We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence to your Saves list
Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grand Sudirman Balikpapan | Jl. Jend. Sudirman No. 7, Balikpapan 76114, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 28 Hotels in Balikpapan
Surabaya, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 1 night after a long trip from Samarinda to Balikpapan. We get upgrade when we check in. We got apartment with 2 rooms. Thank you for your good hospitality by the staff

Dinner time was so bad. We order for fish and chip, after waiting for an hour, the staff told me the they are finish with fish and chip, so I have to choose another food which is limited stock.

Hotel was great and well maintained. Swimming pool is to small. Our rooms is the best. Clean and well maintained (apartment with 2 rooms) we had sea view from our balcony.

We will coming back for sure. I think this hotel is the best ones in Balikpapan.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston B, General Manager at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Tantolau,

I am pleased to read the good hospitality experience you received. I apologize that you were disappointed during dinner at the restaurant. Our chef will endeavor to serve you better in the future should you decide to come back and stay at our hotel again.

Once again, thank you very much for the good feedback

Joko Pitoyo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    65
    39
    10
    3
See reviews for
34
7
13
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We can see the beach directly from the pool. If we see that from our room's balcony, it's so beautiful. There is also a restaurant at the edge of the pool, we could spend the afternoon. The room is average, has variation menu on their breakfast and the taste is good enough. The most disappointing me is when we checked in, we need to wait so long, because all room is fulled, but they do not make it up as give us the welcome drink. We almost wait 2 hours, it so bad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston B, General Manager at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Nlaili,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence…..
I appreciate your positive review of our products. We have also taken measures to reduce the waiting time for each guest to get into their booked rooms and I sincerely apologize on that misfortunate experience.
I hope you will stay with us again in the future. Our Front Office Manager will be ready to assist should you have any concerns.

Sincerely,
Joko Pitoyo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Aston offer a stunning view to the ocean and its located at the central oc the City.The infinity pool was great, just like swimming to the sea. The room was cozy and feels like home. Menus of breakfast is okay,nothing special. My shoes are very dirty after fieldtrip, but it get cleaned and polished for free as a compliment from hotels.Unfortunately the rate tariff is quite expensive if we compare to another Aston at Indonesia

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston B, General Manager at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Alamrisyah,

I am happy to read your positive review about our hotel. Indeed, we thank you for choosing to stay with at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence. As additional information, we are preparing a more interesting breakfast buffet menu rotation, and there is a food section that showcases some local food specials for our guests.
We look forward to serve you again in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me, should you have any concerns during your stay.

Warm regards,
Joko Pitoyo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We've been staying here for 7months. From january to august 2013. Room 1609 is our house. Thanks to the house keeping team, they keep our house clean without any trouble, even my 5y boy keep messing around everyday. Congrats to aston for the award winning from tripadvisor. Keep it up!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston B, General Manager at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Henny Kheng,

Thank you for choosing Aston Balikpapan Hotel and Residence as your home in Balikpapan….
It was our pleasure to serve you here at Aston Balikpapan Hotel and Residence. Your message has been conveyed to our housekeeping team to keep them motivated.
We would be very happy to welcome you and the family anytime in the future.

Best regards,
Joko Pitoyo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were transiting through Balikpapan on the return leg of a recent trip and spent the night here. The hotel is reasonably close to the airport, making it quite convenient. The staff were friendly and the hotel was generally clean and comfortable. They have a cafe next to the lobby along with an English pub. There is also a nice, albeit small swimming pool, though this closes at 6pm, which I find to be a little early. The rooms are serviced apartment style with mini kitchens. When we were first given our room, we walked in and noticed that it wreaked of tobacco smoke, so we asked to be moved to a room on a non-smoking floor, which was readily accommodated. The room itself was comfortable. In addition to the mini kitchen, it had a small living room area with a decent television and channel selection. The bed was also quite comfortable. The amenities provided were adequate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston B, General Manager at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear hoya94,

Thank you for staying at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence…
I am happy that you liked the overall hotel service. Having read your comments, I have requested our Housekeeper to check the upholstery in our smoking guest rooms to avoid having them smell like tobacco smoke.
I hope to that we can serve you better in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact our Housekeeper or myself, the next time you stay at our hotel again.

Joko Pitoyo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semarang, Indonesia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Feel so good and comfortable hotel, especially the view....i don't mind with the facilities, it is complete, especially related with sport facilities.
the food is not bad...it is delicious.
the people also nice (very helpful).
and the place also friendly for children. I do hope can stay again for next visit in balikpapan...Se u soon

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston B, Manager at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Sonny Harmada,

We are happy that you found our hotel comfortable and the staff very helpful. I will share your good feedback as a motivational tool for our staff to keep up the good work. Thank you and hope to you will visit us again in the future.

Joko Pitoyo, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

My first experienced.it was good hotel with nice comfort room.the view was great and I like the lobby situation, I got a cup of free coffee in the afternoon and saw nice sea view...just perfect...what suprising me was the server also offer free slice of cake..hmm

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston B, General Manager at Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Lungka,

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful seaview behind our hotel. It was our pleasure to serve you. I will share your nice comments to all our staff. Thank you and hope you will stay again with us in the future.

Joko Pitoyo - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence

Address: Grand Sudirman Balikpapan | Jl. Jend. Sudirman No. 7, Balikpapan 76114, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Borneo > East Kalimantan > Balikpapan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Balikpapan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining the facilities of an international hotel and the comfort and personal service, the new Aston Balikpapan is the first combined hotel and residence in Balikpapan. While all rooms and apartments offer the comforts and amenities of an international 4 star hotel they also feature kitchens and private balconies. Within the ocean front Grand Sudirman Complex the Aston Balikpapan is ideally located in the heart of the city and just 15 minutes from Sepinggan International Airport allowing easy access to all the main attractions in the city including shopping and entertainment facilities. Besides the hotel's ample offerings guests also benefit from the many facilities within the Grand Sudirman Complex such as restaurants, cafes, banks, an Irish pub, a convenience store and major corporate offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Balikpapan Hotel And Residence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Balikpapan Hotel & Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.