We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thande Hotel Bagan

Save Saved
You added Thande Hotel Bagan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Thande Hotel Bagan
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Bagan, Bagan, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 hotels in Bagan
Jubail
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A pleasant place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Attentive staff and a great location if you want to eat at the hotel. It is a great spot for walking to old Bagan but a few minutes from other restaurants. The grounds are superb, and the river looks beautiful. I definitely would stay again. The rooms were spartan but clean, and the ac worked well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    234
    69
    9
    4
See reviews for
50
217
56
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The bungalow rooms were spread out and it felt more like a resort vs hotel to me. The view along the river was beautiful, especially at dusk and they had restaurant/bar services outside by the river and inside as well, weather permitting. The room was nice and spacious, the bathroom was quite large with a shower and bathtub. There was a porch outside your room, though make sure you have repellent on! The pool area was very nice to look at and large for Asia and a highlight for me. The wifi is only in the lobby, pool area and outside bar/restaurant area. Unfortunately it did not work well or at all, very often. I was trying to book some travel arrangements and found it to be quite frustrating, in case this is important to you. You need to get transportation if you would like to eat somewhere else. I would recommend trying other places for dinner to see other parts of the town, their breakfast had a lot to offer, but I thought their food otherwise was very average. Just arrange the transportation to pick you up from town after dinner as well. I would recommend staying here, very cool atmosphere with the river views and temples so close by and even being able to see from the pool!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Our small group was very happy with this hotel. The location is excellent, both in terms of being near all the sights in Old Bagan and also in terms of its prime spot on the river. It is nicely landscaped with huge old trees, a well-kept lawn by the river, and lots of greenery. Rooms are reasonable, although the management could do more to ensure this place doesn't start to look tired; the pool in particular, while fine, is showing its age slightly. They were constructing a new block by the entrance when we arrived; my advice would be for them to update the facilities they already have. However, for the price we paid (via Agoda) this is an excellent option. Rent some bicycles and you will be fine for dining options; a quick five minute ride takes you to a place with more local options, and also a number of upscale restaurants; in 10 minutes you can reach more options on the road to New Bagan, and in 30 you can be in New Bagan itself (although perhaps not ideal for dinner if you don't have lights!). Bike rental is best done outside the hotel, where they are better and cheaper.

Room Tip: The garden view rooms were fine for us, but for a small premium you could have the river view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I pretty much concur with the high ratings given by other recent reviewers, so will just add a few remarks. Location is fantastic, especially for cycling but also for walking to ruins. The downside is that you are a little stuck for dining options in the evening unless you want to take a taxi or walk about 15 minutes, but the hotel food is pretty good (just expensive). Breakfast is excellent, especially when they lay it out by the river, since the indoor dining hall is not that pleasant. Be sure to try the mohinga soup (traditional Burmese breakfast) at least once. Only local wine is sold by the glass, but it is surprisingly palatable - worth a try! Staff are very helpful (borderline obsequious in some cases), nice to have teamaking facilities in each room. Overall, highly recommended, and the Internet was the best I found in Myanmar (okay, that is not saying much).

Room Tip: Ask for a cottage away from the entry road, if possible. The ones facing garden areas or the pool ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated inside Old Bagan. You can easily visit ruins by foot. To get out of Old bagan, the use of horses is enough to visit ruins outside the old city. Bike is well to go "far".

The swimming pool is very good and you can see the top of one ruin. Looks perfect after the dinner with the lights.

Breakfast is good. For the dinner, there are new restaurants at the gate of the Old city.

Room Tip: I got an upgrated bungalow. So, I have no idea about the comfort of the "normal" ones (loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were there in Aug of 2013, haven't made any reservation, many friends have recommended Bagan Thande, so we just headed there after we jumped off the night train from Mandalay. And 5 days / 5 nights stay proved that we made the right decision.

It is at very good location, in walking or cycling distance to the restaurants districts out of the Old Town Gate, the hotel offers bicycle renting, and it serves fantastic food which is more expensive than the restaurants outside the grand gate, however you can always see a nice puppy show around 8pm.

Personally, I like more the garden view and river view rooms which have big space and better sound proof. The economic rooms are also nice and tidy, just a few steps from the garden.

A good one.

Room Tip: You still need to bring your mosquito repellent when you are sitting in the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in an economy room as part of a tour organised through Tour Mandaly. The sign above the hotel's restaurant advises that the building was constructed in 1942 and it appears that not much has been done on the place since then.

The Good:
- The gardens are very nice and well kept.
- The river front view is great, and very nice to sit out in front of the bar and watch the sun-set with a nice cold drink.
- The pool area large and has plenty lounges and towels available.
- The rooms are a good size and each has its own private front porch with chairs and table to sit and relax.
- Air con works well.
- Good sized safe in the room (easily could fit a tablet).
- Nice big and comfortable bed.

The Average:
- The staff were pleasant but didn't seem very well trained
- The bars near the pool and river closed fairly early, so no after dinner drink options
- While the hotel is in a great spot near the river, there is nothing else around within walking distance for alternative food or drink options, so you're pretty much stuck there if you don't have a car or if it's bucketing down with rain.
- The lobby, restaurant and room look like something out of the 1970's, very shabby and run-down.

The Ugly:
- Bugs! Not bed bugs, but general bugs. The door to the room had a gap large enough to fit a dinner plate through it, so at night the bugs were attracted to the light from the room. I killed at least a dozen on my bed in one night.
- The bar fridge in the room was very loud and emitted a high whining noise whenever it switched on. I had to turn it down to the lowest setting at night to get to sleep.
- No tissues in the room (minor detail, but a pet peeve of mine).
- Wifi is appalling. I was told wifi was not available in the room when I checked in (fair enough), but even at the bars and restaurant there was no stable connection, and when there was connection it was so slow that it was practically unusable.
- The shower is over the bath and there is no shower curtain around the bath, resulting in water going everywhere.
- The food is bland, over priced and seems to be cooked from recipes in a 1970's cook-book. Had room service one night and ate at the restaurant on the second - same menu. I could only eat half of the green curry - not because it tasted bad, but it was full of inedible ingredients (raw/under-cooked, stringy lemon grass, chunks of raw galangal and something that looked and tasted like bark). Breakfast was not much better.
- Only the main restaurant was open at night, which is (I guess) formal dinning, so no casual or outdoor options. There is also a floor show which is just weird. The girl singing was very nice, then there was a puppet show with a recorded commentary and music that was very loud. Not sure if anything else followed, I left as soon as I'd finished what I could of my meal.
- When checking out, the guy at the counter wrote down my credit card details on a piece of paper. I noticed 2 other card numbers written down on the same piece of paper, so appeared to be common practice, but not secure. He then passed my card to girl who put it through the electronic payment (it took 2 staff to do this actually), so no need to write down the card details that I could see.

I generally am not so critical of the hotels that I stay in, but in this case I was reasonably disappointed and felt that my money would have been better spent elsewhere.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Thande Hotel Bagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thande Hotel Bagan

Address: Old Bagan, Bagan, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Bagan
#6 Spa Hotel in Bagan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thande Hotel Bagan 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have airport transportation service upon request and have internet access as well and free wifi at lobby area though we charge if the guest uses our hotel computer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Thande Hotel Bagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagan Thande Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thande Hotel Bagan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.