We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balikpapan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adika Hotel Bahtera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Adika Hotel Bahtera to your Saves list
Adika Hotel Bahtera
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Jend Sudirman 2, Balikpapan, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Balikpapan
paris
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
612 helpful votes 612 helpful votes
“Balikpapan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

A perfectly pleasant stay. Excellent location. Beautiful service and facilities. Great rooms, quite large and very clean. The only thing was the disturbance of prayer at daybreak (actually 4 am) but the hotel cannot do much about it. I actually asked to be moved to the other side (seaview) and they gave me another room. Wonderful open-air swimming pool. the real drawback was actually the food served at lunch and dinner. Breakfast was fine, but the oher meals were quite a disappointment, probably because I am not used to this kind of food (being French). Yet, evrybody else (the locals) seemed to enjoy it... Lots of restaurants, fabulous seafood, by the seaside, 10 mn from the hotel. Wonderful service.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    16
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
2
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Cepu, Indonesia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

I find this hotel in a very strategic & convinient location since the biggest mal in Balikpapan (which is Balikpapan Plaza) is literally in front of this hotel. For me, I always put location as my number 1 criteria in finding hotels since I'm a female soli traveler and I only stay in Balikpapan just for one night in order my transit to Derawan Island the day after. I don't need to explore the city, I just want to find a decent meal nearby with cheap price & shop for small groceries for my next trip to Derawan. I can say that I've found anything I need in this plaza. So that I can't feel more happier finding this very strategic hotel with its location.
The cons of this hotel is the old building, old room, old furniture & old bathroom. But it's just alright & still decent for a night stay.
One thing that really dissapointment is that they actually DON'T provide airport shuttle for every hour but only for 12 am shuttle! I asked about that shuttle since I've read the previous review under me saying that there is an airport shuttle service every hour so that I expect to have that kind of service as well. But when the receptionist asked when is my flight and I answered that it will be on 12.20 am, she said that I won't make it to the airport with the 12 am-shuttle. When I asked is there a shuttle for 11 am, she answered that there IS ONLY ONE shuttler per day, which is departing on 12 am only. How ridiculous is that?
I don't know maybe the receptionist has demeaning me for being a young woman who usually don't really like to argue or debate.
So that in order to save my money for 50,000 rupiahs taxi fare to the airport (which actually I don't necesarrily spend for), I had to buy a KFC's cheapest package that only costs 15,000 rupiahs for my lunch (&dinner as well!). Sigh.,,,

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Good value hotel with friendly price, good location, and not considered as a "Red Light" hotel.

Pros :
- Great location (located at city center)
- In front of a mall (Balikpapan Center, Pasifica food court)
- Great deal with as low to US$ 42 (IDR 375k) all-in price for the weekend (Breakfast and tax incl.). Other similar class hotel will cost ~US$50 - 55.
- Complimentary airport shuttle, depart every hour or so from the hotel
- Staff is helpful and friendly, service is OK, 8 out of 10.
- Room is quite big.
- Bed is averagely standard, not too good, not too bad.
- Nearby money changer, restaurant, etc.
- Mass transport is easily found (angkutan umum/taxi).
- Standard toilet amenities (soap, shampoo, etc, but no toothbrush and toothpaste)

Cons :
- Hotel is aging, interior etc is getting old.
- Swimming pool wasn't really at the hotel, but located on the other newer "Menara Bahtera" hotel, at the back of "Adika Bahtera" hotel, both hotel are owned by the same owner.
- If the windows in your room are facing street, you may hear sound from outside.
- No carpet on room, just floor tile (room type : Superior, other upper room type may have, not sure about it.)
- AC isn't working good, even you put it to max cold (but not sure if other rooms have the same problem, could be in my room only. Last stay was in 6th floor.)
- No WiFi on room, just LAN access (excl. room price)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Best place in town, these hotel is recomended for business and backpaker.
and thumbs up for the Receptionist (Ms.L**) thanks for your assistance.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

the location of the hotel is very strategic, in the heart of the city. new building, quite modern. the room's decoration is great, very comfortable and clean.

Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

The hotel overall is clean and acceptable. There are however a few things that could be improved.

1. If you like seafood for breakfast you will like this hotel. Prawn sausage, fried fish, seafood soup etc...Eggs are available if you like them well cooked. Stale bread you know typical stuff.
2. The streets are very dirty as typical indonesian cities.
3. The cross over bridge linking the hotel to the shopping complex is busy with kids begging for money from daylight to dark and beyond.
4. There is a police box at the crossover with 3 to 5 policeman in it at all times. I mean they stay in the box and dont come out to do anything. They could at least control the kids begging for money or the people throwing rubbish on the ground.
5. Laundry service is very fast and reasonable as well.
6. In house pub and drinks are reasonable compared to other higher priced hotels in the area.

Overall satisfactory if you are just looking for a place to stay that is quiet and comfortble.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Disliked — Kids begging on the streets around the hotel.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adika Hotel Bahtera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adika Hotel Bahtera

Address: Jl Jend Sudirman 2, Balikpapan, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Borneo > East Kalimantan > Balikpapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 29 Hotels in Balikpapan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adika Hotel Bahtera 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Adika Hotel Bahtera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adika Hotel Bahtera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.