We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good choice when cold” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shanxi Jinci Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Shanxi Jinci Hotel to your Saves list
Shanxi Jinci Hotel
No.669 Jinci Tourism Resort, Jinyuan District, Taiyuan 030025, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 515 Hotels in Taiyuan
Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Not a good choice when cold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Lobby of hotel was beautiful and well maintained. Rooms were dated. Stained carpet and bathroom floors need to be replaced. Green mat in shower like the kind you would find in a gym. Good breakfast, big selection. Isolated location. If you can't enjoy the gardens, I'd find another place to stay. Looks like the grounds would be a beautiful walk in spring and summer.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    94
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
5
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Turnhout, Belgium
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

The hotel complex is located in a big beautiful park, spread over 10 buildings.
We booked this mainly because it had an inside swimmingpool, but China has very different habits when it comes to swim mixed.
Further, a fine hotel, far away from the city, but with a very nice dining room, and a real good buffet.
Taiyuan not a busy city but there is one of the most beautiful temple gardens near the hotel, you can even walk through the garden of the hotel into the park of the Jinsi Temple.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

My wife and I Went to Taiyuan intending to seek out the local sites for a day and use it as a base while doing a day trip to Pingyao Ancient City. Our plans changed when we arrived at the Jinci Hotel.
When we arrived nothing seemed extraordinary, in fact the front of the hotel looked a little dated and quite plain. Check-in was very uneventful, which is the way we like it. The reception staff spoke a reasonable amount of broken English, so communication was relatively easy.
We had booked a standard suite (as a treat to our normal Superior room) and were astonished when we got to the room. It was enormous and beautifully furnished, included two full bathrooms, one of which included a TV at the end of the bath-tub, a huge living area and a magnificent bedroom area. The whole thing was open plan and clever use of full height mirrors made the whole area appear as big as a tennis court.
From the hotel description we knew that the hotel was adjacent to Jinci Temple park and scenic spot which was a plus as we wanted to see the temple. What we were unaware of was the hotel had its own grounds, and once we walked around it we realized how quiet and peaceful it was. We immediately loved the place and decided that the trip to Pingyao had to go, instead we luxuriated between the room and the large gardens.
Breakfast was really good for the two nights we stayed, the buffet dinner was both better value and better quality than the a la carte offering in the smaller of two restaurants.
Internet connection was reliable and operated at about 4-500 KB/sec and was free of course, so a tick for the internet.
If, like us, you are planning a fairly long and arduous trip through China, this place is an ideal stop off to recharge the batteries. Next time we would stay a little longer.
The only down-side is that the hotel is about 30 kms from the city of Taiyuan and quite pricey and time consuming if you want to visit the city.
We would absolutely recommend this hotel if you’re looking for peace and tranquility for a few days, and treat yourself to a suite, after all it is not very expensive if you look for a good price. At the time of our visit about USD 100 per night including taxes etc.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a suite, after all it is not so expensive if you look for discounts
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We have stayed in a number of 'Chinese' hotels over our year in China so far, this was by far the least welcoming. Granted, it was 11:00pm and I suspect the staff had already worked a long shift but these appeared to be the least tolerant of our limited Chinese and I don't think we saw a single smile. Not the only hotel to do it, but disappointed that despite prior communication requesting adjoining if possible, our children were given a twin room on a different floor and at the opposite end of the building. The location is fantastic in many ways. The grounds are big and superb, well worth a walk around and just the other side of the rear entrance is the stunning Jinci Temple (I preferred its intimate authenticity compared to the imposing but impersonal scale of the Forbidden City). However, it also places it thirty minutes from Taiyuan centre and anywhere else of interest. Taxis are difficult to get and we seemed to spend a lot of our time waiting around. Nothing within walking distance.

Breakfast was reasonable for a Chinese Hotel but not as varied as hoped for.

Carpets were thin and worn, cigarette burns in carpet and furniture, bathrooms were tired and our suite came with a tape deck (really) but nothing as fancy as an iPod dock. We bagged a fantastic bargain through the internet but I would have been very, very disappointed had I paid full price for this. For a hotel that claims '...the highest degree of comfort and convenience', it needs significant investment to bring rooms above the basic standard to which they are currently appointed.

Overall, glad we stayed there and it just about warrants the fourth 'star' in my rating but definitely elsewhere next time we visit Taiyuan.

Room Tip: Keep an eye out for the bargain suites or try for upgrade. The hotel has several buildings throughou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We didn't plan to stay over in Taiyuan during our trip to China. However, due to unavoidable train booking situation, we needed to spend a night there before catching our flight to Xian. After much research, we're glad that we chose Jinci Hotel. We booked 2 rooms and we were upgraded to its suites. The suites were huge and luxurious. Each of the suites has a living room, a powder room (1/2 bath) and very large master bathroom with separate shower and tub compartments. Our son really enjoyed the master bathroom because he could watch TV while soaking in the bathtub -- something that he can't do at home :). The receptionists (all ladies) were nice and helpful (tried to), however, they couldn't speak English well. They needed to call the bellboy (Mr. Zhang Jian Jun) to explain about the upgrades, restaurants, etc. Mr. Zhang also helped us book a taxi to the airport in the morning. We hope the hotel management read our review and gave him a promotion. He deserves it. In general, we're happy with our stay in Jinci Hotel and would recommend it to anyone that goes to Taiyuan.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokohama, Japan
Top Contributor
275 reviews 275 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Environment is none to second.
big lake give me a break for hot summer,
beyeond which there are also enchanting pavilions and terraces.

the historical Jinci park is not too far.
can easily access and enjoy not only fantastic ancient architecture
but also attractive natual scenery.
Also tasted many local specialties in restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhambra
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

"Treated like royalty", comparisons to Western hotels, approval of Chinese hotel only and if it compares to Western hotels and has English decoration or serves Danish pastries, lack of appreciation of Chinese culture, delight in finding a Disneyland-like "Chinese park" built last year, complains over anything going less than perfect so that some redneck from Texas does not feel like a "king" (King of the Hill), this is what I get from some of the commentaries, thank God it is becoming a minority as rednecks can't travel that much with the economic disaster their leaders have brought about. They should stay in Texas.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shanxi Jinci Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanxi Jinci Hotel

Address: No.669 Jinci Tourism Resort, Jinyuan District, Taiyuan 030025, China
Location: China > Shanxi > Taiyuan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Taiyuan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 348
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shanxi Jinci Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanxi Jinci Hotel Taiyuan, China

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanxi Jinci Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.