We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to like here” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kumudara Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kumudara Hotel to your Saves list
Kumudara Hotel
Corner Of 5th Street & Dawna Street, Pyu Saw Htee Qtr., Bagan, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Bagan
California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lots to like here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

Very pleasant stay. The hotel has nice views, but is also remote from 'town' which fortunately didn't matter as the restaurant is quite good; this is a pleasant place to stay. The 'junior suites' are really just regular sized rooms, but for this part of the world, the Kumudara is an excellent choice - I doubt you could do better at twice the price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    131
    68
    20
    6
See reviews for
22
144
49
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, USA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

This was one of our favorite little hotels in Myanmar. It's cheap -- so cheap that we wondered beforehand whether the pictures were too good to be true. But they were right on the money; the Junior Suites are darling rooms that are stylish and comfortable. The setting of this hotel is what makes it spectacular. It sits on the edge of the archeological zone. We woke up one morning to see the balloons rising over the temples. We swam in their nice pool staring at the temples and watching goats pass by. Surreal. What makes this hotel, however, is the staff. Just wonderful. It's also a great place to get your laundry done cheap -- we paid $4 US for an entire suitcase full. The on-site restaurant is nothing special but will do in a pinch. Ask for a crepe pancake for breakfast if you are sick of eggs.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

Stay at the lovely, beautiful, resonably priced resort when you visit the beautiful temples and sites at Bagan. We used the pony cart #45 Cosan was our driver. It was wonderful.
The resort had excellent food and the service was outstanding.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

I stayed in a junior suite, which was a good idea for someone traveling alone or with a companion. Junior suites are newly upgraded / new, and have excellent views over the temples - better than the downstairs suite with a king bed and a separate but basic room. The junior suite has two comfortabe single beds, a small two seater lounge, and a desk area. The ensuite is comfortable and attractive, even if it had a consistent slight leak from the shower/bath and the toilet blocked o the fifth day.

There is a pool and a restaurant.

Mien (not sure of the spelling) is an excellent reception manager who is good at solving problems and assisting. He has a delightful quiet 'can do' manner. The rest of the staff are friendly and helpful too.

The location is a little out of the way. New Bagan would possibly be better. However, give that I travelled for five days with my fabulous horse cart driver, Mr Coco (horse cart driver number 88 who I could not recommend more highly for friendliness, attentiveness, helpfulness and good humour), the location didn't matter that much.

The 30 minutes of free internet is a frustration. Internet rarely works in Myanmar, when it is open, and is very slow. (I was there a few weeks before the election on 7 Nov 2010 so I'm not sure if it's always like that but I gather that it's always slow.)

A disappointment for me was that I had money in my pocket to tip Mien for great service when, at the last second, with a taxi waiting and a plane to catch early in the morning, he informed m that I had to pay for two broken glasses in my room. While this policy is explained in literature in the room, I explained that the glassware was faulty as both glasss cracked merely by pouring ordinary refigerated water in to them. I could see that if I didn't pay, the owner would take the money out of his salary so, of course, I paid. I regret that I didn't have time to talk with the owner and / or dig back in my wallet to tip Mien. He deserved the tip and the owner didn't deserve the money for faulty glasses.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

We were treated very well and enjoyed our stay very much. We could not have asked for anything more. The accommendations were perfect, the food great, and the staff so helpful. When you go to Bagan, use the horse cart "KoSan--45" to tour the ruins. We had a wonderful time. Joe and Sharon Graham

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

The Kumudara hotel is based in new bagan, it's a good 30 minutes drive from the bus station or airport.

It is situated on the plan and commands magnificent views of many temples, the view from my room was stunning at dusk! The rooms are clean and resonable large, TV has HBO and other cable channels. The hotel rents bikes for the temples, please note this is not an easy ride, although Bagan is fairly flat, the bikes are old, the weather is generally 30c+ very humid and road conditions are quite bad.

Breakfast is basic but OK, no internet access in rooms and only 30 minutes within the business centre.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

Easily the best value place we stayed at in Burma. We had a massive 2 room apartment with sublime views over the temples for 45usd, excellent! The room had been recently and tastefully renovated and was a refuge after a days temple viewing from the excellent Mr Tun Tuns horse cart (number212), I strongly recommend this man to you. The manager and staff were charming and helpful with all our needs and they are working hard to constantly improve the place, but it does in no way become obtrusive. The food was not the best, but perfectly OK and the comp brekkie was fine. we would definately return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kumudara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumudara Hotel

Address: Corner Of 5th Street & Dawna Street, Pyu Saw Htee Qtr., Bagan, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kumudara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kumudara Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.