We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Balikpapan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Balikpapan to your Saves list
Ibis Balikpapan
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl Ery Suparjan No 2, Balikpapan 76112 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Balikpapan
1 review
“Worth the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We arrived around 9ish last nite, n it took only couple of mins to checked in. The room is typical ibis room, clean n nice. Good ambiance. The bathroom pretty cute. The bfast selections was oke. The downside was only we had to carry our own stuff to the room. Def will comeback next time.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBalikpapan, Hotel Manager at Ibis Balikpapan, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Mr.Ken

Warm regards from Ibis Balikpapan,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Balikpapan. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Wiwied Pujiono
Hotel Manager
Ibis Balikpapan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    68
    35
    4
    3
See reviews for
8
11
21
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
199 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
516 helpful votes 516 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

One of Accor's newer style Ibis, right next door to their Novotel. Note: Lion Air flight crew domiciles at this Ibis, while Garuda uses the Novotel. Best feature is sound-blocking windows, room gets no noise. Bad things were: small bathroom, but doable except for perhaps jumbo-sized persons. Corridor on non-smoking floor smelled of smoke, and bathroom sink had burns from where lit cigarettes were placed. But good AC masked it. Distance to main avenue a couple hundred meters, on a grade. Convenience purchases nearby, as is outstandingly inexpensive laundry available from local folk. Restaurant range of snacks, light meals, good coffee, mostly Indonesian breakfast buffet food. Novotel for full meals and can use their gym, which is excellent. Ibis pricing was very good (can book with them direct instead of using agoda, and get your accor points), but Novotel for a mere 20 usd more is worth considering. Staff professional and efficient. Good wifi.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBalikpapan, Hotel manager at Ibis Balikpapan, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Mr.Paubranco,

Warm regards from Ibis Balikpapan,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Balikpapan. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Wiwied Pujiono
Hotel Manager
Ibis Balikpapan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

nice cozy hotel, tidy, wrapped with excellent breakfast, especially the pastry and the coffee. the idea of pool sharing also nice :).
but some lane into the room is too dark . good product knowledge and universal services from all customer service




  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IbisBalikpapan, General Manager at Ibis Balikpapan, responded to this review, December 3, 2014
Dear Ridwan K,

May I begin by thanking you for your review on TripAdvisor and thank you for choosing our hotel as your accommodation choice during your recent visit to Balikpapan.
We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day.
We thank you for your continued support and hope we will have the pleasure of serving you and your family again soon.

Management

Ibis Balikpapan
H7443-om@accor.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Located in the central of the town. Clean room and friendly service. There is a night market within the walking distances. You can find variety local cuisines in the night market. Mall such as Plaza BPN will take around 5 mins to be reached on foot.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuta, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Internet is slow.. low signal wifi in middle room. Max dl speed is 64kb/s it is capped
Corner room is not that clean and smaller.
Food is okay and there is a good deal for some food during my stay.
Bathroom is small... and only toothbrush and soap and sanitary wrap given..
Combine shampoo and soap liquid.

Good things:
Cold AC
Indovision channels which is a lot around 40 tv channels
2 pillows + 1 extra
Late check out
Can pay transit stay which 4 hours for rp 250k
room is wood floor. Window can be open

Room Tip: Corner room is less use.. and smaller so ask for middle room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bali
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

we arrived late afternoon and has smooth check in..our room facing to front hotel, but no sound in room because of sound proof window..the front desk and restaurant has been very friendly, the food was delicious..the location is close to the beach, but we have crossing the busy street and around the shopping archade..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Balikpapan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Balikpapan

Address: Jl Ery Suparjan No 2, Balikpapan 76112 , Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Borneo > East Kalimantan > Balikpapan
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Balikpapan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Balikpapan 3*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ibis Balikpapan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Balikpapan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.