We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the museum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guangxi Museum of Nationalities

Guangxi Museum of Nationalities
Qingxui Mountain, Nanning, China
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 112 things to do in Nanning
Attraction details
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“the museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Fabulous building, and new. It is jst past the Confucian temple , so if you are going past it you might as well hop off the bus.Taxis are abundant. It is free. Guangxi is full of minority nationalities ranging from the 15 million, or so, Zhuang down to the 30000 White trousered Yao. I was there on a holiday, so there were folk music and dancing displays, all in gorgeous national costumes.
The museum is full of fabulous costumes, drums and gongs, masks of the world, and they don't seem too bothered about photographs, Look out for animals made out of corn.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
412 reviews 412 reviews
263 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
249 helpful votes 249 helpful votes
“Fantastic museum a little ways out from the cbd”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The guangxi museum of nationalities is a wonderful place, with exhibits spread out over several levels. The highlights were the reconstructed models of traditional houses as used by the various minority groups.

To make the most of your visit, you should allow for at least 2-3 hours.

The museum is a little ways out from the city centre, so most likely you'll need to take a taxi, but the free entry makes up for it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
61 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Free but out of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I agree with others this museum is well worth a visit. We got a taxi there but he would not wait. Luckily we found out there is a bus that runs till 5.30Then we found out the museum closed at 4.30 so we had to rush round and had no time to see the ethnic houses or huts in the grounds. So get there earlier than later and allow a few hours.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris region
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Well-designed museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This huge, brand new museum presents the many ethnic nationalities living in Guangxi Zhuang Autonomous Region. Modern displays show their arts, crafts, clothing, customs, way of life etc. A special hall is about the bronze drums which are typical of the region. Frequent temporary exhibitions. Many explanations and labels are bilingual (Chinese and English). Good museum shop selling interesting items with a wide range of prices. Well worth a visit although it is rather far from the centre of Nanning.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Guangxi Museum of Nationalities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I visited this magnificent Museum in 2012. Quite stunning in design and exhibition. I would recommend this to any visitor to Nanning. It is not far from beautiful Nanning Bridge.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guangxi Museum of Nationalities also viewed

 
Nanning, Guangxi Zhuang
Nanning, Guangxi Zhuang
 

Been to Guangxi Museum of Nationalities? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guangxi Museum of Nationalities, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.