We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than ver good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bagan Umbra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bagan Umbra Hotel to your Saves list
Bagan Umbra Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wet-Kyi-In, Nyaung U township | near Shwe Zee Gone Pagoda, Bagan, Myanmar (Formerly Golden Express Hotel (Bagan-Nyaung U))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Bagan
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Better than ver good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Fantastic place to stay. Situated conveniently at the outskirts of the town and close to everything. Extremely friendly staff who are helpful with everything and bending backwards to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Although the hotel is currently undergoing an expansion and renovation (low season) I found it peaceful and serene. Lovely pool. Rooms are clean with aircon and pretty good amenities. Fantastic eating place nearby (Queen). highly recommended. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    82
    39
    11
    7
See reviews for
11
58
29
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My first impression of the Bagan Umbra was disappointment. The rooms are pretty run down for the price (they are doing a huge renovation but it's not finished yet) and I had to switch rooms as the first one had a faulty A/C unit. I did have pretty decent wifi in my room, and I had heard that wifi was pretty dodgy in Bagan, so I was super happy about that.
The best thing about this hotel is by far the staff. They are immensely helpful and cordial. I arrived at the hotel at 5am and while there wasn't a room ready, they did give a towel and orange juice and let me sleep in the reception until a room was ready several hours later (still an early check in). They have a tourist counter and they can help you book tours, bus tickets, or provide info on local attractions and restaurants.
The Bagan Umbra hotel is situated between Nyaung-U and Old Bagan so it's convenient to access most of the more popular ruins. DO rent an electric bike (the hotel has rentals but I had problems with 2 of the bikes...there's a bike rental shop 100m to the left of the hotel and on the oposite side of the street and it's a little bit cheaper and the bikes are newer) and then getting around is really easy. It looks like there's not much around the hotel but if you have an electric bike there are tons of restaurant options 5-10 minutes away and there are a few, like the Queen, that are in walking distance.
Oh, and there's a HUGE buffet breakfast. And a pool. Though I personally found it too hot to be outside other than to see the pagodas....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

The staff at this hotel are just so warm and willing to help with anything. A big thank you to them for the care given while I was sick. Much appreciated.

I stayed in a what was called a super standard room for 2 nights and a deluxe for one night. The beds in both rooms were comfortable. The air conditioning worked. The deluxe room was bigger and had better sound proofing and no plumbing smells. The breakfast was really great, plenty of delicious foods to choose from and good coffee.

The super standard room had a problem with a strong drainage smell emanating from the drain in the bathroom which was not present in the deluxe. The shower in the super standard room dribbled hot water and the cold water did not function so the water scalded. The owner of this hotel needs to do some serious repairs ...... the ceilings in the super standard room was breaking apart. The deluxe room, only a few dollars more was in much better condition. I

The location of this hotel is very close to the major attractions in this area which compensates somewhat for the deficiencies of the buildings. The pool and the staff are really worthwhile, so I would still recommend this hotel but would suggest that you stretch to a deluxe room.

Room Tip: Pay a few dollars more for a deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

this hotel allow early check in during low season, which is a good point as the night bus usually arrived too early in the morning (my bus arrived at bagan at 0230). Hotel's decoration is old fashion, have a feeling of 90s. Room is old but overall clean. staffs are helpful. breakfast is not so fantastic but acceptable.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aracaju, Brazil
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Hotel has a good location, with easy access to the main attractions (by bike) and with good restaurants in the sorroundings. The staff is nice and the breakfast has a good variety. The major problem was the bathroom, that was disgusting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Location is great and they hire bicycles and e-bikes (electric bikes) to you for a nominal fee. The staff here were very helpful in helping me book a flight from Bagan to Yangon, and a taxi to get to the airport as well.
Room itself was basic but had everything we needed - let's be honest you will be spending most of your time exploring the amazing temples surrounding the area.
The included breakfast was pretty straight forward but a good start to the day.

Room Tip: Be sure to specify if you want twin or double beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I strongly recommend anyone visiting Bagan during the hot season to get a hotel with a pool! (if you thought the rest of Myanmar was hot, wait until you arrive here..) The Bagan Umbra is a great place to stay. We got a fairly cheap deal through Agoda, so we were happy anyway. We loved the pool and the breakfast. The staff is very friendly. There's AC, wifi and hot water. The staff will bring you fresh towels whenever you ask for it (or even if you don't ask for it) You can rent bicycles and e-bikes and discover the beautiful Bagan very easily from here. After check out time I could still spend the afternoon here and swim and wait for my 8pm night bus. Great place!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bagan Umbra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagan Umbra Hotel

Address: Wet-Kyi-In, Nyaung U township | near Shwe Zee Gone Pagoda, Bagan, Myanmar (Formerly Golden Express Hotel (Bagan-Nyaung U))
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bagan Umbra Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your Bagan Umbra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bagan Umbra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.