We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grand hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Metro Park Wanshi Hotel Shanxi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Metro Park Wanshi Hotel Shanxi to your Saves list
Grand Metro Park Wanshi Hotel Shanxi
No.126 Pingyang Road, Xiaodian District, Taiyuan 030006, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 511 Hotels in Taiyuan
Yokohama, Japan
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“grand hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

stayed here for one night and it a little far from the centre of taiyuan,stuff here is nice and
showed me many valuable info about this city.Room was also comfortable and food was great.
Do not forget to try Daoxiao noodle ,which is the symbol of shanxi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    49
    16
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
1
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Naxxar
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is in an ideal location, on a wide commercial street very close to of plenty of restaurants and shops. Ideal for an evening walk.
The hotel is very good, clean with good amenities, would save it is five star.
The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff are helpful and friendly like most hotels we've been in China.
Breakfast was good but not so much selection compared to other hotels of the same class in China.
Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

No one in the hotel speaks English. They take your deposit and passport details as usual when you arrive, but then check everytime you want to sign that you have sufficient 'credit' I had to go to the front desk when I had visitors to pay the bill as I had exceeded my deposit. I had to pay a room service bill in cash (or go down to the front desk and pay).They treat you as if you are going to sneak off without paying. The person answering the phone in the restaurant doesn't even speak enough English to recognise the word reservation or to give me tea at breakfast!

It is probably very nice if you speak Chinese, but if you don't, I strongly recommend staying at a more international hotel.

To make things worse I contacted the head office to see if the payment issue could be resolved (before my guests arrived). I am still waiting for any sort of acknowledgement 5 days later. They don't really care about your experience, just taking your money. One to avoid!

Room Tip: Make sure you specify no smoking when you book. My first one stank, but they did move me when I aske...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

The local person I was meeting said the Metropark is the best hotel in town at the moment and I saw no evidence to the contrary. The staff tried very hard to please and were super friendly.

My room was quite small but functional. There was a persistent smell of something like lacquer that I could not get to go away. Opening the windows was a bad idea due to the mosquitoes outside.

I explored the western restaurant buffet but settled on vegetable fried rice and brocolli at the Chinese restaraunt. I was very happy with the food I ordered and the staff were very helpful in getting me the order the way I wanted.

Quite funny to me is the beach theme at the hotel. The western restaurant is decorated in beach theme and the staff other than the front desk staff were wearing Hawaiin shorts and t-shirts.

Wireless internet was free and had adequate speed.

Would I go to this hotel or Taiyuan if I didn't need to be in Taiyuan? No. But for a place to stay while needing to be there this fit the bill.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

We stayed in the Grand Metropark Wanshi Hotel for four nights in early May, having been booked there by a Chinese Travel Agent whom we know and trust implicitly.

Taiyuan is the capital of Shanxi province, a part of China known for it limitless quantities of coal and perhaps for the Grand Metropark Wanshi Hotel. It is a new and striking tower, visible from far away and set alongside a squalling main road, noisy with cars and lorries and the universal intolerance of the Chinese driver. It is not, perhaps, the best of first impressions but all that aggression is somehow lost once an army of porters greets you from the cab, gathers up your bags and sweeps you through the revolving doors.

Having arrived at 1.00 in the morning - never travel by Hainan Airlines, it is only next day that you realise the scale of the reception hall, over three floors in height with a king-sized chandelier and a distance to the lifts that makes you regret letting the cab go. The Metropark is a hotel on the largest of large scales with guests to match. Look out for pictures of the Chinese leadership at the Metropark.

The rooms match the hallway in size and quality with large bedrooms and well-appointed bathrooms. The heating works, as does the cooling, the cupbaords are large as is the television, and unobtrusive housestaff keep everything tidy from your day's visit to the local coal mine.

The public areas are equally large although only the main retaurant on the ground floor ever seems to have the minimum number of customers for financial success. The breakfast here is lavish and, as the numbers are not, one wonders what happens to the food remaining. The 'aquarium' theme in the this dining room may not be to my taste but the ceiling is so high that you may never really notice the hanging greenery. Beware of the floor which includes glass panels looking down onto the 'sea' bed. Unfortunately, there is an overwhelming feeling that you are indeed about to step into some pool, a conviction that remained for the several days I was there.

There are other retaurants for lunch and dinner, complete with attentive staff if few customers. Be patient and direct with your English or speak Mandarin as extended English may cause signs of consternation. Staff in the Business Centre are excellent.

This is a great hotel in that it is the biggest thing around; it also tries and usually succeeds, and you can't say much better than that.

  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Metro Park Wanshi Hotel Shanxi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Metro Park Wanshi Hotel Shanxi

Address: No.126 Pingyang Road, Xiaodian District, Taiyuan 030006, China
Location: China > Shanxi > Taiyuan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Taiyuan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Metro Park Wanshi Hotel Shanxi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Metro Park Wanshi Hotel Shanxi Taiyuan, China

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Metro Park Wanshi Hotel Shanxi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.