We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toraja Heritage Hotel

Save Saved
You added Toraja Heritage Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Toraja Heritage Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 80 Rantepao-Tana, Rantepao, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Rantepao
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“very good food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Oke, several things (like the fitness, oh is this also called a fitness...;-)in the Toraja Heritage were outdated, oldfashioned of out of order. But look at the nice atmosphere thanks to the Toraja houses. Look at the nice parc and view. And most of all: look (and eat) the really excellent food at the buffet (change every day). Next to this: Toraja land has a very special mix of authentic, traditional and modern life. Really worth to visit!

Room Tip: When you want something special and you're willing to pay for it: spend your nights in the Toraj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    51
    32
    7
    0
See reviews for
20
55
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed 3 nights at the hotel. As a first impression is a nice hotel quite and relaxing, but as you get closer, you can see many details. It is a bit old, needs some repairs, food is pretty weak, tennis court is completely destroyed, etc... Nice and gentle workers, and reasonable pool, however.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, NJ
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The hotel is a real plus when visiting Torajaland as the architecture mimics the village architecture that makes Torajaland so compelling. Good breakfast. Had one one of their special themed dinners and was most disappointed. Suggest lower room in the Rorajan style units as it comes with an outside shower as well.

Room Tip: Lower Toraja style units have outdoor shower plus the traditonal indoor one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

When we booked this hotel, we were told that it was the best hotel around. We didn't check around when we were there, but we were not very impressed. The hotel consists of one large building where the reception and restaurant are located. The rooms are all situated in Torajan-style houses. In itself, this was charming. The rooms themselves were clean and had a local charm. The bathrooms were clean but very bland (a kind of dull beige; the kind you'll find at your grandmother's). The balcony was very nice, although why they chose not to put some chairs there is beyond us! The service was hit and miss: the reception at times were friendly and helpful but at other times indifferent. Some staffmembers of the restaurant were very friendly and the outside covered terrace near the pool was nice. The food was not. The hotel caters mainly to big touristgroups (from France), so they have a large buffet with mediocre food. If you want to eat a la carte, there is only a very limited choice of Indonesian food, and all of it has been modified to cater to the taste of the average tourist. In other words: all flavour and spice have been removed. If your here for four nights, you'll end up eating the same every evening (and walking to Rantepao is not easy, since the hotel is located well outside the city proper). We were happy that we had lunch elsewhere every day. Most disturbing was the fact that on our last night, I woke up finding that our outside roomdoor was open. Only because we (always) use a chain, whoever opened the door couldn't get in, but we obviously weren't pleased about this. The reception didn't really share our feelings. We agree that it was very possible that during the morningrush to get a tourgroup out, one of the staffmembers mistakenly tried to enter our room thinking that we were part of the group, but I expect them to properly close the door and maybe even inform the reception that they made a mistake, so that we could be told. Now we do not know if it was accidental or an attempted burglary.

Room Tip: We advise you to book at least a superior room and ask for a room on the top floor of a cottage. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed here as part of an organised tour in Toraja but if I had booked independently I would have also chosen to stay here.

Upon arrival we were greeted with a delicious Tamarillo juice(I am now hooked!) and a quick and speedy check in. We were then take to our Standard Rooms in the main building. We were all more than happy with the size of the rooms and also the cleanliness. The Deluxe rooms are in the Toraja style houses but we spent so little time in our rooms we were happy with the rooms we had. Try and Get one with the view over looking the hills - LOVELY!

The staff were lovely - warm and friendly and enjoyed it when you practised your Indonesian with them! A great team.

We enjoyed Happy Hour and really like the service from both the Barman and Barlady who looked after us :) Nice cold (Large!) Bintang - just how we like them!

The Resort is in need of some love - a little updating here and there (work on the electrics, upkeep around the pool) and some more attention to detail and this resort would be restored to be an even more special place.

We had breakfast included and this was standard fare of a fruits, breads, eggs and Indonesian choices. We were not too impressed with dinner as we did not want to eat european buffet (but it seemed like most other guests did want this or they did not want to venture out for something more exciting!). We made use of the free shuttle into town (just ask at front desk and it was there within 10 minutes) to eat in some more local places and then came back on Bentors (which is great fun and would cost about IDR20,000 per bentor).

Do not get me wrong I really liked this place and would stay again. They just need to make a few improvements here and there and it become outstanding again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Very big surprise after a long- 8 hours by bus trip from Makassar. We came late night, staff was waiting for us with dinner and drinks. Rooms are nice, masages good, very good place to stay and relax after a day trips in beautiful Toraja.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

After a very long eight hour drive from Makassar, we were welcomed by friendly faces and welcome drinks. After a quick check in we were escorted to our room. On our walk we were in impressed by the beautiful grounds that the resort is located.

We stayed in one of the first floor of the Toraja styled traditional house and it was very nicely decorated, clean and very spaceious. Plenty of room for suitcases and other belongings. One thing we really enjoyed was having our own terrace. A morning cup of coffee and enjoying the splendid view was a highlight of my trip. Our bathroom was huge! The toilet,shower and sink / bathtub are in a seperate rooms from each other which is quite handy when travelling as a family. As noted from prior reviews, there was a flower in the toilet every afternoon. It entertained the family everytime! I was impressed with the ample amount of wall outlets to charge all of our cameras, phones and laptops. The beds were comfortable with clean bedding. There is no air con, but it does get cool there in the evenings. However, a fan would be a great addition to the room.

The breakfast was a buffet with plenty of juice, breads, Asian styled rice / noodle dishes and fresh fruit. As there are tour groups staying there, the buffet does get picked over early and was not refreshed.

We did not travel with a tour group so we did not have our own guide; however, we were able to hire local guides and a car with driver from the hotel front desk. The two guides that we used were fantastic! Both knowledgable about the area as it's home for them, friendly and spoke perfect English. On the day that we went to a funeral our guide was perfect. He was respectful of the funeral and kept us out of harms way. We saw other people with guides that had them right in with the buffalos could be quite dangerous as sometimes they do get loose. We even saw a tourist fall down in the bloody mud during the event. Our guide was so friendly that he started chatting it up with some of the family and we were invited to sit with them during the funeral.

At the end of a long day of sight seeing, the Bamboo Bar was a great way to end the day. Super friendly service, fully stocked bar and good snack food (hot dogs, chicken wings, springrolls and ect). The prices were very reasonable. One night we did order room service and the food came surprisingly quick considering how tastey it was!

There is no doubt that if I travelled back to Toraja, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toraja Heritage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toraja Heritage Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 80 Rantepao-Tana, Rantepao, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Rantepao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Rantepao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toraja Heritage Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo and Otel so you can book your Toraja Heritage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toraja Heritage Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.