We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hilltop

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Hilltop to your Saves list
Hotel Hilltop
Opp Ice Skating Rink, Gulmarg 193403, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Gulmarg
Jalgaon, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

is a very good hotel near to gandola
make a point to stay here plus a one day halt at another tent hotel gulmarg meadows too.
good hotel good staff a bit expensive
you can stay for 2 nights
thanks you

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    92
    37
    16
    23
See reviews for
113
55
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed there for 2 days. Hotel seems to be made of wood with wall to wall carpet. The decor is traditional Kashmiri. The rooms are good with modern facilities. It has a coffee shop also. Did not use restaurant as we were in a conducted tour.

Hotel is situated only few yards away from Gondola and just opposite the Skating Rink.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

As part of heena tours JK3 package, we checked-in to Hilltop on 18-May (Sunday) and checked-out on 20-May (Tuesday).
Challenges:
1. Waited for 1-2 hours in dining area for hotel and heena tours management to figure out the bookings (worst time of the entire tour)
2. Water leakage, rat in the room, wet towels, etc made the stay inconvenient
3. Hotel management team were least bothered to the complaints
4. Bed size is too small, even if your height is 5'8" or higher, avoid it!

Only good part is that it's nearer to the Gandola cable car starting point & city market.

I've been to many hotels across the globe but not seen such a worse hotel yet.

I won't consider these hotel chain in future

Room Tip: Not seen a good room in this hotel, avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Me & my friend (2 families) checked into Hotel Hilltop on 9th May for a 1 night stay. We were put up in 2 deluxe rooms on the 1st floor (rooms 106 & 107). The room were large and spacious with breathtaking views of the snow covered mountains. There was snow all round the hotel (in the month of May) and we had a jolly good time enjoying the views. The room was very comfortable with adequate heating arrangement. In winter times the hotel is centrally heated we were told. The property is a 2 minute walk to the Gondola ride (the major tourist attraction in Gulmarg). This is a major plus point of this hotel. The food was good and the variety served was ok. One should stay at this hotel for 1) The views from the rooms, 2) closeness to the Gondola ride. One should definitely carry their own stock of mineral water since the hotel charges around Rs. 50 for a 1 litre bottle, which is exorbitant by any standard. Would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Positive things:

1. Awesome location
2. Room service good.
3. Food good
4. Nice views around
5. Liked the bed heater sheets.

Negative things:
1. Heaters not working
2. They don't use centralized heater system round the clock and all 12 months.
3. No gym. Latif - The receptionist was pathetic person to answer me in a weird sense. Wish could break his neck.
4. No lift.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with road side view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Very bad experience in staying in the hotel. Rooms are small with no proper heating arrangement. Food with limited varieties.staff are not so cooperative. Located in a crowdy area with confusing and narrow entrance. Good hotels r available with the same price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajkot
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We chose this hotel mainly due to the fact that it is very near to Gondola and we must say that we made a good choice.

the main benefit of staying in this hotel is the location. it is just 2 minutes walking distance from Gondola. we stayed in April 2014 and were lucky to find good snow all around. the hotel property is quite good. Rooms are big, though not quite contemporary furnished, but still good enough. all the necessary amenities were provided.

Hotel Staff was not bad. You dont find them as warm welcoming as in Rajasthan or other parts of India, but they were not rude or anyway bad. we were not offered any welcome drink.

The food at the restaurant was good. we had a dinner and a break-fast as per our plan and were not disappointed. though it can not be said to be on a very good side, but comparing to the other peer hotels of this category it is still good.

Overall, the main reason to stay in this hotel must be the location.

Room Tip: we stayed in Room 114, which had a very good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hilltop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilltop

Address: Opp Ice Skating Rink, Gulmarg 193403, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Kashmir > Gulmarg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Gulmarg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Hilltop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hilltop Gulmarg, Kashmir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hilltop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.