We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic suitable hotel at the center of Samarinda” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda to your Saves list
Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Mulawarman No. 6, Samarinda 75112, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Samarinda
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
“Strategic suitable hotel at the center of Samarinda”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

A strategic suitable hotel located at the center of Samarinda. Easy to reach & also easy to be a base for further trip. The breakfast is quite good. The room is clean & neat. It has also sufficient meeting rooms for corporate purposes.

Room Tip: Try to get the room on the upper level to have it quieter for a better rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss-belhotel_Smd, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Octovianus G,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay on tripadvisor. We are please to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    32
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
4
2
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

A decent hotel centrally located in Samarinda. The rooms are a good size but the whole hotel could do with a furnishings upgrade. The rooms are very comfortable and well supplied. Service is good and always with a smile. Would have no problem staying here again.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss-belhotel_Smd, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Rob D,

We are very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you very much for sharing your experience. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again soon in Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

the room is old and smelly, the bathroom is dark and breakfast is really really bad. the quality of beverage in their lobby lounge is below standard. we order for singapore sling and it come out really weird taste, when my sister asked about the taste the waiter said that is their standard recipe. i think in term of the facility is should be categorized as 2 starred hotel. desperately need refurbishment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss-belhotel_Smd, Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear David D,

First of all I would like to thank you for staying with us and writing a review on Tripadvisor.

We remain concern that you are dissatisfied with the standards of service and room displayed to you, please accept our sincere apologies.

We have shared your constructive feedback with our Management Team and we are all very apologetic that our room, breakfast and quality of beverage did not meet the standards required by you. These matters have been taken up by our Managers and discussed with the relevant departments in order to improve our service.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns. It is through such communication that we are given the opportunity to evaluate our performance, and focus on the areas that need to be addressed, ensuring we deliver the standard of service that our guests have come to expect from us.

I trust that this would not prevent you from staying with us again and hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda in the not too distant future.

Please do not hesitate to contact us and we will ensure that you are looked after during your next visit.

Kind regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Samarinda hotels

Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The surroundings before I arrived were somewhat unpleasant, but once you arrived at the hotel, it's like I was in a different world.
However, I waited for quite sometime to get my room ready, and once I was in, the reception called asking if there's anything wrong with the in-room services. Of course everything's ok, but by the call, I somehow thought that maybe usually there's something wrong. (Or it's just me anyway)

There's cocktail happy hour everyday from 17.00-19.00 at the bar, so this is really relieving, from hours of road transportation from Balikpapan. ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss-belhotel_Smd, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear dydiarifien,

First of all, I would like to thank you for staying with Swiss-belhotel Borneo Samarinda. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in the hotel.

Knowing that every traveler has individual likes and requests, our team regularly call and meet our guests to ensure that everything is to their liking and to inquire if there is anything we can do to for the guests, hence the call to your room. We do not anticipate that something is wrong, maybe our team members choice of words was wrong.

We hope to me welcoming you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangerang, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is in the midle of entertain center in Samarinda, located close to the port and one shopping mall. The breakfast menu is under expectation, and the coffee they offer is so crab. However, the hotel is clean, simple and has good hospitality...

Room Tip: Choose the room with river view... You will have fantastic sceen in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss-belhotel_Smd, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Nawa I,

Thank you for staying with Swiss-belhotel Borneo Samarinda. We have read your comments and have discussed the same in the team. As to the breakfast menu and the coffee quality we will, with the Chef and Food & Beverage Manager, look at improvement in those areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mataram
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located at Samarinda city center beside the biggest mall, very clean, the staff very helpful, this hotel offer SPA in room, but need extra pay for it, overall, this hotel is good for bussiness and vacation choice

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss-belhotel_Smd, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Muklay,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay on tripadvisor. We are please to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jakarta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

we stayed at the executive floor which is on the 11 and 12fl with its own club lounge. The food is simple by Jakarta standard but is OK. The hotel is clean with decent bed and adequate amenities,clean bathroom (which is imperative for me) a fairly good choice of Asian dishes for in room dining, just what you need after a long day in a town that is not known for its shopping or exciting attractions except good and fresh seafood (have to depend on the locals to recommend them)... the hotel also offers spa/massage treatment that i haven't tried yet but looks like a legit place for relaxation. the housekeeping dept also provides a prompt service when requested by phone. all in all, the hotel is a no frill, but decent and clean place to stay.....one thing to note though is the wifi in the room is so slow...i think that's the only drawback that I could think of...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swiss-belhotel_Smd, General Manager at Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear rita k,

We are very please to learn that you have enjoyed your recent stay in our hotel. Thank you very much for sharing your experience on this forum. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again soon in Swiss0belhotel Borneo Samarinda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda

Address: Jalan Mulawarman No. 6, Samarinda 75112, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Borneo > East Kalimantan > Samarinda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Samarinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda, the first four star international hotel in Samarinda. Consist of 186 rooms, ranging from Superior to Presidential Suite. Facilitated with business centre, meeting and ballroom, swimming pool and cafe. Located in the city centre and adjacent to Samarinda Central Plaza Mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda Hotel Samarinda

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swiss-Belhotel Borneo Samarinda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.