive deck and a nice, large room itself. Huge canopy bed covered accuratly with flowers, broad windows on two sides, old fashioned semi open bathroom and open air bath. However, outside ‘spa’ is just an overgrown box without any fittings, indoor shower is old and run down. Room appears clean at first, but tops of the closets and in room walls are covered with bird’s dirt. First, you wish to swap the unnecessary Bravia Flat for a renovated bathroom or better maintenance at all, later the view from your bed and balcony compensate all, when golden lights above golden land meets Taungkalat. The small, refreshing cold Pool is just great: Fantastic quiet in the mornings and afternoons, unfortunately many coach parties visit the Restaurant during the day and all of them take dozens of photos from and at pool, so relaxing is impossible for Resorts Guests there. Simple Breakfast is more palatable with recommended hot chili-garlic sauce, beyond that bring some food, drinks as nothing is around. Ca. 20 Minutes downhill walk (and double opposite direction) through the spider jungle is a little village where stairs to Taungkalats monastery starts. Uphil some hiking tracks, GPS recommended. Resort itself can be reached within 1-2 hours from Bagan by car. At all, one more great, but expensive experience in Myanmar. More privacy and cleanness, maintenanceand it would be a fantastic place in a fantastic environment.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

the resort has amazing views of the mount popa, right in front, the rooms are clean, with air con and the staff is extremelly helpful, me and my wife got a full body oil massage which was grand, well recommended place, it rained a lot so we could not do the trekking, but there are many walks you can take, they have a map, the staff also helped us check our flights out of bagan with the airline and informed us of some changes, there is internet but is very slow, but who needs it, the place is quiet and very peaceful, which is what i was looking for, we had lunch on the deck at our villa, with a great view of the mount popa.

Room Tip: pick the villas at the front of the mountain, they have amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
183 hotel reviews
Reviews in 151 cities Reviews in 151 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Third place to stay in our journey through Myanmar, and we came in by car from Mandalay, hoping to see on our way some of the local life, in fact the trip was quite boring, so our advice : take the plane to Bagan.

The Mount Popa temple is ok to visit, but will not give you much different insights than when visiting other temples, but it's the location (on a rock) that makes it worthwile, and of course the monkeys (although they might also easily spoil your trip)

We decided to stay 1 night in the Popa mountain resort as we wanted to do some trekking in Mt Popa NP.

We arrived just before lunch and indeed this hotel is really focussed on day visitors, busses bring in loads of tourists 'for lunch with a view', once they're all gone, we had the place for ourselves, no one else around anymore.. Downside of course is that in the evening you get less attention from the staff .. (food at dinner was also only average, lunch far better)

There are 2 rooms per bungalow, the room was ok but the bathroom certainly could use some freshing up, but the view is indeed unbeatable ! It's always nice sitting on the terrace looking at the sun going down in such a setting ..

Main reason why we don't give this place a better rating is that they completely messed up our hike to Mt Popa, our aim was to do some birding in the NP with a ranger, this as agreed with our travel agent and should be organized by the resort.

Our hike at the end became a stroll through the gardens with a non english speaking staff member of the resort.. Big disappointment overall, we ended our 'walk' quickly and went back to the reception to complain towards management, which in fact didn't exist, there was no management present, only a young guy, not speaking enough english to understand what was going on and when wanting to use the internet (to complain towards our travel agent) he just charged us 2 U$.. So nothing else done from their side, no excuses, they just didn't care !!!!

So, our recommendation : stick with lunch in this place and move on to Bagan.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
339 helpful votes 339 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Although we did not stay overnight at this hotel and were just a 'day visitor' like many people, it seemed so brilliant that I wanted to write a review. For me. this is one of the very best mountain view hotels that I have ever seen, and one where you are up a mountain looking down on the valley/lowlands, rather than in a valley/lowlands looking up at a mountain which for me is definitely not a 'real' mountain view hotel. When we return to Myanmar this is an absolute must stay hotel that we will use. It is a bit too far from Bagan, well, more the roads are too bad to make a daily trip into Bagan bearable, so one will mainly just have to enjoy the local scenery - or if you like walks there are plenty of opportunities for hill trekking. From that point of view a stay here could be a bit limiting. However, if you like mountain views a stay here would more than compensate.
The road to the Resort from Mount Popa Temple is fairly steep and winding but pleasantly wooded and takes around 20 minutes to drive. Passing through the small Resort Reception, the best plan is to go down some steps and through the nice garden to the restaurant and viewing area. I had a look at the restaurant menu which didn't look very exciting (see photo) but then what a view to have with one's meal! The viewing area beyond the restaurant is very nicely laid out and has a number of seats so one can take ones time and just relax and take in the absolutely splendid views.
We didn't go inside any of the bedrooms but saw some from the outside and the ones with views of the Mount Popa Temple and lowlands looked like they would be great. Other rooms have mountain views which would no doubt be pleasant enough but not so special.
We are already planning our 3 or 4 day stay at the Mount Popa Mountain Resort next year!

Room Tip: The bedrooms with a view over the Mount Popa Temple are definitely more expensive but I would have t...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Mt Popa shouldn't be considered an add-on to a Bagan trip but a destination of it's own. The volcanic edifice of Mt Popa provides a unique ecosystem and climate to escape the dusty heat of the Bagan valley below. Not only is the flora, fauna and geography unique, it has a rich cultural experience to offer as well.

Admittedly, my wife and I were hesitant about the monkeys on Popa as we'd heard they are obnoxious. A tip...just leave them alone and take photos and they won't bother you. If they are nursing a baby, stay away...! We had no problems with the monkeys and actually enjoyed their presence at the monastery.

While you can visit Popa in one day, I would recommend staying a night or two at the Popa Mountain Resort with it's incredible views and cooler climate. The only reason I don't give it a full 5 stars (because it has that potential!) is because the menu is a bit lacking, though this is common in Myanmar.

The Resort is clean, quiet and a wonderful place to escape the heat and dusty tourism-laden Bagan areas. Bring a book or two, a camera and some hiking shoes! My wife and I have made this one of our top destinations in the world...so don't miss out on it if you can fit in a couple of days of peace and serenity.

Stunning!

Room Tip: Don't book through an online sight...if you have a day in Yangon, make arrangements with a loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire Scotland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We visited this hotel on the 15th of February, the food and the service very good, with great views of Mount Popa. Would have liked to stay a few nights at this hotel and done some trekking.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Popa Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Popa Mountain Resort

Address: Mt. Popa, Kyaukpadaung Township, Bagan, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Bagan
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Popa Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Despegar.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Popa Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Popa Mountain Hotel Bagan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Popa Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.