We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kaday Aung Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kaday Aung Hotel to your Saves list
Kaday Aung Hotel
Hninn Pann St. Hteeminyin Block | Kyansitta Quarter, Bagan 11181, Myanmar   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Bagan
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here.. As other reviewers have mentioned there is not a lot going on at night around the hotel. I had some issues with overly loud toads from the ponds in front of my room which were dealt with promptly the next day. The room was satisfactory and staff friendly. The architecture of the hotel is quite beautiful. I would stay here again

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    46
    30
    16
    7
See reviews for
12
56
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I very much enjoyed the stay at Kaday Aung. Our room was very spacious, well equipped. The hotel has a swimming pool which I enjoyed after a hot day. Breakfast was very good, large selection of food was available. Staff was very friendly and helpful when needed. There was a small incident we've had, mainly there was no electricity for like 1.5-2 hours at a time when we kind of needed it, but to be fair, it just happens in Myanmar. One thing that could and should be improved is the bathrooms which could use some lifting. Keep in mind that the hotel is in a bit of an isolated location, but other than the hotel restaurant, there are at least 2 more restaurants very close by and a little convenience shop. This was not a problem for us as we've had private transportation. Hotel also has bicycles for rent, if you want to get to town on your own.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The hotel is a ten minute stroll from New Bagan village, which is comfortable for an evening out to experiment with local restaurants.
Bicycles are available for reach temples, which just about start on the doorstep, but the hotel arranged a comfortable car with a very informative driver for me to cover a large area in not too long a time. After 9:45 am aircon is worth it!
Rooms were very comfortable, and staff friendly and helpful.
The gardens are immaculately -kept, and the hotel was a wonderful haven from the temple -hopping and the road dust of early.February.
When I was there, the hotel served food in an open-air restaurant, which was pleasant, but didn't keep every fly away!
I wouldn't normally choose a hotel as high class as this, but I booked through a discounter, and got a good deal, and was very impressed

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I wouldn't recommend New Bagan for staying as there is barely anything going on there compared to Nyang U. But Kaday Aung is quite good for the price. The service is great and breakfast is pretty filling too. Its a great place to cool off after a dusty and hot bicycle ride to old bagan which is only 10 minutes away with a nice pool and shady trees in the garden. Air conditioning works (which is very very essential in bagan during summer) and didn't have any problem with the room or bathroom.

But don't rent bicycles there. We rented bicycles there on the first day for 3000 kyat a day only to find out that the Italian restaurant down the street rents out good quality ones for 1500 kyat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great for quality/price, excellent service. The staff is very welcoming helpful and nice. The rooms are big and clean, although in need of renovation.
The pool is small but great to relax after being templed-off.
The massage is relaxing and good.
Breakfast is also nice.
We spent one night in the basic room as it was the only available and I recommend to stay away from the basic room: small, broken curtains, no furniture, low toilet (a hole in the floor), doors didnt close properly and strange noises from the bamboo walls during the night.
However, the other 3 days we stayed in the superior room; rooms are basic, but big and clean.

Room Tip: Stay away from the basic rooms. Go for the superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for five nights and the Kaday Aung was okay. Our beds were just mattresses on a raised floor and weren't the most comfortable, the room and bathroom were a bit grubby but were clean, the room is very dark and the lighting is not great.
The pool is great and it was good to be able to have a swim after a long day exploring the temples. The outdoor restaurant is in a nice setting and breakfast was ok and the food for lunch and dinner was average.
There are bikes to hire and also horse and cart drivers waiting out the front each morning to take you to the temples. Old Bagan is only about 6 or so kilometres away.
The staff at the hotel are wonderful. Very helpful, friendly and would do anything to assist you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Bagan often is hot, dusty and tiring. You don't mind so much when you are visiting those temples, poking around the lacquer ware workshop, or jostling along on the horse cart. But at the end of the day you want to unwind and cool off. Kaday Aung is soooo nice to come home to. The pool is borderline frigid; it will drop your temperature fast. The rooms are spacious and quiet; if you need a nap to recover, you can do it. And the breakfast is delicious, especially their variety of savory noodle or rice soups with garlic, lemongrass, and onion; have a breakfast like that and you are ready to explore more.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road are quieter. Many buses and tour vans arriving a departing create noise ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kaday Aung Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaday Aung Hotel

Address: Hninn Pann St. Hteeminyin Block | Kyansitta Quarter, Bagan 11181, Myanmar
Location: Myanmar > Mandalay Region > Bagan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Bagan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on an acre of landscaped gardens, Kaday Aung Hotel is ideally located within walking distance of most of the famous temples and attractions of the ancient city Bagan. Kaday Aung Hotel offers superior level, warm hospitality service with convenience and flavor at attractive prices. Our properties are rooted in indigenous cultures and reflect and protect their environments. Indulge your artistic senses in elegantly appointed rooms and suites designed to reflect Myanmar's culturally rich heritage. All rooms, spacious and meticulously furnished with teakwood, fine fabrics and traditional handicrafts, come equipped with modern amenities for your comfort. Kaday Aung Hotel is situated at the Kyansittha Quarter of Bagan which is just 3 minutes walking from the Myingabar village and about 20 minutes drive form Bagan Airport. Opportunities for sightseeing and shopping abound as hotel guests can take in some of Bagan's famous attractions or bring home local handicrafts available at handicraft centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kaday Aung Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaday Aung Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.