We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not too bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Queen's Head English Style Pub

The Queen's Head English Style Pub
Jiang Bei Da Dao 22 Hao | Beside 303 Hospital, Nanning Nanning, China
+(86)18577829498
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 568 Restaurants in Nanning
Price range: $3 - $6
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Description: Newly opened English style pub. Over 20 international beers, and more than 100 spirits, wines, cocktails and shooters. Draught Tsingtao and London Pride. Free pool table and live sports events on big screen TV. Indoor (with AC) and outdoor seating by the river. Bi-lingual staff. Mixed clientele of Chinese, expats and tourists. Many themed nights - pool competition, quiz night, salsa night, KTV night, cocktail night. Chinese/ British management. Open Wednesday to Monday 1900 until the last person leaves! Closed Tuesdays. Private parties and early opening available on request subject to availability
Nanning
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“not too bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I'm Shaun, I live in Nanning. I went to this bar in June. It was ok, mostly foreign teachers were the customers, not many Chinese women there. The drinks were overpriced, why Nanning bars charge Western prices for drinks is a mystery to me. It is far from being an international city.

I agree there view is not good there, but it's ok to call in for a beer on the way to somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    1
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“everyday was awesome except TUSDAY because it close!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

i've been there at least three times per week ,i like food in there.people there, and the music there, also you can play pool in there. you can easy to find diffrent subject every day in one week. coketail here is awesome .good place to stay for whole night! jones, chinese friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nanning
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“No”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I went and was faced with two ciber fascinated staff and an empty room. Ten minutes after they threw a menu on my table I had to shout for a drink and ordered the 'home burger' which turned up half an hour later practically inedible.

Avoid.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark K, Owner at The Queen's Head English Style Pub, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
None of the staff or management can recall this event, which is strange as we usually remember all our customers, especially our foreign customers as there are relatively few foreigners in Nanning. If indeed this customer did visit our bar and have this experience that we are very sorry that he did not enjoy his experience. We take all complaints seriously and value all feedback to help us improve our service in the future. We always have a foreign member of management in the bar should any complaints such as this be forthcoming. We cannot recall this event or any complaint made at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanning, China
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“breath of fresh air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

To someone who's been in Nanning a while this place provides a much needed breath of fresh air. Best range of drinks in Nanning: only the good from Asia, beer lao, tsingtao; a healthy selection of European beers (dark and light) and a wide variety of spirits and cockails.
Food is good, staff are friendly and sports are streamed from first row.
There is a pleasing absence of sleazy old western men - who are all to common in the watering holes of this city.
One issue, for me at least, is that this place is quite far out of the way. Nevertheless, the trip is worthwhile.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanning
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“God save the Queen.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Easily the best bar in Nanning!! They have a huge selection of alcohol at a reasonable price and very often great drinks offers. The bar staff are all really friendly, helpful and you'll get a bit of banter with your beer. It's a cool place to just chill out with some friends (or by yourself, there's always someone to talk to) or to drink a lot of jaeger bombs and get carried home. There's plenty of seating inside and outside, it's clean and welcoming and the food is pretty good (again at a decent price). If you're in Nanning,definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Queen's Head English Style Pub also viewed

Nanning, Guangxi Zhuang
 
Nanning, Guangxi Zhuang
Nanning, Guangxi Zhuang
 

Been to The Queen's Head English Style Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Queen's Head English Style Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.