We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pison

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pison to your Saves list
Hotel Pison
Rantepao, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Rantepao
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

In general this was a recommendable place. The food was good (especially good coffee!) and better than the food at poppies pia (right across the street). The staff were friendly, and the rooms were big and reasonably clean (for indonesian standards). The downside was that the next door neigboor kept his prize-rooster in a pen right in front of our room so the first night we hardly slept after 04.00. But the staff were helpfull and let us move to another room. There are guided hanging around the entrance looking for costumers, but if you explain that you already have a guide they dont bother you.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    29
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
28
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The location of Pison is good, not really in the centre of Rantepao, but a 10 mins walk from it. Rooms were basic, with a bit older furniture, but mine was big, and besides two beds there was a mini wardrobe, desk and small table. There was hot water and a good wifi.

Breakfast was not included in the price, but you can order it in the restaurant down in the hotel. Besides breakfast there is also a selection of lunch/dinner meals, comprising several Indonesian and Torajan specialities. Restaurant/common area was a spot for all people staying in the hotel, so you could meet fellow travellers easily.

Staff was nice and friendly,.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Our original plans for Rantepao fell through, so we ended up booking a room last minute at Hotel Pison. We paid 200,000 rupiah per night for a room with two twin beds, private bathroom with hot water, and small balcony. It was very basic accommodation, but the room was clean and the staff at the hotel were very friendly. There is a small restaurant on site, but just be sure to ask for the juices to be served cold (it's often served room temperature). It's a short 10 or so minute walk to the heart of the city. We rented a motorbike for one day for 70,000 rupiah, but it was a very good bike (not like some of the weaker versions we've rented for less money).

There are private guides hanging around the hotel, willing to take you around the area. I recommend doing some research online (there is lots of info in the Lonely Planet Thorn Tree forum) before booking a guide. One guy there wouldn't leave me alone and kept asking if I was by myself, even after I told him I was traveling with a friend.

Also, when booking a bus headed south, you can tell the bus company what hotel you are staying at, and they will pick you up out on the main road. This made our departure from Rantepeo so easy.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
306 reviews 306 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
356 helpful votes 356 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I took Bintang Prima bus (Rs149k for Scania super delux and worth it especially overnight) who dropped off rather taking me to station.
Check in was quick friendly and within 30 minutes was enjoying dinner.
Room was huge basic but clean. HC water AC. Restaurant served good food for reasonable price. In a quiet side with big sign 15 minute walk to town if you need to go.
Arranged guides here Rs300k per day with my favourite places being Batutmonga (stopping at coffee kiosk at Deri on the edge of valley), Bebe and roads east of Palawa (dont take the main road from Marante).
Thanks for the vote if you found this helpful.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed for two nights. It is a cheap hotel and a bit dated but has got clean room with air conditioning, hot water actually working and sitting toilet vs the squat variety. It is worth the amount we paid for it compared to other hotels we stayed during our 2 weeks road tour of Sulawesi. Looks like a family owned, friendly and helpful staff. Good location too just bordering the busy town with easy access to the town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

The hotel was ok for a cheapie, but dont book here.
We cash the hotel in cash (we had reservation through Agode) and 1 months later I paid again on my credit card.
Agode is off no use and keeps checking with the hotel and ignores me.
For what I paid in total for this hotel I should have a much better place

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Rantepao has nice atmosphere..
Pison Hotel has unbeatable location because the bus from/to Makassar will pick/drop you up just right in front of little street of the hotel.. Ha! :)
Room was clean with no weird smell, furniture a little dated but no big deal..
Hot water and shower were fine..

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful..
Booked car/motorbike rental and one day tour through hotel..
The guide and the driver was very professional and experienced..
Terima kasih Pak Usman, the awesome local guide we met.. :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pison

Address: Rantepao, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Rantepao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Rantepao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Pison reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pison, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.