We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Star Beam

Star Beam
Old Bagan, Bagan 84414, Myanmar
+95 9 40250 2614
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 62 restaurants in Bagan
Cuisines: Asian, Burmese, French, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: {One in new Bagan }and {One in Old Bagan}.Home-cooked, clean, traditional Myanmar food and French bistro fare prepared by local classically-Chef. Lunch and Dinner Highlights include:- Fresh-baked French baguettes & sandwiches- Bagan & Rakhine traditional curries- Specialty salads including eggplant, avocado, & tea leaf- Creamy pumpkin soup- Grilled Irrawaddy River fish- Roasted pork loin
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The food was great, very happy yet again with Trip Advisors No.1. I had the Chef's special curry, the best curry I had the whole time in Myanmar, I had to ask for a little extra spice as I found the curries quite mild. The toilet however was gross even for Myanmar standards, dirty and massive cockroaches, i nipped next door to 'The Moon' where they had a nice clean western loo :o).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    204
    93
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
driebergen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bagan's best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Wonderful food. Apart from very good local dishes the international dishes were outstanding also. Excellent bread and do not forget the chocolate dessert.

Very friendly service and a lovely ambience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A new restaurant close to Moon/Be Kind to Animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Had a good meal and nice chat with the proprietor who, with his wife, is working very hard to compete in this tourist town. The location next to Moon makes it hard (everyone knows about Moon). Best food we had in Bagan, I would say. The chef/owner has lots of experience both in hotels and on a cruise ship. About 17,000 kyats for 4 of us (approximately $20 US)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Myanmar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is quite unassuming looking but the food at Star Beam is worthy of an expensive restaurant in Sydney.
After 2 weeks of curry we chose more western style food but more authentic food was also available. We each had 3 courses and every dish was delicious. The chocolate fondant for dessert was a great surprise and cooked to perfection.

The bill at the end was also a great surprise as it was one of the cheapest meals that we had while in Myanmar.

The service is typically Myanmar style, very friendly and relaxed but a little on the slow side so make sure you're not in a hurry.

As another reviewer has said, I can't understand why there isn't a queue at the door!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food for a fair price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

They are amazing friendly at Starbeam ! Super place for lunch ! Try the grilled fresh water fish. Super

Enjoy

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Star Beam also viewed

 
Bagan, Mandalay Region
 

Been to Star Beam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Star Beam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.