We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star luxury in the lap of himalaya” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa to your Saves list
The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   near gondola, Gulmarg 193403, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gulmarg
Bhopal, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“5 star luxury in the lap of himalaya”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We reached Khyber Resort just a day after it was inaugurated. The quality of interior is be breathtaking. The rooms are very comfortable, with great view of the Gulmarg mountains clad with snow.. The food quality is excellent, though the helping could have been more generous.. The toilets also have a large window, through which you get an amazing view.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mountain view are the best..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for reviewing your experience.

I am glad that you had a good overall stay and appreciated the layout of the resort and quality of the rooms. I am delighted to know that you got the opportunity to enjoy the views of the snow covered Himalayas from our hotel.

I have personally shared your generous feedback on the quality of food with the kitchen team. They are overwhelmed to receive the appreciation and grateful to you for acknowledging their efforts.I also acknowledge your feedback on the portion size of food. A decision on this will be made keeping in view the best interests of all our guests.

The entire team at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa looks forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Gulmarg.

Best Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    104
    35
    16
    15
See reviews for
217
103
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was my second visit to Gulmarg and my first stay at Khyber Himalayan resort & spa and I can vouch that this is the first of its kind in Gulmarg. We were blown away by the warm welcome we received at the resort.

The interiors of this property are another matter altogether. There is no hint of rural within - luxurious, well-appointed rooms, wooden flooring that keeps you warm, a large bathroom and a huge tub to die for! Proximity to gondola makes it all the more perfect for a amazing ski holiday. Our favorite bit was the large traditional diwans/chairs that have been set up in the lobby, perfect for soothing your tired feet after a strenuous day up the mountain or just curling up with a book.

Hotel staff members were very kind in helping out with local transport, medicines etc. We were quite impressed by their tea bar and hookah lounge. Buffet lunch/breakfast was very good. Do not miss the hara-bhara kebabs which were absolutely mind blowing.

I cant wait to plan another holiday to Khyber Himalayan to experience yet another day in the life of a king!

Room Tip: All rooms have attached balconies that offer breath taking views of the snow clad peaks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time to review your recent stay at The Khyber Himalayan Resort and Spa. It is a delight to receive your appreciation about our location, layout of the resort and quality of rooms. It was important to us to retain the essence of Kashmir in the aesthetic, service and other key elements of the resort and your generous comments about the same are valued.

We are also pleased to receive your compliments on the quality of food and services and the attention you received from the team throughout your stay. Positive feedback and appreciation from guests like you is very encouraging and motivates us to constantly work on our standards. I have shared your comments with the entire team and they are overwhelmed to receive an acknowledgment of their efforts.

Thank you once again for your recognition and we hope to have the pleasure of your continued visits to our resort.

Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I spent 3 nights this month at this newly opened property in Gulmarg and was absolutely amazed at how fantastic it is! The staff, rooms, restaurants all surpassed my expectations. The rooms are very well appointed and have all the amenities one may require. I was extremely impressed by the food - the quality of the ingredients and the availability of different cuisines sitting amidst snow clad mountains was something I never expected. Must try the shisha in the hookah lounge. Also the cheese platter, lobster, vegetarian mezze platter and chocolate chip pancakes were absolutely amazing! I cannot wait to go back and am planning a week long visit in February already.
I bumped into the owner, Mr Umar Tramboo on my visit and was able to have a chat with him - to find someone who is so passionate about the hotel just explains the level of detail and care that goes into everything they do.
Definitely a must visit for everyone who loves the mountains and enjoys luxurious living simultaneously!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for a 'fantastic' review of your experience.

We are a resort and it is so important for us to offer a serene atmosphere to all our guests to unwind and rejuvenate.I am glad to know that you had an excellent stay in all aspects and felt that we offered you the perfect setting for your holiday. This is fantastic! The generous appreciation from patrons like you is the biggest encouragement for us and drives us to improve constantly.I have shared your comments with the entire team and they are all delighted.

I am glad to know that you a planning to visit us again in February and have chosen to stay with us for a week.

The entire team looks forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weimar, Germany
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Likes
Nice hotel with great potential. Beautiful rooms with stunning mountain view. Nice coffee bar.
Friendly stuff.
Good location near to Gondola.
Disturbing
Hotel page at booking.com was showing bar, indoor pool, gym. Non of this is existing or working, this was very disapointing especially considering the fact that full room rate is charged.
Breakfast buffet ok but some food items where looking like the had been placed the day before.
Restaurant completely overpriced.
Drop to Srinagar airport overpriced (6000INR).
Safety issues for small kids at the stairs.
No new years celebration.
I would have preferred to give all this comments directly to the hotel manager but there seem to be no interest to get direct feedback from international travellers. Despite the fact that we spent 4 nights here nobody was approaching us to get our opinion.
Check out procedure took 40 minutes!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out for your review and speaking to me about your overall experience at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa. We have noted your appreciation with regards to the location of the resort, quality of rooms and are our restaurant services.

We have also noted your displeasure with regards to some of the areas where we could not meet your expectations. We are terribly disappointed to know that we were unable to leave an impact during your stay and you did not have as good an experience as our other guests have had in the past.

I consider your feedback as constructive as it highlights all the opportunities we have to improve to provide a better overall experience.The concerns you have raised are very valid and we have an opportunity to analyse and come up with solutions in the best interest of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure of a much better overall experience at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa.

Best Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I was one of the first few guest arrived after the launch of this property.
Its an amazing place to stay in. The property is beautiful and huge with all kinds of facitlites which a luxury hotel should have. The view from the room is breathtaking, the fixtures are nice, food - the best food that i had during my four days stay in srinagar and gulmarg. We got such a warm welcome from the hotel staff. I was impressed with thier tea, coffee area and the shisha (hookah) bar. I wish a lot of success to everybody who are associated with this resort and would like to revisit for a longer duration.

Room Tip: Rooms with the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa and we are extremely delighted that you had a fantastic stay in all aspects.

I am glad to know that you were impressed with the overall ambiance of the resort, quality of your room and the hospitality you received throughout your stay. Encouraging feedback from guests like you drives us to constantly improve our standards.
I have personally shared your generous feedback on food with the kitchen team. They are overwhelmed to receive the appreciation and grateful to you for acknowledging their efforts.
Thank you for your best wishes and I am glad to know that you are planning to visit Gulmarg again and would like to stay with us for a longer duration. Please write to me at alex.koshy@khyberhotels.com if you need any assistance in planning a holiday with us.

All of us look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Kashmir.

Wishing you a very Happy New Year.

Best Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We spend a couple of hours at the Gorgeous property on 02nd Jan 2013. By far the best property in the region with Amazing Views and a great way to be introduced to Kashmiri Hospitality and Architecture. Rooms are well appointed and spacious can feel the teething issues for a new product. We wish it success and look forward to returning back soon for a few nights.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent experience at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa and for your appreciation of the resort's services and architecture. We value your comments and wherever amendments are needed will be implemented.

We are delighted to know that you are planning to visit Gulmarg again and would like to stay at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa. Please write to me at alex.koshy@khyberhotels.com if you need any assistance in planning a holiday with us.

Wishing you a very Happy New Year.

Best Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I was the first guest to check-in when the hotel opened and I half expected everything to fall apart as most hotels do on the day of opening. I was pleasantly surprised to find that despite all odds (they were snowed in) - they had their act together. The best parts first: It is built on traditional Kashmiri style - lots of wood and more wood; local carpets and decor. Brownie point for keeping the tradition alive. They had more than 80% locals as their staff; again a brownie point for giving an opportunity to the local youth. They had still not been fully trained and they bumbled around a bit and this is exactly what was endearing - genuine people in a hotel not acting like hoteliers! Food was very good; the rooms was excellent and the view was to die for.

Here are few thing that they need to watch out for: 1. Remove art pieces from the lobby - they make it look like a local shop. 2. Add more lights in the lobby. Ensure staff wearing clean dress and shoes AND clean socks that don't smell. Remove the small carpets placed under the table in the room - they can trip and cause someone serious harm (they slip on the polished floor). 3. Keep people to constantly clean the wooden stairs. Inspect each rooms for small flaws (the shower plate in my rooms was skewed).

But go - stay there even if for one night (they are priced steep) and you wont regret it!

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the south - you will have a curtain of fir trees and the mountains in the backd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KhyberHotels, General Manager at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Mr. Banerjee,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay at our resort.

It is encouraging to know that you have noticed and appreciated some of the things that we have set out to do at The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa. It was important to us that we retained the essence of Kashmir in the aesthetic, service and other key elements of the resort.

We have taken note of your feedback on the décor at the lobby and overall grooming of our staff. We thank you for sharing your observations and are sure that candid reflection on the same will help us better our constant endeavor to offer the best to our guests.

Thank you again for your positive recommendation of our resort as a “landmark property in Kashmir” to the readers.

The Team and I look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Kashmir.

Wishing you a very Happy New Year.

Best Regards,
Alex Koshy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa

Address: near gondola, Gulmarg 193403, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Gulmarg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Gulmarg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8,825 feet above sea level in the Pir Panjal range of the Himalayas lies a higher order of luxury. The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa is spread over seven unspoilt, fir-laden acres, with majestic views of the Affarwat Peaks. This 85-room resort is framed at every vantage point by nature at its most spectacular. The world’s highest ski lift, the Gulmarg Gondola – which takes you to Kongdoori Mountain, is only a short walk away. Meadows and forests that have enchanted travellers for centuries wait to be explored by trekking enthusiasts and undying romantics. Clad in locally sourced pine and slate, the resort is built in a style true to the architectural heritage of Kashmir. In every way the indoors mirror the beauty of the outdoors. Specialty restaurants, a cigar lounge are amongst the necessary luxuries in place. Add to these other thoughtful additions like our children’s club, a mini theatre and a dedicated Activities Concierge and you will find The Khyber is a resort at par with the best in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa Gulmarg, Kashmir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Khyber Himalayan Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.