We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pool and air con” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Thante Hotel Nyaung Oo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Thante Hotel Nyaung Oo to your Saves list
Thante Hotel Nyaung Oo
Nghat Pyit Taung Pagoda Road | Myoma Qtr 3, Nyaung Oo, Bagan, Myanmar   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Bagan
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice pool and air con”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Pretty nice hotel for the area, the rooms were clean although they are old. The pool is great after a hot day exploring temples. It's relatively close to restaurants and it is a short trip to get out to the temples.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    91
    29
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
51
24
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Rooms are spacious with good beds. Every room has its own veranda, a very pleasant place to have a beer and read a book. Breakfast is ok, but the restaurant is a bit dark and too large, it looks more like a reception hall. One day breakfast was served at the beer station of the hotel, which has a lot more atmosphere and you can sit outsite: they should always serve breakfast there. The mini bar was not replenished, and the laundry was only returned after paying for it. In general a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I stayed here for three night nights & I didn't have water pressure or hot water for the duration of my stay (room# 8-031 & 8-032); Generally the rooms are comfortable with nice beds, A/C & TV but they are in need of some up-keep. The swimming pool was a blessing after a hot day out exploring the temples & the shady gardens were beautiful. The breakfasts needed some attention, too, as the fruit seemed a little off & the noodles & fried ham was greasy. The overall staff performance was excellent, though. All smiles & helpful. The hotel's location close to the central market & local restaurants was good, but if you wanted to go to "restaurant row" it was a 45 minute walk each way, as there are no horse carts available after dark. Tip: arrange hosre man early to avoid disappointment later!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. The bungalow was very spacious. Pool was clean - and well worth the extra money after a hot day cycling to temples.

Breakfast was OK - some days a buffet, other days made to order.

About 10 minute walk to the many eateries on "restaurant row".

We hired bikes from across the road from the hotel - and they were as good as any others.

I am happy we decided to stay in Nyaung U (over Old or New Bagan) as the restaurants were much cheaper and it was a really nice atmosphere. We found draught beers for 600kyat at the Holiday Inn on the main drag.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We loved our stay here - the bungalows are very comfortable, nicely furnished and a decent size. The grounds are very attractive, with a nice pool which was very welcome in the heat! I saw them cleaning it pretty regularly so felt comfortable swimming there. Good aircon and only very short power interruptions during our stay. We enjoyed sitting out on the porch in the evening.

We had a drink and some food in the adjacent beer garden one night (this belongs to the hotel). Very cheap and quite authentic - there were locals there too. Breakfast was good - fried eggs and tropical fruit.

Best of all were the staff, who absolutely could not do enough for us and were extremely helpful and friendly. One young man in particular spoke extremely good English and I enjoyed chatting to him. Honestly, you wouldn't get better service at a 4 or 5 star place in Europe, they really were a credit to the place. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed here for two nights while doing a bike tour of Bagan. The bungalows are older but serviceable, with a small bathtub shower with good water pressure, decent beds, and a tv with mostly Burmese channels. The pool is a bit murky, but the water is clean, and the grounds are attractive. I had no issues with the staff, who were polite and attentive. The breakfast served is very weak, and this needs to be improved.

For 30 bucks a night, it represents fair value in Nyaung U.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

rooms are arranged in blocks of 4 around a large swimmingpool.
Rooms are large/clean with minibar tv and aircon.
breakfast ok, but no buffet
hotel beer garden has beer 650Kt draught
pool nice and cooling but a bit murky

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thante Hotel Nyaung Oo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thante Hotel Nyaung Oo

Address: Nghat Pyit Taung Pagoda Road | Myoma Qtr 3, Nyaung Oo, Bagan, Myanmar
Phone Number:
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the town center,close to all amenities. Within 15 minutes drive range to the airport, 10 minutes drive to the bus(current)terminal and the jetty.Also 10 minutes walking range to the market and the walk-about area. The hotel offer The Restaurant with Asian(Chinese and Burmese) specialized menu, and few European menus. Separate BEER GARDEN- MYANMAR BEER in the same compound with localize food for beer goers.(Different from the hotel kitchen)THE bakery is open to public,homemade ice creams,cakes and pastries on daily basis.Freshness guarantee. Breakfast is serve with the freshly baked items(especially prepared for hotel guests) from the bakery.The local staff are hired to help them practice their skill since this is their step up career industry of this town. The hotel trying to help the locals to improve their skills by accommodating any guests of hospitality profession.Exchange program allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Thante Hotel Nyaung Oo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thante Hotel Bagan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thante Hotel Nyaung Oo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.