We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent view over the sea shore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Balikpapan

Save Saved
You added Novotel Balikpapan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Balikpapan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   JL Brigjen Ery Suparjan No 2, Balikpapan 76112, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 hotels in Balikpapan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent view over the sea shore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

As I checked in late at night, I got a nice and spacious room with comfortable bed but it got some problem with bathroom equipments: broken bathtub's shower and the wc could not drain/ flushed properly. Since it's late night, I decided to rest for the night and let the hotel staff informed in the morning. The hotel staffs were so responsive and I got into another clean and proper equipped room. This time it came with the stunning sunrise view over the window.
Breakfast menu was great, it served bacon and sausages - I guessed it's the only hotel in town that served those menu. Lunch and dining experiences were just average with a bit of over-priced offer for the kind of food choices, with average taste. Hotel's elevators were confusing because they're not well lit ... the floor indicators were not lit at all that I had to struggle to see the floor numbers.
Overall, it's a nice stay and definitely will be my choice whenever I have to visit Balikpapan.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the sea shore for stunning sunrise view over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan_novotel, Manager at Novotel Balikpapan, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for your choice to stay with Novotel Balikpapan and also very appreciated for your time by sharing the comment with us.

It was a great pleasure to having you with us and a gift to hearing that there still some area we need to improve such toilet and lift which is we are already plan by this year in our maintenance program for building maintenance.

We are considering and reviewing for the food comment from you and hopefully we will come up to be more better with some improvement in the future from our customer point of view

we are looking forward to your next visit and have a pleasant day.


Sincerely,


Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    89
    34
    11
    6
See reviews for
21
18
22
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Hotel and rooms great. Restaurant on 2nd floor is italian with grrat setting the food however is terrible. I had scallops that seemed to be a wad punched stingray flap texture of somthing that had been frozen a very long time. The steak I had was similarbit was dry and tastless. Dissappointing given that it is located in a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan_novotel, Manager at Novotel Balikpapan, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Mr. Joe,

Thank you for your trust staying with Novotel Balikpapan and also very appreciated for sharing the comment with us.

It was a great pleasure to having you with us and a gift to hearing that there still some area we need to improve.

we are looking forward to your next visit and have a pleasant day.


Sincerely,


Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Good.
Rooms clean and well equipped and spacious.
Pool ok. Very quiet outside, cus it's So hot.
Breakfast and buffet meals ok.
Laundry all ok, with no probs.
lifts from lobby woefully slow. Be prepared to wait.
Best night for food, was in my opinion, BBQ night with free beer from 1800-1900...
Ok really.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan_novotel, Manager at Novotel Balikpapan, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Asuk,

thank you for your kind to staying with us at Novotel Balikpapan. your comments is really encourage us to keep and maintain our level to the top and always find innovation and improvement.

we will share this to all the teams and we are looking forward to your future visit to Novotel Balikpapan.


Sincerely


Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Very strict checking in process, they photocopy your passport, it looks like you are in a police station. A lots of advertisement about protecting the earth, managing the water etc...but they provide plastic water bottles in room, industrial shampoo and soaps in plastic bottles, many of the fabric of the rooms are synthetic and plywood (composed of synthetic glus). The food is average low, generally this hotel has somewhat a sort of fake promise and do not deliver a real thing. I will not come back.

Room Tip: Don't get in
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan_novotel, Manager at Novotel Balikpapan, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Joenyer,

Thank you for staying with us at Novotel Balikpapan. we are very appreciated for your comments and we are now on progress improving all the things you had mentioned since 2012 as pur target to achieve this by 2014 certified for ISO 14001.

A Passport copy is mandatory in Indonesia for foreigners for hotels to keep to be submitted to the institution and we will do review also for the food if you could send us the detail.

Again we are thanking you for your improving comments and we are looking forward to your next visit.



Best Regards,



Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ede, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Stayed in Novotel on a recent visit. Very good hotel in center of cthe city. Very business style hotel that is mainly efficient and modern. Not too much atmosphere.Rooms very comfortable and modern. Good beds. Good bathroom. Cable tv and free wifi. Fitness room very nice. Breakfast buffet had a good choice of foods. Taste was acceptable. Price -quality is not cheap but for this quality acceptable. Service was friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan_novotel, Manager at Novotel Balikpapan, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at Novotel Balikpapan and your kind comments is encourage us to do more better and making improvement for Novotel Balikpapan.

we are looking forward to your future visit and thank you for your kind attention to Novotel Balikpapan


Warm Regards,


Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Room was okay but as previously reviewed it's sterile and functional but it was cleaned well during my ten weeks there. However there was insufficient hanging area for clothes for my extended stay. Room air conditioning had no temperature control and was either full on freezing or had to be turned off. The hotel laundry managed to ruin some of my clothes during the stay but that's pretty much the norm for Indonesia. Next time I'm taking travel wash and doing my own!
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Service was good but the prices erred on expensive. Food was very good and the breakfast much better than at many other Indonesian hotels I've stayed at. It's a business hotel and not really for families, although it did cater for several weddings during my stay there. The pool was nothing special but the gym facilities were good. Very handy location for going down town and there were plenty of taxis on hand outside should you need one. Overall, recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balikpapan_novotel, Manager at Novotel Balikpapan, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Bob,

Thank you for staying with Novotel Balikpapan and we are really sorry for inconvenience laundry handling in here. we promise to you it won't happen again on your next visit as we will taking care of you more better than your previous stay.


Sincerely,


Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Balikpapan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Balikpapan

Address: JL Brigjen Ery Suparjan No 2, Balikpapan 76112, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Borneo > East Kalimantan > Balikpapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Balikpapan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Balikpapan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Balikpapan is a 5 star hotel located in the centre of Balikpapan. The ideal choice for business trips and holidays alike, the hotel features 198 rooms and offers a range of conference facilities. Enjoy a choice of two restaurants, relax witha drink in one of our three bars and unwind with our swimming pool and fitness centre. The Novotel Balikpapan is centrally located close to shops and the entertainment precinct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Novotel Balikpapan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Balikpapan Hotel Balikpapan
Balikpapan Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Balikpapan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.