We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful place among rice fields !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ijen Resort & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ijen Resort & Villas to your Saves list
Ijen Resort & Villas
2.5 of 5 Villa   |   Randuagung, Licin, Banyuwangi 0333, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A peaceful place among rice fields !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We stayed there one night in September and it was a really perfect experience !
The hotel is located in the middle of rice fields, at the far end of a dirty road...but the hotel is really worth the difficult road !!
Nice villas with swimming pool and great view on the rice fields directly .
This hotel is worth the journey, but make sure to sray at least two night to really enjoy it !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    104
    67
    29
    16
See reviews for
50
150
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed two nights during our Java Bali roundtrip. As this hotel was highly recommended, and in fact the only star hotel near Ijen, we more or less adjusted our travelplans to be able to sleep in this hotel.

On the good side is the location and the wonderful views. The buffet dinner is also very good.

On the bed side (pun intended) are the very thin Spartan matrases, that made us suffer from sever backache for many days. We also found the rooms a bit dark and slightly worn out; very old television and really nothing personal or nice.

There was no high tea (what a missed chance for all those hungry Ijen-climbers) and the water in the pool is quite challenging. I am pretty sure I am not alone mentioning the 3,5 km road to hell (tip: try to sit in the front of the car as it is less bumpy), although I must admit that road was heaven compared to the final kilometers by jeep to Ijen (tip: take motion sickness pills).

Mount Ijen is a wonderful climb and one of the highlights of our holiday, very well worth the visit. Ijen Resort & Villas should really try to upgrade their hotel.

By the way, around 100 meters before the hotel entrance (on the bumpy road) there is a wonderful tiny restaurant Bu Wady with traditional Indonesian food for really no money at all. Absolutely recommended for lunch or dinner.

If you would like to make use of the SPA... they only accept CASH payments in Dollars or Rupiah.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zutphen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We stayed at 'Ijen Resort & Villas' for 2 nights, as part of our 3 week roundtrip on Java and Bali. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed with a refreshing fruit drink. The resort is located in a remote and unspoiled rural area of East Java, surrounded by terraced rice fields and rainforest. The scenery is magnificent and breathtaking.
We stayed in a deluxe room in a bungalow (nr. 108) with terrace facing the rice fields. The room was clean, spacious, had very comfortable beds, an indoor bathroom with wash-stand and an outdoor shower and toilet.
The open air restaurant serves good food at lunch as well as at diner (we only ate a la carte so we don't know the taste of the buffet). The breakfast is a bit average.

Overall experience: fantastic location, panoramic vistas, fresh mountain air, total tranquility, relaxed atmosphere, comfortable room, beautiful garden, beautiful pool, good service and a friendly staff.

The only downside could be the fact that the road which is leading to the resort is a 3,5 kilometers long, very rocky and bumpy track. But hé, who cares, this is part of the rural beauty.

It takes about one and a half hour drive from the resort to the starting point for the 3 kilometers hike to the Ijen Crater. Climbing this crater is absolutely well worth the trip.
Tip: book a footmassage in the resort for after you have climbed the crater.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The location is great, but the road condition (3,5 km) to reach the hotel is a really nightmare.
The service was polite and efficient. The restaurant for dinner but especially for breakfast was below the expectative. The rooms needs to be "refreshed"

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

It is a bit of a mish to get to- the last 3.5km up a pot holed "road" jigs you about. We stayed 1 night but could have stayed for one more at least. We cancelled the crater tour since we were all exhausted form the sunrise tour the morning before at Mt Bromo. We had a bungalow set in front of rice fields and mountains- really amazing. You can walk amongst the fields and really see local javanese living their local lives. We all really loved the place.

The hotel is expensive - the food was OK - friendly staff. Internet in the room very poor but the place is quite isolated! The rooms were comfortable- outdoor shower was nice. Didn't dip in the pool as it was too cool-but the gardens are beautiful and it was a great place to unwind. We would recommend the place if you were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

If you go here knowing that you will get incredibly ripped off then you may not be as disappointed when you leave. We spent over $700 for two nights here which includes a dinner a lunch, a tour and our onward transportation to Bromo. Even now when I do the maths I don't see how it ended up that much! Coincidently they did not receive my reservation through expedia on checkin and had mysteriously added an extra tour to my bill on checkout.
This being said the setting is amazing, great view of the volcanoes and rice paddies and lovely little resort. Was worth staying 2 days but was certainly not worth the money spent. You can see ijen crater from any base around the area and in hindsight I would have happily stayed at one of the resorts in Banguwangi instead.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We genuinely regret having only stayed for 1 night at Ijen resort and crater. I can't begin to tell how truly stunningly beautiful the rice fields and the whole setting was. Watching the sun rise was absolutely bliss and even writing this review transports me to that wonderful place. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel staff even made us a flower bath as we were celebrating our anniversary. I have to wholeheartedly apologise to the poor guy who checked us in - the lack of sleep brings out the little devil in me (we had to wake up for Mt Bromo sunrise that day), we had some payment issues at checkin but other that incident. the staff made an effort and were very friendly and we thank them for welcoming us. Overall, if you are considering staying here..do so! Thg, I itierate the point made by previous reviewers thg, the road to the hotel is very bad so consider getting a jeep to the hotel??

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ijen Resort & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ijen Resort & Villas

Address: Randuagung, Licin, Banyuwangi 0333, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Java > East Java > Banyuwangi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Banyuwangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ijen Resort & Villas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ijen Resort & Villas is the new and first luxury villas in the spectacularly scenic area. Perched at the edge of the rain forest of Ijen National Park and overlooking terraced rice fields to a row of volcanoes, each of Ijen Resort's rooms boasts superb views from their spacious bed rooms and balconies. Four hectares of beautiful garden and 360 degrees panoramic vistas of volcanoes, rain forest, terraced rice fields and view of Bali Strait, make Ijen Resort & Villas itself a tourist destination. Located at 643 meter above sea level, the Resort offers a comfortable base for travelers to enjoy unspoiled beauty of the rural East Java - Indonesia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ijen Resort & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ijen Resort And Villas
Ijen Resort & Villas Hotel Banyuwangi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ijen Resort & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.