We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serve with heart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan P.Hidayatullah, Samarinda 75112, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 hotels in Samarinda
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Serve with heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

A right choice to stay when you away from home. While a hotel its not only about place, but also about service. At the end of the day, when you finish a hard day dealing with client or collegue they serve us with full hearted and made me feel like home. Nothing better place than here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sistho S, Manager at Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Sandi N,

Warmest greetings from ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center..

Hello…!! ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center is delighted to read that you liked our property and particularly value of our services. As our tag line “ Delightful moments of heartfelt service…” , We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We will share your positive comments with our team. It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you again soon to ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center - With very warm regards from management of ASTON Samarinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
1
2
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

My impression stay at Aston Samarinda Hotel is a classy hotel that has charm and beauty. comfortable and felt right at home because of its hospitality and cleanliness.
I really like the swimming pool and especially the food at breakfast time. besides the internet speed was incredible, I was determined when I came to samarinda again then I will stay at Aston Samarinda.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sistho S, Manager at Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello Novi A,

ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center is delighted to read that you liked our hospitality services and cleanliness, appreciated the fantastic breakfast and particularly value of our indoor pool.
We will share your comments with our team. It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center.
Best regards from Management of ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I had a standard room which was very clean and good one, except for the view.
The housekeeping staff works fast and very helping. Breakfast is standard.
The swimmingpool is on the smoking floor so it's not a good one for kids perhaps because it's a business hotel.
The hotel is connected to a mall so it's easy if we need anything, there are book store, food courts, fast food like pizza and fried chicken, grocery store and many other store.

Room Tip: The staff gave me room that is exactly facing top of the waterfall that goes down to the swimming po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sistho S, Manager at Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear IniLyta,
ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center is delighted to read that you liked our strategic location, appreciated the friendliness of our staff and particularly value of our room.
What You’ve described for swimming pool condition is deeply concerning and knows that your observations are reviewed by our management team as we constantly strive to improve.
We will share your comments with our team and I hope you will give us another try in the future so we have the opportunity to welcome you back.
Best Regards from Management of ASTON Samarinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

i came there about 2 months after the opening. no steam bath or sauna. Only indoor pool. Not enough parking lot. Not enough sofas on the lobby. No newspaper. But it was clean, the food was good and it was next to a mall

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sistho S, Manager at Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Ajisuana,

Thank you for your Trip Advisor comment. It was more than 3 years and of course the situation has changed now. Recently, We have Sauna Room with Fitness Center facility, 1 dedicated parking floor, a nice Lobby area with several sofas and newspaper for all type of rooms. Thank you for your compliments on our cleanliness and the fantastic food. I hope you will give Us another try in the future so we have the opportunity to welcome you back .

Best Regards from Management of ASTON Samarinda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Well-known in Samarinda, though not a very exciting hotel. All pretty standard, with small very basic rooms, decent menu in the lobby, though good breakfast and friendly service. Pure business hotel.

There is a club on the 5th floor, and the music is extremely loud - one can hear it until 3am in the room - so if you're a light sleeper, this may not be the hotel for you.

Conveniently located, with couple of restaurants including fastfood chains nearby (should you get enough of the food in the hotel.)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sistho S, Manager at Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Steve 123453,

Thank you for posting your comment on Trip Advisor.
We appreciate both positive and negative comments and know that your observations are reviewed by our management team as we constantly strive to improve.
I hope you will give us another try in the future so we have the opportunity to welcome you back.

With very warm regards from ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan, Indonesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I had stayed in many hotels in Samarinda since 2007 and Aston Samarinda is the best hotel. The counter reception ladies are very friendly and helpful. The room provided are spacious and very comfortable with modern facilities.It provides a good breakfast spread every morning and the sitting area is spacious and comfortable.

Room Tip: I have not encountered any bad services from Aston Samarinda yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sistho S, Manager at Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Jansen290 (Balikpapan, Indonesia),

ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center is delighted to read that you liked our property and the services as well, appreciated the friendliness of our staff and particularly value of our breakfast.
We will share your comments with our team. It was certainly a pleasure for us to be at your service and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center.

Best regards from Management of ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

the property is new and nice however one of the receptionist (possibly supervisor because she was wearing different uniform compared to the other staff) is not smiling at all, the process of check out is taking sometime so my mom decide to sit in the lobby area, this lady instead of go and see my mom she calling my mom behind the receptionist counter which kinda unprofessional for hotel service. the food is so standard and tasteless.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sistho S, Manager at Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear David D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review. What You’ve described is deeply concerning and altogether shocking. I have met my Front Office Manager in regards to the service of your check out moment; He joins me in apologizing for the lack of services. I can assure you that this is not the service quality that we strive to provide our guest.
Again, We apologize for any negative experience you had with our property. Hope you will give us another try in the future so we have the opportunity to welcome you and your valuable guest back.
With very warm regards from Management of ASTON Samarinda Hotel & Convention Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center

Address: Jalan P.Hidayatullah, Samarinda 75112, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Borneo > East Kalimantan > Samarinda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 hotels in Samarinda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sanctuary for business and leisure travelers, the Aston Samarinda provides an effortless, comfortable atmosphere – ideal for both short stay vacations and business trips. This delightful hotel embodies the highest of traditional values with delightful dining and entertaining, while offering spacious rooms and suites of great charm at affordable hotel room prices. The delightful Aston Samarinda is ideally located in the heart of Samarinda City and connected to the city’s main shopping mall - Samarinda Central Plaza. The hotel offers 90 rooms and suites with dramatic views of the Mahakam River and city skyline. Experience the best restaurants, entertainment, and shopping, as well as the city’s finest attractions - all within easy walking distance of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Samarinda Hotel Samarinda
Aston Samarinda Hotel And Convention Center Borneo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Samarinda Hotel and Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.