We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to stay before climbing Mount Ijen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ketapang Indah Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ketapang Indah Hotel to your Saves list
Ketapang Indah Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Gatot Subroto km. 6, Banyuwangi 68421, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Banyuwangi
brussels
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A good place to stay before climbing Mount Ijen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We used this as a base to climb Gunung Ijen, after crossing to Java from Bali with our Indonesian friends. Whilst it is still a 1,5 hour drive to Ijen, the trip is very beautiful and doesn't feel very long (note, however, that we did not want to be at the top at sunrise..). The hotel grounds are very nice, but the hotel comprises many bungalows and suites and most travellers seem to be passing through or attending conferences. As a result, the public areas are crowded and the evening we ate in the restaurant they could clearly not cope. Some dishes arrived inexcusably late and on top of that the food was somewhat mediocre. But the rooms were comfy, clean and great value so all in all I would recommend the property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    158
    56
    13
    3
See reviews for
75
108
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here just for a couple of hours before leaving 2am to climb volcano. Dinner has been tasty and they prepared a breakfast-box for the morning.
The hotel is unusual, located into a tropical garden, with rooms all around it, a nice experience. Rooms are very modern, spacious.
Location is a bit away from everything, so this hotel just suits the needs of volcano trekkers equipped with a car.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

its like a bungalow rather than room.it has access to the beach. hotel location not really far from ketapang port. breakfast wasn't really good since don't have many choice and i was angry at that time because when i asked for bread & jam, the waitress said "bread & jam are for foreigner only, we provided rice for local" then i argued quite long and after that the waitress gave me bread & jam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Had s 2 night stay here- beautiful surroundings- greeted in the lobby with a glass if warm cinnamon drink. Beautiful plantings, outside lighting at night makes it look mystical ! Delicious breakfasts outside overlooking Bali - great value! Would highly recommend!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We'd booked this hotel merely as a place to stay for the night after travelling by rail from Mount Bromo to the West and intending to see the crater lake at Ijen and then take the ferry to Bali the following morning. As such, we arrived at dusk and left before dawn and spent less than 12 hours in the hotel.

At the time of our visit, the hotel was undergoing some refurbishment, including part of the reception area and an area down towards the beach. The hotel was fairly busy with, I suspect, many guests staying as we were for one night before catching a ferry to Bali or the reverse after crossing from Bali. However, the grounds are spacious with individual villa rooms between the palms in the gardens or, as we had booked, more standard rooms in an accommodation block.

Our intent was, as said, purely to stay overnight before moving on. We left early without taking breakfast at the hotel (though simple breakfast boxes were provided) and the only real hotel service we used was the restaurant for evening dinner.

The main restaurant near the reception lobby was quite busy and on the night we stayed, and was partially sectioned off for a 'private' company (bank I think) function. There was Live music (too loud for most of the time) and a fair amount of lamentable Karaoke (not sure if this was typical). Food quality was average at best, below average as a whole, perhaps reflecting the nature of the hotel as a stop-over and high turnover off guests. Some dishes served appeared to be under-cooked (prawn lumpia-spring rolls). Alcohol was available despite it being Ramadan.

We had two Superior inter-connecting rooms in an accommodation block. The standard of finish and furnishing was good, simple and plain - more than adequate for a night's stay. Tea and coffee making facilities were available and the shower/toilet rooms were reasonably sized and finished. The beds were not particularly comfortable with lumpy foam mattresses.

The grounds were well kept and gently sloped down to a swimming pool and separate bar/restaurant overlooking pool on one side and beach on the other, with a view over to Bali. The beach appeared to be public and was sectioned off from the hotel by a metal wire fence. We arrived too late to use the pool and although we booked a table at this bar/restaurant having seen other tables with reservations, when we arrived at 7pm we were told that it had shut and we had to eat at the main restaurant. There was a pavilion at the pool that appeared to have 2 fixed computer screen with guests accessing internet. We did not try these and in any case there was free wifi in the hotel. To the side of the pool and bar/restaurant, there appeared to be building work going on behind behind wooden fences similar to that in reception and the view down to the beach was largely obscured.

Overall, we were rather glad that we only stayed a brief time at the hotel. Although the grounds were relatively pleasant, the building work would have been an issue for us had we actually chosen this as a place to stay and enjoy for a few days. Further, the restaurant food was below average. That said, the rooms were good and perfectly acceptable for our brief needs. As a transit hotel with good access to the ferry port (a very short distance away) and Ijen for the crater lake (an hour plus away) it was fine. However, if we had booked this hotel as a place to actually relax and enjoy as a holiday, we would have been disappointed.

Room Tip: Hmm - depending on your needs. If treating this as a transit hotel as we did, the Superior rooms wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

previously i have booked a room for two nights in a four star hotel, that from the map view looked near to ijen. however, when we reached that hotel, it was too far to reach, not to mention its bumpy road. the next day, we checked out and moved to this one. knowing this hotel was one star from website, I was surprised that the hotel was huge with lots of parking space and garden, kids' playground and also swimming pool. as we did not have any reservation before, luckily it has a room. suprisingly, the rate was lower than internet (common reservation website that I used). the staff were friendly and polite. when we asked why the hotel was only one star while the building and rooms are far beyond one star hotel, the staff said there was not any standard to determine the hotel star at the moment. the room and its bathroom were clean. it would be better if the management change the lamp to brighter ones as for us, it was a bit dark in the room. the foods from restaurant were average. the restaurant was happily packed the breakfast in boxes (an egg, milk, sandwhich) for us as we planned to climb ijen crater at 11pm to see the blue fire. another surprise, at the time we checked another surprise, the hotel staff gave us discount on room rate!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The standard rooms are on the small side (strange, because the resort's grounds are enormous). Clean, basic rooms and bathroom, not much of a view from our rooms. A bit of a walk from the lobby, too, and there were no lifts. Our rooms were on the second floor. Well-priced and so close to Ketapang harbor. Also within a reasonable driving distance to Ijen Crater.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ketapang Indah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ketapang Indah Hotel

Address: Jl. Gatot Subroto km. 6, Banyuwangi 68421, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Banyuwangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Banyuwangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ketapang Indah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ketapang Indah Hotel is located by the beach, overlooking the Bali Strait, due to the East which provides an excellent spot for watching the sunrise. Decorated traditionally in Balinese style and furnished with local materials, it offers a pleasant accommodation, a mouth-watering restaurant, and a relaxing swimming pool. Our affiliate, the Bayulor Plantation and Guest House provides a tranquil, relaxing, and peaceful atmosphere makes it an ideal place for total relaxation or for family gathering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ketapang Indah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ketapang Indah Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.